We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food , ressoanbly priced, service slowish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Weathervane Seafood Restaurant

Weathervane Seafood Restaurant
267 Rte 12A, Lebanon, NH 03784-2017
(603) 298-7805
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 58 Restaurants in Lebanon
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Good food , ressoanbly priced, service slowish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Spouse and I had dinner here with cousin who lived in area; cousin recommended the place. . The food was quite good and the nightly special ( 2 lobsters for $12.99) was a real bargain. I had broiled fish and it and the sides were excellent. We had to wait for service - even to make our pre meal bar order. BUT the waiter came & told us he was busy and would get back to us - I guess we waited 5-7 minutes before he started to serve us. So overall, a good experience, with good and tasty food - would eat her again if, when, in the area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    27
    11
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Getting expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

2 Lobster roll, 1 soda, excellent service by Virginia : $37.47 before tax and gratuities.

Their Special of the day is usually their best deal. But $37.47 for 2 lobster roll and 1 soda is certainly too much.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“really terrible service..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

food was ok, but I server was poor. He seemed to be bored with his job and wanted to go home. Not what we expected from the Weathervane.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Love...hate relationship!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Let me begin by saying this is the restaurant I eat out at most frequently...20-30 times a year. When it comes to seafood; no one does it better for freshness, portions(gigantic), presentation, and particularly fried seafood is the best I've ever had. Unlike most other seafood places, this place uses only FRESH fish. No formed, frozen, portion controls, or blended seafood here. I only eat lobster at home due to the mess, but I've had pretty much every item on the menu at some time or another, and never been disappointed.

Due to SIZE of portions, even though I'm a 230 lb man, I order their "seafarer) smaller portion sometime with chowder or salad and there always a "doggy bag...(I've got to get a dog!) and I never leave unsatisfied. If you like seafood...this is your restaurant.

The service here is somewhat spotty, and there seems to be a fair amount of turnover. Two of the longer term folks are an older white haired wisp of a man and somewhat stout dark haired Romanian girl. They are the best, but from time to time if neither is working I get good service from others (60% good...40% not so much). I've never had a real unhappy experience.

This is a busy place with mostly local patrons and you should expect a wait during peak time, but I've never waited more than 30 minutes and I feel it worth the wait. They do not take reservations but the place is big enough that it turns over rapidly.

I sometimes order take out here and it is every bit as good as sit down food.

Now, the ugly: to say this place is dated is an understatement. It is in really bad need of renovation and new furniture. The men's restroom seems clean but smells like raw sewage. It's time the operators did something dramatic in terms of renovation. I always feel like I need a shower after eating there.

The decor is fine, just dated.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powhatan, Virginia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“always satisfies”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Whenever I'm in the area I always eat here at least once and usually more than once. Lately it seems like it is slipping a bit but still a good place to satisfy a seafood craving at comparatively good prices. Their wicked good twins on Thursday nights are great. They seem to have a high staff turnover but I've never had a complaint with the food or service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Weathervane Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Weathervane Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Weathervane Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.