We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enough for two” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fratello's Ristorante Italiano

Fratello's Ristorante Italiano
799 Union Ave, Laconia, NH 03246-5506
603-528-2022
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 71 Restaurants in Laconia
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Liberty Township, OH
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Enough for two”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Our hotel owner recommended this restaurant, and for good reason. The food was great, the atmosphere pleasant, and the prices reasonable.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    50
    16
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great decor - friendly service - poor food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

If it is possible for a restaurant to have an "off" night, Fratello's really did on our visit.

First: Great decor and atmosphere. Tables are not too close together. Made us anticipate a wonderful evening.. We were seated on the first floor, so I can't comment on the second floor

Second: Our server was very helpful and tried to provide responsive service. The only problen was that she seemed to be covering the whole first floor. Not a major problem if the food had been OK.

Third: The food. My wife ordered veal parmigiano which did not appear to have been pounded. It was tough and overcooked. I had baked haddock which proved to be dry and tasteless. We were very hungry so we did eat the meal, but didn't enjoy it.

To be fair, the manager appeared very concerned. Perhaps this was not the usual situation at the restaurant. My opinion is that Fratello's (that night) was similar to a red sauce restaurant you would find at a truck stop in Kansas.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best Chicken Parm ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I went to Fratello's for a rehearsal dinner in September and had the Chicken Parmesana. It was the best chicken parm I had.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wentworth, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Place for Lunch or Dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Haven't had a bad meal yet!
We have loved everything we try.
The NorthEnder (Italian Combo Plate) is Wonderful
The Sicilian Sausage Soups is to die for!
and the Caesar Salad is very good.
Nice atmosphere, good wait staff

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicville, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband and I ate a delicious meal at this restaurant on September 6, 2012. The staff were very friendly and they sat us next to the piano player, a delightful gentleman named Gus, who entertains the customers on Tuesdays and Thursdays. He played a beautiful rendition of Stardust at our request that I've been smiling about for days. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and dessert and would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fratello's Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 

Been to Fratello's Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fratello's Ristorante Italiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.