We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive, close to skiing. Old rooms, thin walls, dirty bathrooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Woodward's Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Woodward's Resort to your Saves list
Woodward's Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   527 US Route 3, Box 107, Lincoln, NH 03251   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Lincoln
Newton, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Inexpensive, close to skiing. Old rooms, thin walls, dirty bathrooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is merely a case of you get what you pay for. It was a last minute decision for us to spend a night so that we could go skiing at Loon Mountain during school vacation week. This was available on short notice, and we had a friend staying, plus the $89 for the night fee was nice.

Located a short drive one exit up from Loon Mountain, the resort is right off a fairly main road. You drive right to the room and basically park just outside of it.

Inside the hallway, you walk to your room. The hallway was barely heated (in the middle of February), and the carpeting was old and smelled of mildew. The room was fairly spacious, but had a window that looked right into the hallway. With curtains on a broken rod, we had to hack a solution together to keep the curtains completely shut otherwise it would have been a free show for all.

Don't peek behind the bed or mattress because it's all dust and cobwebs. Walls were super thin as we could hear people upstairs from us most of the night. The bathroom was small and very old in severe need of updating to get it at least into the 90s in terms of fixtures and cleanliness.

Another attraction to the hotel was the indoor pool. While you didn't have to walk outside, the underground, unheated tunnel pretty felt like you were outside, which didn't help on the way back from the pool dripping wet.

The pool was pretty big and hot a decent hot tub. However, whoever thought it was a good idea to go wall-to-wall carpeting in an indoor pool area, was, well, wrong.

The people at the front desk were very nice and friendly. We had a maintenance man come to the room as the hair dryer was totally broken and he gave us a new one. Nice guy too.

Would I stay here again? Definitely not. Would I recommend it if someone were looking for a budget-friendly place close to Loon Mountain ski area? Perhaps, but I would arm them with the information above and let them make their own decision.

Room Tip: Get one on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    103
    48
    37
    23
See reviews for
161
77
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Normally I Love Woodward's but the last two times we've stayed it wasn't upto par! I always request room 78 because it's handicap accessable for my mom. When we arrived they told us we couldn't have that room because they didn't turn the heat on. They put us in another room, but had we been told before hand I would have brought the things my mom would need. This isn't the first time this has happened to us either. It was to say the least very difficult for my mom. I don't like the suites up the street either. They're dirty and need alot of updating. I would also like to say that when Woodwards was owned totally by Jeff Woodward we never had a problem that wasn't taken care of! The 90% owners seem not to care. I don't think we'll be going back again which is very sad because it always was our favorite getaway. We will now find a new getaway, but I don't think it will be in Lincoln. I wish Jeff and his wonderful wife owned it completely. They are wonderful people!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodwards_Manager, General Manager at Woodward's Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for allowing us to speak with you via phone regarding your challenges with your recent stay. In the off-season, we do close off some building in order to do some replairs and mainentance as well as to keep down heating cost during low business volume times. As we have committed to you, in the future, we will be happy to accommodate your specific room request need as we know this is very important to you and your mother because it is a hanicap accessible room. We are also thankful you have decided to come back again in the future. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We tripped across this place over 8 years ago, what a blessing for sure, the staff, and management have treated us like family, very spacious rooms and most important clean, and what a great restaurant they have also. Our dream vacation is defiantly this place, all will enjoy. For sure, Allen and Patsy Stathas. Of Tampa Florida. Please check out this place,

Room Tip: great pool access from all rooms, even double rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Room was a deluxe. Was ok but seemed to be somewhat dated. Very dark with knotty pine. Linens could use an update also. Jacuzzi was fun to have. Overall was ok for the price. The suites were up the road which was inconvenient if you needed something. To use the pool you had to go down to the main buildings by car so we never used it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Two weeks skiing at Cannon and Loon were enhanced by the great experience I had at Woodwards. A really comfortable room to stay in and excellent food but my time was enhanced by the staff, who were on a level different to anything I have previously experienced. Friendly, polite and helpful, you just couldn't ask for more. There was plenty of food and it could all be wahed down by a drink in the bar, which had a great log fire to keep you warm. What a great time I had!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I brought a group of 35 secondary school students to Woodward's along with six other teachers and we had a fantastic experience. The staff were very friendly and accomodating, the facilities were perfect for the group, and the meals were excellent. The location was ideal for our skiing and other activities, the rooms were very clean and comfortable and we experienced real friendliness and warmth from all the staff which made our trip thoroughly enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York Harbor, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We really liked the aesthetics of the resort and the rustic feel. The room was clean and everything worked. The outdoor activities in the area were the highlight of the trip. Would recommend this resort

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodward's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodward's Resort

Address: 527 US Route 3, Box 107, Lincoln, NH 03251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodward's Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodward's is a full facility AAA resort with 85 well-appointed rooms, nestled in the heart of the White Mountains. Centrally located near all attractions. Our resort is known for spacious landscaped grounds, customer service, superb facilities and great food. Our property offers an indoor & outdoor pool, sauna, jacuzzi, game room and restaurant with a deck overlooking the duck & trout pond. Come see why guests have been visiting us for over 50 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Woodward's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodward`s Hotel Lincoln
Woodwards Hotel Lincoln
Woodwards Resort
Woodward's Resort Lincoln, NH - White Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodward's Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.