We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Room with Hard Bed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Coolidge Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lincoln
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mt. Coolidge Motel
386 US Route 3, Lincoln, NH 03262   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 hotels in Lincoln
CALIFORNIA
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Clean Room with Hard Bed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife said this is the cleanest hotel/motel room she has stayed in ever. We agree with the other good reviews of the Mt. Coolidge Motel and especially how helpful Vicki and Kevin are as hosts, except we felt that the queen bed was too hard. My wife complained that it hurt her hips when she was on her side, and I could not sleep well either because I had to keep turning because it was uncomfortable. We did not get to take advantage of the stream and chairs in the back due to the rain. For the price, I would have expected a higher quality bed. The folks in the room next to us got up early and woke us, so we got up earlier than planned. I would not go as far as saying the walls are paper thin as another reviewer proclaimed, but if people want to make noise you are going to hear it. We were also not impressed with the restaurant choices in the area after getting suggestions and looking at menus, so we ended up eating dinner 20 miles away in Littleton that was part of a suggested drive by Vicki. We went to the TripAdvisor highly rated Flapjack restaurant for breakfast and it was closed on Tuesday. While the $100 per night price is okay, there were lots of vacancies in the area and about 1/2 of the rooms were empty at this motel, so I would have expected lower rates this time of year. However, we picked this motel based on the TripAdvisor reviews and the bed was really the only major disappointment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    270
    63
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
110
147
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I am sorry to be a little negative about this place, the hosts are lovely warm and helpful people and the rooms spotlessly clean.
We did however have one of the smaller rooms and hearing my neighbour snoring ALL night is not an experience I want to repeat. The wall are just too thin as are the bed sheets, almost transparent. I just think for the price charged, we have stayed in much better, it is clearly the location and lack of competition that keeps the prices high. The rooms are a little dated, the decor tired and the chains on the lights a little strange. It is a good basic motel, so take it as that. No problems but nothing that would make me want to return.
Also the lack of availability of choice for somewhere to eat after a long day on the road means that it is unlikely we would stay in this area again.
If you are from the UK and planning a New England trip, really research where you are staying and places to eat nearby unless you want to get in the car again to go and eat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clutton
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The tripadvisor map suggested that this Motel was within walking distance of a number of eating places on the Main Street...it isn't. There are 2 eating places for dinner within walking distance, a pizza place which doesn't look good and has awful reviews on tripadvisor and the Woodward resort which is where we ate twice..the rib steaks are excellent.
The rooms are large and very clean, the welcome friendly and there is free wifi, and coffee and tea in the office each morning. There is a stream at the back with a number of chairs and benches...a pleasant place to relax after a long day sightseeing. The let down is that the decor is very dated..but then the price is low.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I and our 6 year old granddaughter spent the night of Sept. 28, 2013 at the Mt. Coolidge Motel. Our room was exceptionally clean and the entire property was very well maintained. Behind the motel, you can sit and watch the Saco River wind it's way through the area. The owners, Kevin and Vicki, are super people who really enjoy taking care of the needs of their guests. They are friendly and informative. We look forward to coming back again and again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Our room at the Mt. Coolidge Motel was exceptionally clean and spacious.The bed linens and towels looked fresh and inviting and the bathroom was large and immaculate. It is conveniently located in the midst of the scenic White Mountains Area and literally only minutes away from breathtakingly beautiful places, waterfalls, covered bridges and natural formationsto. It's a very good value for the money and I would definitely stay here and again or recommend it to friends.
One word of caution: my husband and I went for dinner to Woodwards Resort, ordered the filet mignon and it was the worst dinner I can ever remember (seriously) - it was inedible. Luckily, there are some other restaurants a little further away on the other side of town.

Room Tip: We were in room 2 and it was clean, spacious and comfy, but probably all of them are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

This is the best motel in Lincoln. We have been visiting this area of NH for over 30 years. We found Mt Coolidge Motel in one of the local tourist books & we are glad we did! The owners, Kevin & Vicki are the nicest couple & really
care about your stay. We came in one night early & they were nice enough to accomodate us by finding us a room. We are already looking forward to our trip next year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

After many years, we were finally able to book our vacation here. We were greeted by Vicky
she is a very warm person. She took us to our room and asked if we would need anything.
The room was on the river with a large picture window which opens to let in the sound of
the rushing water. The room itself was large and very clean. I looked for dust and found none.
The motel is located near all the attractions, the flume,basin,cannon mt.,restaurants,loon mt, lost river, to name a few. we have stayed in the area for years and have finally found where we will
be staying for years to come.

Room Tip: If you like the sound of the river, ask for a room on the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mt. Coolidge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Coolidge Motel

Address: 386 US Route 3, Lincoln, NH 03262
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Lincoln
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lincoln
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lincoln
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riley family welcomes you to the Mt. Coolidge Motel at the entrance to Franconia Notch State Park. Located along a scenic mountain stream in the center of New Hampshire's White Mountains. Surrounded by spectacular mountain views, all area attractions are within reach as you relax in the fresh mountain air. We pride ourselves on providing very clean and neat accommodations at affordable rates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mt. Coolidge Hotel Lincoln
Mt. Coolidge Motel Lincoln, NH - White Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. Coolidge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mt. Coolidge Motel to your Saves list