We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food - Casual and Friendly Environment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Moonbeam Cafe

The Moonbeam Cafe
70 Main Street, Lancaster, NH 03584
603-684-1140
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Canton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food - Casual and Friendly Environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had been to this restaurant for lunch and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food and the atmosphere. We returned about a month later for dinner and were just amazed. Think about a place with a warm pellet stove in the dining room and the forethought to put another one in the women's room!
The food and service were great. Our server was knowledgeable about the menu and offered suggestions. My swordfish was cooked perfectly and my husband loved the chicken Marsala. After dinner, the husband and wife chef/owners came out to make sure we enjoyed our meal and ask for ideas for improvement. We didn't have any!! It was a perfect meal in a lovely, warm environment. We look forward to our return visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    14
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Henniker, New Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We have been before and know the food is amazing, but if you are going for dinner make sure you make the first seating, because there isn't a second.
We went at 6:30pm on a Friday night and were told it was a 15 minute wait. It was cold out so the only place to wait is standing at the door. A couple who were seated as we got there, sat for 30 minutes before being offered water. during the 40 minutes we waited over 5 tables became available. The waitresses would just walk by empty handed and not clear the tables. 40 minutes we left and went to The Inn at Whitefield and had a great meal!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stopped in for supper not knowing anything except the past reviews.

It was AMAZING. My mom and I had the surf amd turf which was pork ribs and 3 crab cakes on a bed of rice and veggies.

It was so much food that we couldn't finish everything and we felt bad. Everything melted in our mouths and no knives were needed.

I'm a dessert person and I had no room left!

A must go!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltcoats, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“What a lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stopped here for a leisurely lunch while driving west to Vermont in the fall, lovely atmophere and good menu with daily specials, worth finding this place for the sumptious sandwiches - we took a doggy bag and it took us 3 days to finish the slices of meat! Yummy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Who would guess that there is an exceptional small restaurant with a real chef in such a small remote community. The standard menu offerings are great but the evening specials are out of this world. Generous portions!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Moonbeam Cafe also viewed

Lancaster, White Mountains
 
Lancaster, White Mountains
Lancaster, White Mountains
 

Been to The Moonbeam Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Moonbeam Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.