We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ice Castles are Beautiful in the Snow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loon Mountain

Loon Mountain
60 Loon Mountain Rd, Lincoln, NH 03251
800-229-5666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 13 Attractions in Lincoln
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Amusement/ Theme Parks, Amusement Parks
Activities: Skiing, Horseback riding
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the heart of the White Mountains, Loon Mountain Resort is New England’s most-accessible mountain resort destination, featuring Superior Snow, Guaranteed and New Hampshire’s Biggest Skiing on 2,100 feet of vertical with 61 trails, eight tree skiing areas, a full progression of award-winning terrain parks, superpipe and halfpipe. Services and amenities include Snowsports School; Children’s Center; Adventure Center offering zipline, cross country skiing, snowshoeing, ice skating, and indoor climbing wall; day and night snow tubing; slopeside spa and accommodations. Located in Lincoln, NH, just two hours north of Boston and three miles from Exit 32 off Interstate 93. During the summer and fall, Loon features NH’s longest scenic gondola skyride, zipline, aerial forest adventure park, bungee trampoline, the areas’ largest climbing wall, Segway tours, glacial caves and mountain bike rentals and tours. Loon Mountain Resort is located in the White Mountain National Forest and operates in partnership with the USDA-Forest Service.
Harrisville, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Ice Castles are Beautiful in the Snow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

In the midst of winter, I suggest a visit to the Ice Castles at the foot of Loon Mountain. There's plenty of parking even on the snowiest of days. The ticket line moved quickly considering all adventure ticket sales are sold in the same place. The ice castles will appeal to romantics and small children who still see magic! By day its pretty but after dark, the ice is illuminated in blues, greens, reds, etc... the whole place simply glows.

Be prepared to walk on groomed snow and ice...boots are a must!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    102
    19
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The best in snow-making and grooming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Loon consistently does a superior job in snowmaking and grooming! That's probably why it's also one of the more crowded ski resorts around! (Plus there location is SO convenient!)

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great skiing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Food was great, small lift lines, ample parking. Lost some ski poles they showed up in lost and found next day. Love the shack where you can store your snowboard overnight for a buck!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun but pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Took my 2 boys here for tubing this past weekend. Cost us 72$ for 4 tubing tickets that were only for 1 hour of tubing. Id consider that average and i will say the 2 trails were fast and fun. Also did the ice castle which cost me 37$ For 4 tickets and it was in my opinion over priced. The idea of the sculptures was pretty interesting but not something i would say you should be charged to walk inside to view. If anything, if you bought lift tickets then admission should have been free. Due to the cost to view the ice we opt'd to pass on doing the zip line. Next year itll be ziplining, tubing and boarding. No ice castle.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Holiday weekend crowd, but wow great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We skied the Saturday after Christmas and Loon was very crowded. The lift lines moved, but trail junctions and some trails were littered with skiers. Par for the course on a holiday weekend.

The thing that impressed me was the service. We arrived late so we had to do drop off, and park far away. Right as we got our of the car, a host person asked if he could help with the gear, grabbed a pile of it, and hustled us off to the lodge, pointing out key services, tickets, rest rooms, ski lockers, etc.

When one child messed up his ticket, I expected to have to buy another one, but they hosts said 'no problem we can fix this'. 30 seconds later I was on my way back with a solution.

Both experiences were positive and made our weekend. Thanks for the great service.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loon Mountain also viewed

 

Been to Loon Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loon Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.