We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views and area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Head Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Indian Head Resort to your Saves list
Indian Head Resort
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   664 US Rt 3, Lincoln, NH 03251   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Lincoln
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

First off, let's start off with some of the positives of IHR. If you are looking for very scenic views and some quiet away from everything, this is your place. Several hiking trails and state parks are nearby and many restaurants are just a few miles down US 3.
I came here for my friends' wedding, so I was able to see several different room styles. The room styles vary greatly, along with the quality and cleanliness, although many had a bit of a old smell to them. Billboards on the road boast of their 'new 50-inch plasma tvs in every room', but there was very few and limited HD choices- most are SD channels which leads to some bluriness.
I had a room on the second floor of the hotel and I started to get a negative feel noting that there are several LARGE cracks on the retaining wall near my room (part of the crack was covered with clear packing tape). My room had a musty smell to it, but I resolved that by myself by opening the windows. Other rooms I also noted that smell too, In addition, some rooms had very dirty carpets (one room has burnt on iron marks in multiple locations, others had mystery stains. Air conditioner was iffy, blew some cold air but usually not for long.
Even though it is in this quiet New Hampshire town, I still feel that I want a room with some security. Be sure to triple check your doors are fully closed since the outside door handles get stuck. I told management of that issue and they told me that they will oil it. Still had that issue, told the housekeeper and she told me how to fix it (reinsert key and turn handle).
If you do have sensitive skin, consider bringing your own towels since the towels in the room and especially their pool towels are rough on the skin.
The stairs down to the second floor are falling apart in certain parts (steps sag) and all the railings are questionable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    117
    65
    44
    41
See reviews for
217
95
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lowell, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I just got back from a great weekend at Indian Head Resort. My friend's and I attend every year. The entire staff was great great food. At night we enjoyed the band. All employee's went above and beyond to make our stay great.Thank You all

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Have been going every year since 1994 with the Stargazers. Always a great time and the staff is always accommodating. Enjoy the entertainment in the lounge also. Food has always been good but this year it wasn't to my liking. But would have no problem spending another weekend there and eating there. I would definitely suggest this place to anyone looking for a place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I have been going to the Indian Head Resort since I was a young girl. Over the years they have taken great care to update the resort to keep it modern but cozy. Their dinner menu is second to none. The staff, from the front desk, to the chamber maids, restaurant managers and the wait staff all aim to please and always seem to hit the mark! They always have good, live entertainment in the lounge. Heated outdoor and indoor pool.....Outdoor hot tub....Game rooms.......Entertainment for the kids......Beautiful views and recently renovated rooms! Not sure how anyone could ask for more? Had a great experience, as usual !!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Massachusetts
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My husband and I just went to our 4th psychic weekend at Indian Head with Stargazers group. Excellent food, accommodations and amenities. Outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi are the best with the beautiful mountain view. Lounge always has very good entertainment. Entire staff is so accommodating to ensure you enjoy your stay. My husband and I love it there and always look forward to going back. You cannot beat the price!

Room Tip: We like staying across the street from main building. It is quieter and the rooms are a little bigg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I have been going to Indian Head Resort twice a year for 10 years. This is one of the friendliest places My husband and I have gone to. The Staff is very friendly and help full. The Manager of the dining room Bobby came to every table to introduce himself. the facility is very clean, lots to do for the whole family. indoor swimming pool and a heated outdoor pool and hot tub. They also have live Entertainment on Friday and Saturday Nights in the lounge for the adults and a very nice game room for both kids and adults. In the summer they have paddle boats and fishing. Where the kids can fish and have the chef cook what they catch. I highly recommend Indian Head Resort for a great time. They seasonal events year round. We just came back from Psychic weekend had a great time. Very accessible to other attractions.
Nancy M.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

For a reasonably-priced family vacation, you can't go wrong with this place if you want to explore New Hampshire. The kids love the indoor and outdoor pool (open year round) and the game room and events. The staff are friendly, local folks who really seem to want to help. They have kid's events like ice cream socials and karaoke, clowns and bingo. Kids never get bored here, even if the weather is lousy. On the minus side, our room was never cleaned (beds not made or picked up) but someone did replace our dirty towels with clean ones. Do not go here looking for a cozy couple's place. If you know what it is (a family-focused, old style resort) you'll have a lot of fun. Also, try Gypsy Cafe in Lincoln for dinner and Flapjacks for breakfast.

Room Tip: We stayed across the street which meant we had to cross a busy street to get to the main resort, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Indian Head Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Head Resort

Address: 664 US Rt 3, Lincoln, NH 03251
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Indian Head Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New Hampshire's White Mountains at the entrance to Franconia Notch State Park and Scenic Byway. 100 Open Year Round Resort Units and 50 Seasonal Cottages. Profile Dining room voted "Best Restaurant" in 2010 & 2011 Best of Chefs competition. All lodging features scenic views and 50" HDTV with over 60 HD channels. Heated Outdoor Pool and Hot Spa open all winter. Paddle boating and Stocked Trout Fishing in our private Shadow Lake. One of the area's largest Gift Shops features Old Man of the Mountain items, NH souvenirs, Native American craft work, toys, jewelry and more. Close to area attractions, tax free outlet shopping and thousands of miles of outdoor adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Indian Head Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Head Hotel Lincoln
Indian Head Motel
Indian Head Resort Lincoln, NH - White Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Head Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.