We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible staff and unprofessional and rude general manager” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Summit Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Summit Resort to your Saves list
The Summit Resort
177 Mentor Avenue, Laconia, NH 03246   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Laconia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Horrible staff and unprofessional and rude general manager”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012 via mobile

This place looks nice. The rooms were alright. The front desk staff was horrible. There is no on-site security after 9pm. The front desk doesn't answer there phones. They do nothing for noise complaints either. When we finally got to through to the front desk and talked to the general manager she was rude and unprofessional. She even hung the phone up on me. I called her back and she told us we can leave the resort. I was completely disgusted with the staff there and especially disgusted with the general manager who had no cares for the guests staying there. I will never return to this place. It definitely doesn't make you feel at home with the horrible customer service. I would recommend everyone else to stay away from here as well

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dcutillo, General Manager at The Summit Resort, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
It is unfortunate that what could have been a fun vacation experience had to end in such an unpleasant manner for both your party and for our staff. In this instance, I completely support my staff’s side of the story. After reading your review and meeting with all management representatives familiar with your stay, I find it very self-serving that you do not explicitly state that you were a member of the party that was removed due to noise complaints from other guests. While it is unfortunate that our security guard, whose shift ends at 2 AM, did not become aware of the disruption during the night, the resort did receive 7 independent complaints the following morning. The resort manager was obliged to comp 2 rooms in proximity to your room due to these issues. We had several eye witness account from other guests of beers being thrown from the deck during the night as well.

I understand that our manager had one initial conversation with your party in the morning and then was forced to take action on a second call based on the experience of other guests. If our manager was anything but professional with you during the process of removing you from the property I can only assume she was a bit flustered by the extremity of the situation. Our organization did refund the second night of your party’s stay.

For the record our front desk stops answering phones at 10 PM, guests are then directed to a cell phone number in their guest packets that is available until 2 PM. After those hours we have an offsite, 24 hour desk staff that is available to answer calls for the property. Your review does bring up the concerned that this communication chain may have been under-communicated to the guests staying in units near your room. We will work on improving this to be more responsive to future noise complaints as they are happening and hopefully prevent other guest from suffering as a result of irresponsible behavior by a single party.

Rob Robillard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    34
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
41
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Walpole, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Was torn as to whether to mark this average or very good. There is no "good".
The units are nice as advertised, but in no way would I consider this a luxury resort. This is the second time I have stayed at the resort. Last time was the summer, this time just a few weeks ago to ski. The units are dated, but comfortable. As previously stated, the master bath had no shower and the walls are thin. The unit was very clean. I have stayed there twice in two separate units and they were both the same.
These are condo's. The pool is very nice but I do not really consider this a resort. There is no restaurant on property or even within walking distance. They provide basics but no starter pack of coffee etc. A bar of soap but no shampoo. If you are ok with the basics, it is a great place, if you are expecting luxury you will be dissapointed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Went here over the weekend with my son, daughter and her friend and we all had fun. The rooms are perfect for a family and the activity center is a blast. Racquetball, pool tables, multiple swimming pools, slides.

Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: take a top floor as you can hear people walking when your on the middle or bottom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, South Dakota, United States
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Just returned yesterday from this resort. This was our first stay there and here's a few observations:

We stayed in building 2, room 210. We referred to it as That 70's Building. The bathrooms still had tan porcelain toilets, and the master bedroom did not have a shower, just a tan whirlpool tub set in red brick tiles. Hideous!

The kitchen was a bit better, but not by much. The fridge was newer, as was the microwave/range hood combo. The counters were dated, but at least in good condition. There were very few kitchen accessories... just one dish cloth and one dish towel, no pizza pan, etc.

The living and bedroom furniture were dated as well, with a 70's-80's look, but it didn't seem intentional. The electric fireplace in the LR actually had the connection wiring come out of the right front side before going along the baseboard for a foot or two before actually going into the wall to get connected - pretty sure against electrical code there! Even though most hide-a-bed couches are not comfortable, this one was worse than most to sit on.

The beds were not the worst I have ever slept in, but they were far from the best as well. The furniture was very sparse and like the living room, it had a smaller, tube style TV. The walls were a little thin...we heard in the bedroom next to us the neighbors snoring. Fortunately, that's ALL we heard oing on in the next room - thank God it was an older (and tired) couple and not honeymooners!

They did have a stacked washer and dryer, and unlike any other resort I have stayed in, they actually provided the laundry detergent, a nice touch. The deck was spacious with a beautiful view, and the grounds were well kept. From the outside, the buildings look very quaint. The indoor pool was nice - needed a cleaning - but not too far gone. Small exercise room but good equipment. There was a racquetball court, outdoor tennis courts, and a sand volleyball court - all decent.

The staff ws generally helpful and very friendly except for one clearly unhappy young lady the morning of October 4th. Other than that interaction, the staff were all pleasant to interact with. Although the actual checkout is 10:00 am, they were very gracious when we had seen an 11:00 am checkout time online from an independent 3rd party site - no issues with the extra hour at all.

They are well situated with a short drive to 3 states and a host of wonderful attractions. We ventured out each day we stayed there, which is what made the unit bearable. I loved the area, loved the mountain of things to do, but when I come back to the area, it wouldn't be at the Summit until the units get some serious updating.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dcutillo, General Manager at The Summit Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
We are sorry to hear that your room did not meet your expectations. We take great pride on our resort and are pleased that you did enjoy the rest of your surroundings here and that we were able to accommodate your checkout needs. We hope that you will give us the chance to host you and your friends again. Should you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me at robertrobillard@summitresortnh.com
Sincerely,
Rob Robillard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

This resort has a wonderful heated pool area, with a very large jacuzzi. There is a waterfall and slide that the kids really enjoyed. The staff was great, the rooms were great. Very close to all the attractions. Discount coupons to local restaurants and activities. There are outdoor gas grilles that you can use to cook. The resort also ahs a game room for the kids to go to. It's a fun place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

This "resort" near Weirs Beach is a great place to stay when visiting the lakes region. We stay in unit 105 which is prime real estate since it's on the ground floor and only a few steps from the outdoor pool, playground and tennis courts. The unit can sleep 6 and features two bedrooms and two baths, full kitchen, dining room and living room with fire place and pull out couch. There are sliding glass doors from both the living room and master bedroom that lead to the deck. This unit in particular can use some updates in both bathrooms and furniture in living room but all in all is a very nice place to bring your family or friends for a vacation near Weirs Beach. Other amenities here include an indoor pool, hot tub, racketball court, " gym", ping pong, billiards, outdoor sand volleyball and horseshoe pit. It's a 5 minute (if that) drive to area attractions including Weirs Beach, restaurants and activities.

Room Tip: Buildings 1/2: near playground & outdoor pool. Buildings 3/4: near indoor pool. Ground floors: e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

My husband and I shared a two bedroom with my sister, her two kids, and my mother. It was roomy but my mother got stuck on the sofa bed and said it was very uncomfortable, the sofa mattress needs replacement, and soon! The bathrooms and other furnishings could use some updating as they were a little dated and I was disapointed to find the fireplace was electric. The back deck needed to be swept up and the table and chairs wiped cleaned before use, a small thing that housekeeping should be taking care of when they clean the rooms. The room does not come with standard hotel amenties likes shampoo, coffee, etc..which is I found strange considering the rate we paid. The pool was great and the kids had a fun time. The location was convenient and the grounds were well kept. All in all we had a good time. If you go to this area..eat at Harts Turkey Farm..amazing!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Summit Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit Resort

Address: 177 Mentor Avenue, Laconia, NH 03246
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Laconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summit Resort is a four season getaway overlooking New Hampshire’s magnificent Lake Winnipesaukee. Ideal for families, the comfortable, spacious suites provide privacy for six with the convenience of a full kitchen and dining area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Summit Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summit Hotel Laconia
Summit Laconia
Laconia Summit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Summit Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.