We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Moonbeam Cafe

The Moonbeam Cafe
70 Main Street, Lancaster, NH 03584
603-684-1140
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Lancaster
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Coos County
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

A must do! The food is so fresh and delicious. All meats are local as are the veggies. We've been several times for all meals and will continue to patronize this gem in the north country.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    13
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Food worthy of a special trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Driving through Lancaster NH, too late for breakfast and too early for lunch, we came across The Moonbeam Cafe - what a wonderful surprise! Our breakfasts were obviously prepared with care and attractively presented. My kielbasa & eggs with red potato home fries and pumpkin harvest toast was the most yummy breakfast I have ever had. The staff was friendly and the ambiance comfortable. We will make sure to visit the Moombeam Cafe whenever we have the opportunity to be anywhere near Lancaster, NH and recommend it highly.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Breakfast Eggsellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Amazing home made bread choices, fresh updated decor and friendly service are among the reasons we'd return here. Creative omelets, interesting specials and the opportunity for dinner with their new menu would be the other reasons. We each had a different omelet (German with cranberry, apples and sausage, spinach with feta, among our choices) and none were disappointed. The fresh maple whipped butter, orange cranberry jam just added to the yummy-ness; a treat for sure. The salmon hash was made with green onions, red potatoes and fresh salmon; firm and tasty no resemblance to the familiar mushy, salty old-school hash...it was delicious.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Dinner was excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

They have a good variety from steak, seafood, chicken to pork and pasta. Their prices were reasonable for what you get. Everything is nicely laid out. There salad dressings were wonderful and you could tell they were prepared right their. The staff was pleasant and very accomodating. They do have many different deserts the chocolate raspberry truffle cake was awesome. It was a nice quiet atmosphere even though almost every table was full. I think this restraunt was a great addition to Lancaster and I will go again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A real find! Now serving breakfast and lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Moonbeam Cafe we had been told has been open for about a month (September 2, 2012 visit). Locals say that the owner worked on the site for over a year which included a complete kitchen equipment makeover (the location had been another food operator). The Moonbeam Cafe does it right-obviously there is someone in the kitchen who knows how to cook! The Cafe bakes their own breads, muffins, makes their own jams, etc. Moonbeam has a clean fresh interior, great llighting and attention to fitout details you might find in, say, my city Annapolis, MD. Four of us had breakfast. Everyone had something different. All of the plates were "clean.". The serving size was more than generous and the breakfast menu pricing was very affordable. This cafe is really very "chic" and gives Lancaster, NH a much needed restaurant option for the area.
Moonbeam - very affordable, good service, very good food, innovative choices; you just can't miss. We will be back on our next visit to the Great Northwoods.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Moonbeam Cafe also viewed

Lancaster, White Mountains
 
Lancaster, White Mountains
Lancaster, White Mountains
 

Been to The Moonbeam Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Moonbeam Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.