We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Landmark, How about Landfill” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Landmark Inn

The Landmark Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Landmark Inn to your Saves list
The Landmark Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   480 Main Street, Laconia, NH 03246   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Laconia
Mass
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Landmark, How about Landfill”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2006

The lobby was lovely, the artwork was quaint, the dingy elevator should have been our clue to turn right back around and head to another hotel. We are forgiving travellers who understand that it is difficult to keep up with appearances in a smoking room but this place went beyond yellowing wall paper. All we really needed was a clean place to lay our heads but the debris in the bed in the first room and the disgusting sheets in the second room were so over the top that there is no need to give details on the view of the run down apartment building that greeted us in the parking lot.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    27
    20
    12
    18
See reviews for
20
26
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2006

the hotel was perfect for on the go travlers, there was four of us and the hotel accomadated all of our needs, and you could not beat the price!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2006

I don't know what these other reviewers were smoking when they stayed at the Landmark Inn. It wasn't even half as bad as they all claim it was.

I stayed there on May 9th - I was doing a speaking engagement at the Laconia Public Library who put me up at the Landmark.

The lobby was tastefully furnished, the front desk clerk was nice and friendly. Yes, the hotel is not the newest, but honeslty, for $49.95/night, what do you expect? The Ritz?

My room was on the top floor, the 7th, two double beds. The only quibbles I had with the room was that one of the bedspreads had a dubious stain on it, so I slept in the other bed. (I did check the sheets on the bed I didn't sleep in and they were clean and fine.)

The other quibble was that the bathtub could have been cleaner. I don't know if it was hard water stains or just a poor cleaning job.

Other than those two minor things, the room was clean, the bed was comfy (and did have a mattress pad on it and the other one), the AC and heat worked fine (I tried both).

The continental breakfast was as advertised: Muffins, doughnuts, etc and coffee and juice.

If you want a fancy hotel, then don't stay here. If you want someting inexpensive and decent, the Landmark Inn is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2005

We stayed at the Landmark over Christmas. We checked in and discovered no mattress pad (pad between mattress and sheet) on our bed. The woman at the front desk gave us keys to 2 other rooms on the same floor. Neither of those rooms had mattress pads either. There wasn't any housekeeping personel. We ended up re-making our bed with a mattress pad. This was the first hotel (out of many) that didn't have a mattress pad, and the first time I've had to make up the bed myself.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, IN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2005

at 49.99 you really cant go wrong. However, they have one person on staff at night. I moved rooms once becuase my first room was in a stairwell. Once i moved, i was happier with my 2nd room. In both rooms the TV remote did not work. I called down and asked what could be done...the young man said "come down and he'll swap it out. For one night, on business, it was fine. Longer than that, i wouldn't recomend. Breakfast was a joke, but again for 49.99...................

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2005

After traveling 14 hours by car to Laconia, NH, my family and I couldn't wait to get to our hotel. Once to our room, we discovered a dirty kleenex under the bathroom counter, peeling wallpaper, torn lampshades, holey curtains, a dirty floor, and a horrible musty smell. We complained, and were given a new room. Same problems as the prior room, it was a dirty mess. Our other family members had the same problems, and we all complained to the front desk and filled out complaint forms. We stayed for 2 nights, and it cost us $270. We expected some form of discount or even an apology from the manager, but got nothing. Oh, and the breakfast was horrible too.

Basically, this is an overpriced, filthy, mess of a hotel, and I would never recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2005

I read the review from June regarding the Landmark and decided to give them a chance. WHAT A MISTAKE!

The Landmark is a VERY OUTDATED facility, I was suprised that I didnt have cockroaches in my room. The room was so filthy and dilapidated, Im surprised the state allows them to continue opening their doors each morning.

The carpet & bedding is so stained and worn, the furniture looks second hand, and the breakfast was weak, (not to mention the mold on the muffins).

The staff was young, rude and inexperienced, very unprofessional.
I wouldnt stay there on business if you paid me.
TO ALL, dont waste a penny on this dump, spend the extra $20 on a decent place!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Landmark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landmark Inn

Address: 480 Main Street, Laconia, NH 03246
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Laconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Landmark Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Landmark Inn is a seven story hotel centrally located in downtown Laconia, NH. At The Landmark Inn, we believe you should have the comfort and convenience you deserve at the affordable rates you want. The Landmark gives you all the charm and comfort of a country inn with quick and easy access to a number of area attractions. Continental breakfast and free wireless internet access are included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Landmark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landmark Hotel Laconia
Landmark Hotel Laconia
Landmark Inn Nh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Landmark Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.