We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable rates for families” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Beacon Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Beacon Resort to your Saves list
The Beacon Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   557 US Route 3, Lincoln, NH 03251   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Lincoln
East Coast
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Reasonable rates for families”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

It's not really a resort. But it's an okay place especially if you are on vacation in the summer and don't plan on spending all your time there. Dad's Restaurant is good but overpriced unless you've purchased the meal plan. Is definitely in need of upgrades and repairs. Great place to bring kids. Waitstaff is somewhat friendly. Cleaning staff need retraining. Front Staff is helpful depending on who you get. Admin....well lets just say, they could use a course in customer service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconLincoln_NH, Manager at The Beacon Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank your for your review. We don't feel that Dad's Restaurant is overpriceed, but the meal plan is definetly the way to go. During the month of January business slows down except for skiing and some snowmobile riding. We are working on updating things in the restaurant and rooms. Of course in the summer there are alot of nearby attractions for families and family entertainment in the evenings. Our staff is always friendly and helpful.

We always like guests to let us know about their experiences before they check out. This way they may be addressed. Thank you again and we hope that you will return..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    39
    25
    40
    46
See reviews for
72
53
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I'm not sure who these people are who give the Beacon such high marks but they must be relatives of the owners, stayed somewhere else, or they are completely oblivious to their surroundings. We stayed at the Beacon on a Groupon and found the propertly in great need of upgrades and repairs. It looks nice when you arrive but you don't have to look too far to see that it is run down. The original room we had was outdated and smelled musty. There was mold growing on the window frame and air conditioner. We were relocated to a cabin which was was lower priced, but not much better. Walking around we noticed that the cabins located in the adjacent resort (can't remember the name) look much nicer and are well kept. As others have said we were disappointed by the indoor pool liner, the "game room" was a joke, and the property condition is outdated and in disrepair. The owners should consider submitting themselves to either the Hotel Impossible or Hotel Hell shows so that Anthony or Gordon can come in and open their eyes to everything that is wrong with this place. I hope that they fix the place up because it appears to have a lot of potential, but is just being allowed to wither away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconLincoln_NH, Manager at The Beacon Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. At the end of 2012 our indoor pool and sauna were vandalized We have since replaced the pool. The issues in your review have been adressed and corrected. We always appreciate any comments by our customers. There are ongoing renovations to more of the rooms and cottages .All of the comments from our guests are from people who have been coming to the Beacon for years or new guests.. We are an affordable family resort and do hope you will return again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We purchased a Groupon to stay at the Beacon Resort, and we thought it would be great for our family. I had stayed there when I was a kid, and was expecting it to be a fun experience. Our stay was at the end of November, so it was off season, but there were only 4 families on site (the place was empty). The rooms were clean, but definitely show their age. The staff was very helpful and friendly (in our first room the smoke detector didn't stop beeping and they moved us to another room). We only ate breakfast in the restaurant, and even though we were the only people in there, the food was surprisingly good. The pool area should be condemned. The lining of the indoor pool is separating from the base, the stairs to get in the pool were crooked and slimy, and the liner on the bottom of the pool was bunched up in several areas. There wasn't a lot of chlorine in the pool, and it wasn't clear if the filter was working, as my kids found several dead bugs floating around. The huge hot tub was a nice attraction, until we turned on the jets, only to find out that the water leaks out of the hot tub, making the floor very slippery. I would stay away from the indoor pool area all together. I see that a lot of older folks go here for scrapbooking, and it may be fine for that, but I wouldn't go here with a young family.....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconLincoln_NH, Manager at The Beacon Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. We do have our off season which is in November until Christmas.On the issue of the indoor pool, we were vandalized and have since replaced the pool and renovated the jacuzzi. Ongoing renovations and also going on for the rooms and cottages. We have a great staff and most have been with us for years. We appreciate any and all comments from our guests. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Can't wait to visit again! We've been visiting the white Mountains since I was a little girl and the Beacon has always been a family tradition. My kids now enjoy it as much as I did years ago! Now looking forward to taking the grandchildren for one of their fun family weekends.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconLincoln_NH, Manager at The Beacon Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate any and all comments regarding you stay. In many families we see people who came here with with thier parents and are now bringing their children. This is very positive to us and we appreciate it. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, NH
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was our second Scrapbook weekend at the Beacon. We had a great time, the food was great and very abundant, our room was comforatble and Ed amd Ann Margaret could not be more accommodating. Patty the waitress, bartender and jack-of-all trades, goes out of her way to be sure that everything is great for you. I can't wait until March when we return again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaconLincoln_NH, Manager at The Beacon Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We welcome the scrapbookers because we all have such a great time. You are a great group! Hope to see you in March!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Beacon seems like a second home. We go to a scrapbooking 4 day weekend twice a year. Everyone is so friendly and helpful. Anne Margaret and Eddie, the owners,make you feel like family. The accommodations and food were super. We booked 4 rooms for their Christmas tree weekend. We want to show the rest of our families this fun place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Beacon's accommodations are clean and neat. The food is very good. We were just there for 4 days for a scrapbook weekend and the experience once again was amazing. Ed and Anne Margaret are most gracious hosts and surely can't wait to come back in he spring. Thank-you!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beacon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beacon Resort

Address: 557 US Route 3, Lincoln, NH 03251
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beacon Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uncover the magic of New England, and the White Mountains at Beacon Resort located in Lincoln, New Hampshire. We welcome you to bring your families, and groups, to our year round family owned resort. Nestled next to the famous Franconia Notch State Park you will enjoy excellent food served at Dad's Restaurant, followed by a relaxing time at our Night Club featuring entertainment almost nightly. Perhaps enjoy the saunas, jacuzzis, or our indoor heated pool and seasonal outdoor pool located on the property. We offer 72 rooms including our quaint year round cabins that are being renovated right now! Please stop in at Dad's Gift Shop...items for every age at reasonable prices located now in Dad's Restaurant. Perfect ski & stay packages allow you to pick from the surrounding mountains with two mountains only 15 min. away. Along with New Hampshire's famous attractions...All are located within minutes of the resort. Summer children's program, game room, boccie, shuffleboard court, large checker board, and a play ground are some of the special things we offer here at the Beacon Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Groupon and Odigeo so you can book your The Beacon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beacon Hotel Lincoln
Beacon Resort Lincoln
Beacon Hotel Lincoln
Beacon New Hampshire
The Beacon Resort Lincoln, NH - White Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beacon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.