We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were impressed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beal House Restaurant

Beal House Restaurant
2 W. Main St., Littleton, Littleton, NH 03561-3502
603-444-2661
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 37 Restaurants in Littleton
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
MA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“We were impressed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Happened to come upon this little gem when the BBQ place next door was closed. Excellent service, delicious food, quirky but charming decor. No problems with the temperature or noise inside the restaurant. My husband had the flank steak special and I had chicken piccata - both perfectly prepared. We wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    13
    10
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“lazy chef's lobster - or how to spoil a birthday”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was the worst meal out we've head in 2013, possibly in 2012 also. if it wasn't so laughably funny. Let me explain.

I noted that the menu had "Lazy Man's Lobster", a blast from the past rarely seen on menus. As opposed to the working man's (in-shell) lobster, this traditionally is a lobster whose meat has been picked from the shell and served in a casserole dish, generally in butter. The first warning sign should have been the waitress's initial reaction - "I'm not sure if the chef is doing this this evening," (even though it appeared on the menu). She went back and checked - thumbs up. A second waitress subsequently expressed doubt. Maybe she knew something? Well, the lobster arrives in its shell, with only a few pieces of tail taken out and served separately/. I reminded the waitress of my order. "This is our version," she said. Huh? I sent the entree back to the kitchen for it to be served as represented. Within a minute, it came back; the few pieces of lobster that had been initially removed remained; sans any of the remaining meat. Basically $30 for four forkfuls of lobster. A subsequent request to right this sad ship produced no better result. I complained. I am not sure the owner "got it." He did offer to remove the charge from the bill. Duh. We walked out.

What made matters worse was, well, everything. We had to wait a good hour to get bread and butter. The salad was vintage 99 House or Denny's. The wine, an $8.50 Pinot, was undrinkable. I will say the waitress was pleasant. ..

The ambience is 1950's cheesy ski lodge. It was a hot night - one of those near 100 degree days - the A/C was supposedly on but you never would have known in. Someone walked by a table, and recognized the guests, "Don't I know you from somewhere/" the passerby asked. "Wal-Mart was the response. Probably not the best place to spend my 60th birthday. Caveat emptor.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hardwick, Vermont
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“more than met our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The atmosphere, food, price and service were excellent. I found nothing negative . My wife and I both had the "Beale Deal" where you receive 2 entrees and a bottle of wine for $40 dollars. I recommend the steak tips they are excellent. THE special deal is available daily between 5 and 6 Pm. Parking is free.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Vermont
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Beal House Inn and Restaurant is a great place to go for a special occasion. The atmosphere is relaxing and casual. Our waitress had a great personality and was very helpful and efficient. We really enjoyed the singer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, MA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Called earlier in the week to make a reservation but it wasn't in the book. Was told sometimes he doesn't write it down. Small as this restaurant is there was no problem seating us. The food was ok and the waitress was pleasant, but I can't say I would go out of my way to go back. Bailiwicks a better choice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beal House Restaurant also viewed

Littleton, White Mountains
Littleton, White Mountains
 
Littleton, White Mountains
Littleton, White Mountains
 

Been to Beal House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beal House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.