We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet Friendly, Breakfast OK...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   381 US Route 3, Lincoln, NH 03251 (Formerly Drummer Boy Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Lincoln
Pickering, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pet Friendly, Breakfast OK...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

The staff was friendly. Beds and sheets were okay (compared to the same class). The room was scented with a thick layer of classic dingy hotel smell. This may be caused by the hot temperature, the moist and most importantly lack of proper ventilation. I will not go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    31
    28
    14
    29
See reviews for
51
35
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

Upon arrival, staff was friendly and helpful. Room was very clean, with added attraction of double in-room jacuzzi besides the usual freatures of microwave, small refrigerator, T.V. Furnishings were comfortable, including king-size bed that provided a great night's sleep. Continental breakfast from the office was delicious and offered a wide assortment of breakfast items.
The Inn was located near the Kangamagus Highway, many specialty shops, and wonderful restaurants. The location gave us access to a wide range of outdoor activities within a 10 mile radius.
We subsequently found out that the Inn was under new management and the General Manager and Office Manager (Megan and Justin) were anxious to build a clientele that would return again and again. We were so impressed, we plan to return very soon and make the Inn a destination for regular get-aways.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

We switched to stay here last minute, as our prior motel had gotten bad reviews since the weather turned colder. I never thought to check reviews for a chain hotel first. Room opened to the parking lot, so no view, but that was okay. Overall clean - dust and a couple spiders in the corners. Odd smell in the hallway, but not in the room. Continental breakfast seriouslly lacking - nothing healthy - no fruit or yogurt, and peanut butter was not allowed due to allergies. Didn't use hotel amenities. Bathroom door had some damage to it, and plugs kept falling out of outlets (odd). Water pressure and heat in the shower was unbelievably good. TV channel guide in book was wrong, so we had to figure out where the weather station and pertinent stations were.
Quiet, rainy bleak weekend, so it was not busy at all. Our goal was a place to crash, with no smells, clean, and comfortable. This met, but didn't exceed our goals. Fridge and micro in the room - but no coffee maker or mugs for coffee. That was, however, available all the time in the lobby's adjacent breakfast room.
Dinner at the muddy moose in conway was a bonus!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardner, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

If ever there is a time to listen to a review,this is it. My huband and I decided on a last minute trip with the kids. I found this hotel online. I must say a little nervous after some of the reveiws but, was willing to give them a chance since some of the reveiws were a couple years old. We stayed in room 124. The STRONG oder of must and moldiness was unbelievable. Gagging. After a wahile in the room we started coming down with headaches. I went out and purchased air fresheners just to get through the night. It was a sold out weekend in Lincoln. Floiage. So we had no choice. After contacting the econo lodge phone number to complain when we got back I was told I would hear from the manager within 72 hours. That never happened. The general manager megan was not accomodating at all. Acyually a bit sarcastic.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestofnh2010, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 23, 2010
First, my apologies on not receiving a response within 72 hours. Our responses are documented and tracked via the franchise company, which would have been the company you contacted. I can assure you that you were indeed mailed a written response, and that I did indeed look into the matter upon your departure. I sincerely wish your family would have brought the matter to our attention prior to checkout as we would have been more than happy to change your room, and be able to address your concerns immediately. We strive for the BEST satisfaction from our guests, and as a actively involved manager, it is disappointing to learn of a dissatisfied stay from a previous guest. Unfortunately, it was not brought to our attention until check out, which did not present us the opportunity to address your concerns, and allow us to make your stay more enjoyable and comfortable. Furthermore, the concerns that you contacted us about were most definitely addressed with all departments, and the appropriate measures were taken to rectify to them. In addition, some of the issues that were brought to our attention were inspected thoroughly, and by three different managers, but were unable to be discovered. If you have any questions at all, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the property.

Kindest Regards,

Megan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

We booked this hotel while travelling in the New Hampshire area. Went to Concord NH and booked through AAA (CAA), as we're from Canada. When they gave us the rate of $99.00/night, we thought it was a steal! Well, when we got there, I realized that $99.00/night was a steal alright - by the HOTEL! It was just grosse! I'm not one who is super fussy about hotels, but this one was the worst I had ever seen. We've travelled quite a bit over the past couple of years, and never experienced this. It had an awful smell, had to wash all my clothes when I got home. I will never again book through AAA, where this is concerned, if I knew it was a 2-star hotel. The pool(s) were terrible, thank God there was Whales Tale Waterpark close by, so we could enjoy some clean water for swimming. This hotel has to be renovated somehow. And the gym area, was the worst! one treadmille I think and one stationary bicycle... never EVER again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WESTERN MASS.
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

Just got home, August 16-17, 2010 visit.
Room 116, Clean and comfortable.
Nice location, sliding door to parking lot, pool, fitness center, sauna.
Emily was a delight at check in.
Beds were comfy.
Close to all attractions.
Pool area (indoor one) had a funky smell (chemicals I believe).
Breakfast was a wide variety, and well stocked.
Megan was the manager, and assured my concerns that I'd feared from tripadvisor were unwarranted, and we got a room where pets weren't allowed.
Least expensive place in the area, a real deal.
$5 Lobster with $19.99 Prime Rib up the street at Dads' Restaurant.
Cannon Mountain Tram, The Flume, and Hobo Hills Mini Golf kept us busy.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Check in was fine- but when we opened the door to our room, we found it to be so dark and stinky- it was as if we were walking into and old musty abandoned camp in the 1970's or some strange time warp. The walls were bright yellow, almost lime green and very scuffed and beat up everywhere. The carpet felt grimy and was dusty in corners and behind things.The windows and door were filthy and full of cobwebs and bugs. The bathroom was very dirty, with dust and dirt on an ancient, wooden- full height, vanity which sets around the toilet. Dirt, dust and rust covered the floor heater next to the toilet and there was black mold covering the wall and ceiling above the shower stall. A cloth had not seen this area in quite some time. There were two love seats in the living area, which felt dirty and had chips and food in the seams and under the cushions.
Tried out the outdoor pool, which at first seemed nice- yet pretty cloudy. When we made our way to the deep end, we noticed there were suds forming in the corner- and they were brownish in color! Began to notice a lot of hair and dirt as well before we got out. Very gross.
We would have asked for another room or found another place, but they were fully booked, as was the entire area. Luckily it was for one night- so we just stopped looking around the room too much and hoped there were no creepy crawlies in the beds.
We decided in the morning that besides an old, old camp we rented in Maine(it was an old camp!), this was the darkest and dirtiest room we have ever booked and stayed in. There are plenty of nice places to stay at in this area, which we visit frequently, so this will be the last time here. I suggest you also find something else.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestofnh2010, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 23, 2010
I am very concerned about the experience you had at our property. Our number one goal in the industry, and for ourselves as a team here, is for complete guest satisfaction. Regardless if the hotel seemed to be full booked, I would have very much liked the opportunity to rectify your situation immediately during your stay. This is our first notification that you did not enjoy your stay. Unfortunately, when such instances are not brought to our attention, it does not allow us the opportunity to take immediate action in regards to your concerns, and therefore are unable to resolve them. I would have been very happy to have had the chance to have your concerns brought to my attention, and to especially address your concerns so that your stay was not only enjoyable, but memorable. Even a one night last minute stop to stay the night, means just as much to me as a guest who stays for a week. Every guest is important to us, and their enjoyment of what we offer is even more important. We want all of our guests to be happy, feel welcomed, comfortable, and feel great about their stay with us. I am disappointed to learn that this was indeed, not the case, but will assure you that if you are in our area again, to please contact me directly, and allow us the opportunity to discuss this further with you, and be given a second chance to show you that our attention is focused indeed on your needs here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Address: 381 US Route 3, Lincoln, NH 03251 (Formerly Drummer Boy Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Lincoln
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four seasons of scenic splendor mixed with countless area attractions of the White Mountain region, Econo Lodge Inn & Suites is the perfect place for your vacation stay. We are a AAA Two Diamond rated Motel that has a relaxing vacation atmosphere and plenty of area attractions, activities, and amenities for everyone to enjoy. Choose from our wide variety of rooms, regardless of your need we have something for everyone. We offer complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, wireless internet access, and an excellent selection of area restaurants. Our onsite amenities include: Indoor heated pool, Hot tub, Sauna, Fitness Room, Guest laundry, and Seasonal Outdoor pool & Picnic area with BBQ grills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites
Econo Hotel Lincoln
Econo Lodge Lincoln
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Lincoln, NH - White Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.