We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The basics only...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rivergreen Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rivergreen Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Rivergreen Resort Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Cooper Memorial Drive, Kancamagus Scenic Byway/ Route 112, Lincoln, NH 03251   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Lincoln
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The basics only...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I would rate this place as "ok". I did not have any major complaints, but was not that impressed. We stayed in two adjoining rooms, one with two double beds, and the other with a king sized bed in a separate bedroom, and a living room with Murphy bed. It was big enough to accommodate all. However... if you just rented out a single room with two double beds, be prepared for a "closet like" experience. The carpet was very tired (kept the shoes on all the time). The bathroom was clean but outdated and needed a few repairs, but it was functional. Nice kitchen with all of the pots, pans and utensils you would need. Bottom line.... nice enough to use as a parking spot for the night, but would not want to spend a lot of time at the "resort". Oh, and by the way.... NO room service during your stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgreen16, Front Office Manager at Rivergreen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We appreciate your candor. You have given an honest assessment of your stay based on what we have to offer and travelers' expectations. We try to be honest about what we are and recently added room size information to our website so that guests may make informed decisions about the unit type that is right for them. Regarding any unsatisfactory conditions in the room, we request that you would email us directly with the unit number that you stayed in so that we may address corrections with the owner. Again, we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    28
    15
    18
    8
See reviews for
69
26
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The room is nothing but two hard beds, one chair and a dresser. The pool (when it was actually open) was small. We were not expecting the absence of housekeeping, which was especially surprising considering the high price. Day staff was nice, night staff was mixed (no apology for the pool and jacuzzi being closed and acted like I had no business asking). Would never return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgreen16, Front Office Manager at Rivergreen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We are sorry that an incident occurred during your stay which required that the pool area be closed. Suffice it to say that it was beyond our control and mandated by state codes. It simply happened at a very inconvenient time for all concerned. Our staff certainly should have been apologetic to any guest with concerns about this issue. Please accept our belated apologies now.
Regarding our rates, we are competitive with (if not lower than) similar resorts in our area. Again, we urge anyone booking with us to visit our website and comparison shop before making any reservation decision. We simply ask that you base any expectations of our resort on what is available in this area. We may not be for everyone, but we are clean, comfortable, and quiet. We hope that you will reconsider and visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

So, the basic room with two double beds looked decently sized on their website. Once we walked in, we realized it had to be a converted closet, Way too small for 3 people. So we were shown a Condo with a separate master bed room, and livingroom/murphy bed. The help cleaning the room Had no shoes on! This property is from bizzarro world, where each room is owned by a different owner and You are forced to sleep beneath a Tom Brady poster. I only wish i had squamae to protect my feet from the probable athlete's foot infection Id receive if I didn't wear shoes around the room. There are no amenities included in your rate, but you can enjoy the hokey, outdated moose nicknacks and the monopoly board.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgreen16, Front Office Manager at Rivergreen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We apologize that you were not satisfied with your recent stay. Our hotel rooms are not large. They primarily function as the bedrooms to the connecting suites. Every unit here is a “lock-off” or two connecting rooms that rent together or separately, but were designed as a 2-room suite. We are looking into ways to better describe them online – thumbnail photos are difficult to judge any room by, we realize, and recently updated our slideshow to better portray the resort.

As we are a privately-owned condominium property, the units are decorated to owner tastes. These are personal vacation homes, not standardized chain resort units and décor varies. The unit you stayed in is, ironically, one of our most-requested rooms.

We apologize for the issue with the barefoot cleaners. We have outside cleaning services that do private cleaning for some units. It was a situation specific to the people that were working that day and the issue has been addressed with the cleaning company to conform to our standards. We’re sorry it made you uncomfortable.

Again, we do hope that you will return to have a better experience in the future. We give careful consideration to all commentary we receive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, New Hampshire, USA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We reserved a 2 bedroom suite from the Rivergreen website a month before our trip. We arrived around 4:00 and were given a room which we were very disappointed with. When we walked in, the bed was unmade like someone had slept in it and it wasn't cleaned. We were on the bottom floor at the furthest away from the wifi service so we had NO wifi in our rooms (with 3 children, this didn't go over well). We asked to be moved to a room that had been cleaned but were told they were sold out on 2 bedrooms. We then found out that the hotel charges a "resort fee" which is for cleaning and what not but they DO NOT Clean your room your entire stay. You must take out your own trash and if you need towels/soap/toilet paper, you have to truck it to the front desk and get it yourself. What's the purpose of a "cleaning fee" if you aren't going to offer daily cleaning services. The rooms were very old and in need of some new items and paint. The beds were not very comfortable and there was no A/C in the bedrooms, only in the main living room. All and all, it was an awful stay. No wifi, no clean rooms, beds unmade when you arrive, no daily housekeeping, no a/c in bedrooms, I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone EVER! There are so many other places to stay, dont settle for this hotel. We actually tried to stay elsewhere after our arrival and finding this hotel to be in such poor condition, we called around to other resorts but due to the Lincoln craft fair, everyone was booked. We feel that $745 for 3 nights at a hotel of this level, definitely not worth the price!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgreen16, Front Office Manager at Rivergreen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We are sorry you were not satisfied with your recent stay. Yes, it was an extremely busy weekend and we did not have alternate availability or we would have been happy to move you to another location. However, the 2Bedroom units are only located at each end of the hallways. WiFi is available in all public areas and is installed throughout the building, but due to our construction we do have some locations with signal weaknesses. Whether or not this varies with the type of device being used, we are not sure as a successive guest in that same unit had connection - ??? We are looking into this for future correction.

Regarding the un-made bed, this is a quandary as the room was inspected the day prior (personally) and was fine. The most likely reason is that someone was allowed to view the room unescorted, which is not our typical practice, and we neglected to re-inspect. That was indeed our fault. For that we did and do apologize; the situation was corrected and compensated.
Until recently, daily housekeeping service was not an issue for us and we are addressing this for the future. Resort fee is not for housekeeping, so we apologize if that is what you were told. Staff members have been advised of its correct purpose to avoid misinformation.

We hope that you will return again for a more favorable experience. We do try our best to meet our guests expectations and would like you to give us another chance to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I feel like I got what I wanted but others might not be satisfied. The room was spacious for the money. The beds were plentiful and the full kitchen was great. Also I had two full baths and a jacuzzi. The hotel has all the other bases covered but here are the only flaws you will find. There is no free maid service.
Another exceptional thing I noticed is that the furniture and appliances were of high quality.

Room Tip: Book the one bedroom with a full kitchen and two double beds. It even includes a pullout couch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgreen16, Front Office Manager at Rivergreen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for your review; we appreciate your candor and your constructive commentary. Until recently housekeeping service has not been a negative issue for most of our guests. We are considering ways to address this in the future. We hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed in the Studio room on the backside of the hotel. On the outside it looked great and the location was ideal for biking around safely. When we reserved our room a week prior the lady was super nice so we expected the employees to be as nice as this lady was. When we checked in the lady was rude and uptight and didn't offer a smile. I didn't take it personally until everyday we saw her she had the same attitude. We went to our room and it was ideal for a lot of people to occupy it, meaning it was big. However, we did not expect the room to be ugly. The wallpaper in the bathroom was coming off the wall, and the walls were white with a ugly stained carpet. We were told each of the rooms were privately owned by people. I will not stay again in a privately owned place because of this.

The bed which was a murffy bed (coming out from wall) was so uncomfortable we had such horrible neck pain every morning we woke up. There is no warning sign for the garbage disposal which freaked me out every time I accidentally hit the wrong switch. Beside that I was upset to find a crappy shower and no bathtub.

I think the main issue here is that we never received fresh towels, supplies, or fresh Linens during our stay!!! They say in the booklet is to keep costs down if you need extra towels so ask at front desk. The pool and hot tub were great. The great room was cute and very nice but it was located at the very end of the other side of the hotel. The exercise room was ridiculous -- there was NO ventilation in the room and it was the size of a closet beside the pool. The only air came from an old metal stand up fan. We had to take out our own trash and the entire hotel had no air condition other than the rooms. There is no air condition throughout the hotel but the rooms.

MY ISSUE with our room was the air condition. Apparently the old television is positioned on a shelf under the air condition which is located on the top of the wall. When it gets hot and you turn it on its inevitable that it will leak due to the hot climate. After the first night we realized the a/c had been leaking on the TV. When we got back to the room to turn the TV on it wasn't working. Apparently the water fried the television. We called the front desk and they sent a guy to our room who told us to not use the a/c for a while. He quickly replaced our TV with another old tv but had to take one of the lamp tables to set it on and then placed a towel over the top of the tv so the water wouldn't damage it. The last night we were there we had the a/c on again only in the middle of the night it made a loud noise and poured water out and the side I was sleeping on the bed started to get wet so we had to shut it off.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Each room is apparently different because of the privately owned owners. My guest had the chance to quickly get a tour of the other rooms. Each one is indeed a little different. Ours had creepy winter stuffed animals and snowmen and odd random decor that was literally placed on the wall for the hell of it.

A little over $110 a night we should of got a lot more for our money. We could of got a cheaper place with more for us like fresh linens than this place including a breakfast. We told the front desk before we left about our stay and all she could say was things happen. I read reviews on this site before we booked this hotel I try not to listen to them but I probably should of for this hotel.

Room Tip: Each room is different, due to the privately owned rooms for this hotel. So good luck with finding t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgreen16, Front Office Manager at Rivergreen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. We do hope that you will decide to return again in the future and have a more favorable experience. If you wish to rebook in the future, please call us and we will do our best to accommodate you to your satisfaction. We do take all feedback into consideration and will try to correct some of the issues you address, such as labeling the disposal switches or providing better ventilation for the exercise room – the location of the building itself, however, is not changeable.

The customer service issue has been addressed and we apologize for this. That is something that is certainly within our ability to provide to all of our guests.

The air conditioning problem was, unfortunately, a result of an extended period of unusually hot, humid weather. When run too long at low temperatures, they may leak. Without knowing the specific room you were in, we will have to assess how rooms are set up in relation to the air conditioning units and make recommendations to the unit owners regarding re-arrangement. All of our rooms are inspected regularly and reports given to owners regarding condition and suggestions for improvement. We are not a standardized chain resort and units are decorated to owner tastes. That is something that is subjective and variable.

Finally, housekeeping service has (until recently) not been a negative issue for us with most people amenable to the system in place. The subject is open for re-consideration.

Again, we apologize that you were not satisfied. We do take all feedback seriously and will work toward future improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This was a very nice place to stay, however do not book on Expedia because when expedia sends you the email confirmation email the total is way different than what the hotel charges. You will be charged the hotel Expedia amount which is collected in full and then you will be charged at the hotel a 10 cleaning fee per night and another 10 resort fee per night and don't forget taxes are charged on that extra fee. CRAZY!

This is an average hotel, certainly not worth a resort fee, cleaning fee. If you try and dispute anything the hotel will make every excuse but will not resolve the issue. was not worth the money paid with no cleaning daily and even though they make you sign a smoking statement there was burn marks on the rugs from smoking...

To me it would have made more sense to wave the extra fees rather than argue with me about it because in this case the customer is always wrong, and I will not stay there again and will tell other people not to stay there as well, stupid business practices.

Room Tip: There was no service, no cleaning service available only when you leave and you pay the fee for it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgreen16, Front Office Manager at Rivergreen Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We apologize for the issue regarding the Expedia charges. We do take all feedback, both positive and negative, into consideration and are reviewing how we can resolve this to everyone’s satisfaction. In this age of technology, we must have a presence in the online marketplace, and while it is a convenience for our guests, it requires comparison shopping.
When a guest books directly with our resort, all fees are factored into the total cost of the stay. With online booking sites, only room and tax charges are collected by the agent and reimbursed to us at wholesale rates. This reduced rate is then again divided between the unit owner and the rental management company, so in order to cover our costs, the additional fees are collected. We aren’t charging Expedia guests more, only the same as our direct reservations. No fees are taxable. We have made every effort to have the appropriate disclaimers online; in fact, fees far higher than what we do charge are currently listed and we are working to get this corrected.
Regarding the smoking issues, we do apologize. We are a non-smoking resort, although some units converted more recently than others. We will try to determine what unit has this deficiency and resolve it with the owner.
We do hope that you will return again to stay with us. Please contact us directly and we will make every effort to accommodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rivergreen Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivergreen Resort Hotel

Address: 48 Cooper Memorial Drive, Kancamagus Scenic Byway/ Route 112, Lincoln, NH 03251
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Lincoln
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Rivergreen Resort Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rivergreen Resort is a great place to stay and has something for everyone! The accommodations range from a deluxe hotel room to a 2-level 2-bedroom condo, and everything in between. We are close to many of the White Mountains Attractions and 2 great ski areas. There is always something to do in the White Mountains and the Rivergreen is a great place to stay any time of year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Rivergreen Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivergreen Hotel Lincoln
Rivergreen Resort Hotel Lincoln, NH - White Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rivergreen Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.