We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Wedding Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bishop Farm Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lisbon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bishop Farm Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Bishop Farm Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
33 Bishop Cutoff, Lisbon, NH 03585   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Portsmouth, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Wedding Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The Salter ladies, Maggie Heather and Annie, helped us create a once in a lifetime event and memories we will cherish forever. The groom, Peter, and bride, Nicki, found BF in the dead of winter and were immediately able to see that it would be the perfect spot for their destination wedding in July. Family and wedding party took over the inn and cottages starting on Thursday and from the moment we arrived and began setting up, Annie and Heather attended to every detail. Plus they are just fun and interesting people!! And Maggie's breakfasts are the best. We could not have asked for a more accommodating team to work with. The new fire pit area at the back of the property had just been completed and it was a great space to gather post rehearsal dinner and of course after the reception for the making of s'mores.

During the ceremony and reception, everything ran seamlessly. Heather and Annie were present to attend to every detail --- moving flowers from the birch arbor down to the barn, etc. And there couldn't be a better place to present the new Mr. and Mrs. than in that barn doorway with the curtains pulled back. Thank you, thank you. We all want to go back and do it again.

Room Tip: My son and fiance chose Bishop Farm for their wedding venue. Families and wedding party took over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
104
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Our daughter was married at Bishop Farm in May 2014. The Salter Family could not have been more gracious. The entire wedding party stayed on the grounds and any and everything that was needed just magically happened. We plan to have a family reunion there in the next few years. The beds were amazing whether in the house or the cabins. The grounds were gorgeous. The Barn was the making of fantasies. It was the wedding of my daughter's dreams. Our guests are still commenting how pleased they were to have experienced Bishop Farm and the Salter Family- Maggie, Heather and Annie.

Room Tip: Any room in the main house or cabins will be phenomenal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catonsville, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Our wedding weekend at Bishop Farm on the 13th-14th of June was truly outstanding and exceeded all of our expectations. We used the facilities for the entire weekend, with guests on the spacious deck for the welcome dinner and pre-reception cocktail hour, in front of the milk barn for the ceremony, and in the spectacular barn for the wedding reception. We also filled all the cabins and rooms at the inn with out-of-town guests and family. The accommodations were so comfortable (everyone raved about the beds) and well-appointed - each room/cabin had a unique feel or feature.
From the initial point of contact through the end of the actual wedding weekend, the Salter ladies made us feel like part of the family. Heather, Annie and Maggie were personable, professional, receptive, flexible and incredibly hard-working. They offered a list of vendors in the area, scheduled periodic check-ins to ensure that our planning was on track, and answered one question after another with a receptive and friendly spirit. We arrived ahead of the weekend to begin decorating the barn and grounds, and the Salter ladies were right there with us, pitching in, making suggestions, finding unique and useful items for us to use from the lending closet, and making us laugh! They climbed ladders, hung lights, hauled furniture, and responded immediately to even the slightest suggestion from us. A simple “could we? or I wonder if…” would prompt a full scale effort to make each thought into reality with remarkable results, time after time.
Heather’s instincts for staging and her eye for decorating, Annie’s tireless efforts to groom each setting to perfection, and Maggie’s well-timed help and smiling support (not to mention, delicious food) eliminated stress and made us feel that we were in very capable hands.
Our guests had a wonderful time, and so did we. Many of our friends and family called it “the best wedding ever”, “the happiest of times”, and simply “awesome”.
As in many of life’s big events, the “devil is in the details” – luckily for us, the Salter angels were there to handle the details for us… Thank you Heather, Annie and Maggie from the bottom of our hearts.

Room Tip: Each room/cabin is unique. If you require a bigger bathroom or tub, choose a room in the inn. If a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Possibly the friendliest, most welcoming, most comfortable place we stayed at during a two-week New England trip. Situated halfway between Littleton/NH and a village called Lisbon, Bishop Farm is a historical farm converted to a beautiful B&B by the lovely Salter family. Rooms are large, airy and full of antique furniture, the sitting room with fireplace is as cozy as it gets, and the breakfast Mrs Salter serves is absolutely delicious. Add to this the beautiful surroundings (a few relaxing footpaths are signposted behind the farm), and there's almost no wish left unfulfilled. Bishop Farm seems to be very popular for weddings, but during the week, let that be no reason to deter you. Most definitely recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The Salters do rock, as stated in the review below. My wife and I stayed at Bishop Farm B and B last week. 2 night stay. It was absolutely amazing. Hospitality was great, the grounds of the property beautiful. Everything we asked for was provided.

Being in the hospitality business you tend to appreciate when other owners/operators take great care and pride in the guest stay. We will be back!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My family and I were on a recent road trip through New England with our 2 1/2 month old and located Bishop Farm Bed & Breakfast through TripAdvisor. The B&B was even greater than we could have imagined. The Salter women rock. They made us feel extremely welcome and were extremely accommodating (did I already mention we were traveling with a little one:)) The rooms are quaint and the beds are heavenly. If I have my way we will be back annually.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My daughter and now son-n-law wanted a destination wedding amongst nature and the beautiful Fall Foliage. Additionally they wanted to have the wedding party and immediate family all together which Bishop Farm was able to accommodate with their 7 bedroom Farmhouse and 6 individual cottages onsite. They found it at Bishop Farm in the White Mountains of New Hampshire.
We arrived on the Farm 5 days before the wedding to start decorating the newly renovated Barn for the reception. What was so wonderful was the Salter Family & Casey (the wedding coordinator) made us feel at home and we felt they were a part of our family & the wedding event. Annie, Heather, Danny, Maggie & Casey worked so hard and were always a step ahead of what we needed done. They were always waiting in the wings to make sure everything went off as planned.
We had fun planning meetings and R&D sessions with them to ensure the Bride & Groom's vision was what they wanted and even more.
You felt like you traveled back in time to your Grandmother's home with all the fond memories, furnishings and Oh MY those wonderful home-cooked breakfast's that you cannot buy anywhere. They were truly made with love. (Thank you Maggie)
I am sure no matter what season you visit Bishop Farm it is lovely but the turning of the leaves and all the flowers were magnificent. My grandson's were there and thoroughly enjoyed the country life by feeding the chickens/rooster, playing with the dogs, sledding down the hill filled with leaves, and playing many lawn games provided by the Farm.
Reflecting back on the week and all the questions I asked of them being the Mother of the Bride, I cannot remember anything they were not able to answer or accommodate for us.
I could go on but what made this such a memorable experience was the sincere love Annie, Heather, Danny, Maggie and Casey showed to us and all our guests. They are such gracious hosts; you never got the feeling that they were just running a business but they loved what they were doing and wanted everyone to have a wonderful time. They made this wedding weekend so special to our families and to start the newlyweds off on the right foot with memories they will cherish for a lifetime.
Just to share when I got back home to California the next morning I called the Salter's to tell them I was having separation anxiety because it was so wonderful to wake up in the morning smelling Maggie's breakfast cooking and to walk downstairs to the butcher block large kitchen counter and sit down with a cup of hot tea and to talk with them as if they had been your longtime friends.
Heather, Annie, Danny, Maggie and Casey- Thank you from the bottom of my heart for everything you did for us and a wonderful experience and friendship.
For you reading this, check out Bishop Farm in Lisbon, NH and make reservations for an experience of a lifetime.

Room Tip: Select the Farmhouse for the ambiance; Select a cottage if you want stand alone accommodations. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bishop Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: 33 Bishop Cutoff, Lisbon, NH 03585
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "Best of Service in New England" by Boston Magazine!! Bishop Farm Bed & Breakfast Inn and Cottages is located between Littleton, Franconia & Lisbon near the spectacular White Mountains of New Hampshire. Adventure travelers come here to hike, bike, ski, and relax. Family-owned and operated, Bishop Farm is situated on 200 acres with seven guest rooms in the main farmhouse and six newly renovated cottages. This restored 1800's New England farmhouse blends the charm and tradition of yesterday with modern lodging conveniences of today. Bishop Farm, your New England home away from home.Farmhouse and cottage amenities include, FREE wireless internet access, private baths, TV/cable, home cooked breakfast for farmhouse guests and kitchenettes in the cottages. We also have walking trails, indoor and outdoor meeting areas and plenty of parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bishop Farm Hotel Lisbon
Bishop Farm b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bishop Farm Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.