We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Beacon Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Beacon Resort to your Saves list
The Beacon Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   557 US Route 3, Lincoln, NH 03251   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Lincoln
Concord, New Hampshire, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Comfy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The beds were comfy, and the room was clean. The place was quiet, and they had what was suited for our needs! The pool was decent, and the hot tub very big, and was heated nicely! The staff was friendly, and would stay here again in the future.I am glad that I purchased the groupon to book my stay. I am considering buying another, before they no longer offer it anymore! P.S. If you have an issue with a little bit of peeling paint from a shower ceiling, then you may not like it..Then again..why would anyone take this into consideration, unless of course they plan on sleeping in the tub/shower?LOL!! P.S. the water pressure was very good!

Room Tip: We had the front room (130) and it overlooks the outdoor pool, and playground. If you book in the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaconmotel, Manager at The Beacon Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your Trip Advisor Response.
We appricate all comments good and bad as this lets us know what you think of the Beacon.
We take a different section and work on it. We have been here for a few generations we have a very good return rating. We hope that you will visit the Beacon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    36
    24
    37
    42
See reviews for
70
51
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I want to state that I do NOT stay anywhere unless I have scoured Tripadvisor for reviews and pictures. I have not done my due diligence by posting about hotels I have stayed at until now. I understand that February is not the peak season for The Beacon Resort, however there is no excuse. We purchased a Groupon for two nights so that we could ski Loon. When we entered the room the smell of cat pee would have knocked you over. We had to sleep with the windows wide open despite the 20 degree temps outside. We brought our bathing suits thinking that we could redeem the stay by going in the pool/hot tub/sauna. This was impossible. The pool was murky and had band aids scattered around the deck, the hottub was a similar color and the sauna was littered with water bottles and trash.

I HATE to be someone who totally rags on a hotel and sways their rating, but this stay was just ridiculous. Maybe they have a better reign on things in the summer months, but being close to a ski resort they should probably amp up the winter months too. I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaconmotel, Manager at The Beacon Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.
First of all, the Beacon does not allow pets, if you did smell cat pee someone had to have smuggled a cat in!. You may have checked in very late as you could have swapped rooms if you had come to the office. If the pool was dirty that must have been late as it is checked before closing and cleaned daily. We are sorry for the inconvienence. Our office is usually open until 9 or 10PM. We do hope that you will give the Beacon another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twillmill
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This place needs lots of upgrades. There's not much to choose from up here in Lincoln NHL but this is not really a resort. The bar was not open on a Friday night. The pool had a torn liner but was at least warm. Very rundown areas. The dad's restaurant was decent, not many people patronized this place, so the place was rather empty. Food was average, average price. We stayed during October just after peek foliage. The 'cottage' room we rented was a dump, yes a clean dump, but definetly a dump. It didn't even have a coffee maker. The ' cottage was just a room with a bed, an old bureau, a tv and old bathroom. The bed was hard and again very old. The room had a microwave but blew the electricity out of the whole place if you used it. It's a one man operation so you better not need any help from the front desk...they can barely man the place. I think we paid over $100 something a night ....basically for an old bed in a room.

Room Tip: Cottages not really sufficient as a cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Good location, few miles to Cannon and Loon ski areas. Great indoor pool and jacuzzi. Good quality on food but the service could be improved on restaurant. You can get vouchers for lift tickets cheaper.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

It's not really a resort. But it's an okay place especially if you are on vacation in the summer and don't plan on spending all your time there. Dad's Restaurant is good but overpriced unless you've purchased the meal plan. Is definitely in need of upgrades and repairs. Great place to bring kids. Waitstaff is somewhat friendly. Cleaning staff need retraining. Front Staff is helpful depending on who you get. Admin....well lets just say, they could use a course in customer service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconLincoln_NH, Manager at The Beacon Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank your for your review. We don't feel that Dad's Restaurant is overpriceed, but the meal plan is definetly the way to go. During the month of January business slows down except for skiing and some snowmobile riding. We are working on updating things in the restaurant and rooms. Of course in the summer there are alot of nearby attractions for families and family entertainment in the evenings. Our staff is always friendly and helpful.

We always like guests to let us know about their experiences before they check out. This way they may be addressed. Thank you again and we hope that you will return..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I'm not sure who these people are who give the Beacon such high marks but they must be relatives of the owners, stayed somewhere else, or they are completely oblivious to their surroundings. We stayed at the Beacon on a Groupon and found the propertly in great need of upgrades and repairs. It looks nice when you arrive but you don't have to look too far to see that it is run down. The original room we had was outdated and smelled musty. There was mold growing on the window frame and air conditioner. We were relocated to a cabin which was was lower priced, but not much better. Walking around we noticed that the cabins located in the adjacent resort (can't remember the name) look much nicer and are well kept. As others have said we were disappointed by the indoor pool liner, the "game room" was a joke, and the property condition is outdated and in disrepair. The owners should consider submitting themselves to either the Hotel Impossible or Hotel Hell shows so that Anthony or Gordon can come in and open their eyes to everything that is wrong with this place. I hope that they fix the place up because it appears to have a lot of potential, but is just being allowed to wither away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconLincoln_NH, Manager at The Beacon Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. At the end of 2012 our indoor pool and sauna were vandalized We have since replaced the pool. The issues in your review have been adressed and corrected. We always appreciate any comments by our customers. There are ongoing renovations to more of the rooms and cottages .All of the comments from our guests are from people who have been coming to the Beacon for years or new guests.. We are an affordable family resort and do hope you will return again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We purchased a Groupon to stay at the Beacon Resort, and we thought it would be great for our family. I had stayed there when I was a kid, and was expecting it to be a fun experience. Our stay was at the end of November, so it was off season, but there were only 4 families on site (the place was empty). The rooms were clean, but definitely show their age. The staff was very helpful and friendly (in our first room the smoke detector didn't stop beeping and they moved us to another room). We only ate breakfast in the restaurant, and even though we were the only people in there, the food was surprisingly good. The pool area should be condemned. The lining of the indoor pool is separating from the base, the stairs to get in the pool were crooked and slimy, and the liner on the bottom of the pool was bunched up in several areas. There wasn't a lot of chlorine in the pool, and it wasn't clear if the filter was working, as my kids found several dead bugs floating around. The huge hot tub was a nice attraction, until we turned on the jets, only to find out that the water leaks out of the hot tub, making the floor very slippery. I would stay away from the indoor pool area all together. I see that a lot of older folks go here for scrapbooking, and it may be fine for that, but I wouldn't go here with a young family.....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconLincoln_NH, Manager at The Beacon Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. We do have our off season which is in November until Christmas.On the issue of the indoor pool, we were vandalized and have since replaced the pool and renovated the jacuzzi. Ongoing renovations and also going on for the rooms and cottages. We have a great staff and most have been with us for years. We appreciate any and all comments from our guests. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beacon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beacon Resort

Address: 557 US Route 3, Lincoln, NH 03251
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beacon Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Beacon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beacon Hotel Lincoln
Beacon Resort Lincoln
Beacon Hotel Lincoln
Beacon New Hampshire
The Beacon Resort Lincoln, NH - White Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beacon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.