We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly great meal in Lincoln, NH” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gypsy Cafe

Gypsy Cafe
117 Main St, PO Box 998, Lincoln, NH 03251
603-745-4395
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 42 Restaurants in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Mexican, American, African, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Food from around the world with a New England touch.
Central Vermont
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly great meal in Lincoln, NH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Our innkeeper said this was his strongest recommendation for dinner & we made reservations right away. Fantastic creative and varied food, great service. We tried multiple appetizers, entrees and drinks. Happy with everything. Super, super busy on a Friday night in ski season (early Feb). Completely full and very noisy. Awkward standing around waiting for our table to become available. The place could be nearly twice the size physically to accommodate everyone who wanted to be there. I would definitely go back, hopefully on a weeknight.

On another website someone rated it a "1" bec they were turned away without reservations. Totally unfair; they don't need people like that given their huge popularity. But do make a reservation if you're sure you want to have dinner there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    107
    32
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Definitely a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This restaurant is wonderful! The food was amazing. We got appetizers and main dishes and all of them were incredible. If we were in Lincoln another night I would have gone back a second time. It's got a great feel, very eclectic and the hostess was really friendly and welcoming. Also had great service. Overall, a MUST visit!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good eclectic lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch and did not disappoint. Eclectic decor and interesting lunch menu with salad wraps and many middle eastern dishes as well. Good food and pleasant service at reasonable price stopped here on our drive from upper Vermont back south through the state

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“eclectic & tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Fun varied menu. Delightful decor. My beef was overcooked, which is always difficult, because if one sends it back, then one's partner is left eating while you watch. Luckily it still tasted good. Nice service. An enjoyable evening. reservations recommended

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Vermont
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“creative world cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

what a fun meal - great wait staff, friendly bartender and creative takes on international dishes from Ethiopia to Mexico. We were boring and had fajitas (very good), and also noodle cakes and the soup special (mushroom and bree - yum!) - too full for dessert. I wish we were hungrier as I would have tried more food. All in all a fun place to eat in Lincoln, nice atmosphere, good service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gypsy Cafe also viewed

Lincoln, White Mountains
Lincoln, White Mountains
 
Lincoln, White Mountains
 

Been to Gypsy Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gypsy Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.