We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Opechee Inn and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lake Opechee Inn and Spa to your Saves list
Lake Opechee Inn and Spa
62 Doris Ray Court, Laconia, NH 03246   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Laconia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Needed a place to stay for a Santana concert. Stumbled on the Opechee INN while searching Trip Advisor for the area. We had a great stay .... the facility is absolutely beautiful! Our room was great ..... the bed was unbelievable ..... not only did it look wonderful but it was so soft and comfortable. The sheets were awesome and the bed felt like you were sleeping on a cloud. Our room had a nice gas fireplace and sitting area. Also had a private patio overlooking the lake. The bar and restaurant were both excellent. The facility is all like new with great work by the designers .... the colors and decorations are very pleasing to the eye. It would be impossible not to love this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    43
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
42
110
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We decided to stay at the inn this summer after finding and eating at the associated on site "O" restaurant during a ski trip last winter. This is really a very nice place to stay! The grounds are quite nice and the inn is beautiful. The check in/out staff are friendly and nice. Our room was clean, spacous and the beds were oh so comfortable. We also had a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. There is also a spa at the inn and a fantastic restaurant with excellent service, a great wine list and the best lobster mac and cheese I have ever had! I still think about it often! Looking forward to my next New Hampshire weekend this Fall so I can stay here to enjoy all the ammenities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Lake Opechee Inn & Spa fails to take advantage of its signature asset, Lake Opechee. The inn is inexplicably separated from the lake by the inn's main driveway. Once you cross the driveway and approach the lake, you are blocked from the lake by chicken wire. I was expecting to spend quite a bit of time lakeside, reading, cooling off with the occasional dip, but was thwarted by the property's illogical design.

Plus, it was adjacent to an industrial warehouse. Remote and surrounded by nature, it was not.

We didn't have a room with a "lake view," but it didn't really matter, because a room with a "lake view" would have actually been a room with a driveway, parking lot, and lake view.

Arrival was a hassle. It was raining, and there was only room in the covered drop-off area for one car at a time. There were no attendants at the drop-off area, so I had to get out of the car, climb the stairs (yes, stairs at the drop-off area!), get a cart, carry each piece of luggage up the stairs, leave the cart, park my car, run through the rain, return to the cart, and wheel it inside.

Finding my room was difficult too. My room number was in the 100's, which, in defiance of decades of commercial room-numbering standards, was actually on the 2nd floor.

The room was nice enough, but did not have wi-fi access, which was only available in the lobby for some reason. The TV was small and partially obscured by the bedposts. The bed was absurdly high off the floor.

The restaurant had good food and service, but did not take reservations or give priority seating to guests of the Inn.

As you can tell, I spent the majority of my stay slightly to extremely annoyed. If you want a true lakeside experience, I suggest renting a remote house with a dock.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana2, Owner at Lake Opechee Inn and Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Here at Lake Opechee Inn and Spa, we are committed to making each guest experience one to remember as a wonderful stay.
Our lakeside is an area we look forward to developing, up until this year we have had a terrible goose problem but thanks to our creative staff, by installing a 12 inch wire fence close to the ground, the geese are no longer a problem; leaving the grassy lakeside area clean and accessible. Now our guests are able to pull up an adirondak chair and enjoy the lakeside area.
Although we are in a downtown historic neighborhood, we are fortunate to be set away from the road in a cove of Lake Opechee, where we have landscaped our property with both ornamental and birch trees. Giving the property a more urban feel and softening the necessary parking areas for the convenience of our guests.
Here at the Inn, we have used a bit of the European traditions to infulence our services; our room numbers start on the second floor which is a tradition in Europe, many of our guests make that comment and find it a delightful change from the norm. With a slight variation on the European Plan, our Inn offers a Country Continiental breakfast with every night's stay, where as the American Plan will include three meals with each night's stay. Fortunately, we have a first class restaurant on property that is a local and returning guest favorite. So getting your other two meals a day is convenient and delicious. if you are looking for reservations, be sure to contact guest services, we work together with the restaurant to make reservations for all of our guests. We are committed to providing the services that today's travelers are looking for in an efficient and friendly manner.
In short, we are very proud of the escape that we have created for our guests and would remind all of them that if there is something that they need or want during their stay to please contact guest services and we will be happpy to assist with your needs and wants.
Hope you all discover Tranquility in every day and travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
435 reviews 435 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Was at the Inn recently for a wedding (which was at the Inn). It was a spectacular weekend...hot for NH, but our room was well-chilled when we arrived. We had a room overlooking the Lake, with a nice balcony which allows you to sit in the fresh air and enjoy the activity on the lake, as well as the beautiful sunsets.
There is a complimentary continental breakfast, with great coffee selection from the Keurig machine.
Staff was very pleasant, many dogs were visiting (I enjoyed seeing how any dogs were taking their owners for walks around the grounds each day!)
The rooms are quite spacious, beds are incredibly comfortable with luxurious bedding! Overall, a place I would highly recommend and would definitely return to!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Ah, the tranquil hotel by the lake... In reality...an old factory building dolled up, squeezed in between a lake, a road and a railroad.
We really appreciated the welcome at the reception and the nice three golden retrievers but loathed the noisy AC unit in the room and the extreme lack of wifi. Basically, we had to sit in one sofa at the reception to reach the wifi. Breakfast was basic, but not bad. Great beds though.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here one night to drop my son off at camp. I didn't make reservations til the last minute and the only room they had was a 2 queen bed room in the back. We are a family of four with 2 teenage boys and I was sure we would be cramped but since it was just one night and I didn't have any other option, I took it. I wasn't expecting much, but when we arrived, I was pleasantly surprised at how spacious and comfortable the room was and how much there was to do in the area. We all wished we were staying longer! We had a lovely dinner at O's and then took a ride to Weir's Beach which we all really enjoyed. The beds were very comfortable and the place was all spotless The included breakfast was nothing fancy, but everybody found something they enjoyed. We will definitely be back...preferably next time in adjoining rooms overlooking the lake!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Had a wonderful two day stay at Lake Opechee Inn and Spa. A much needed getaway from New York for my Dad and I! The rooms are spacious comfy warm and inviting! There is a saying from soup to nuts this place has it all. Loved Loved Loved this place! I will absoulutely hands down come back! After researching and seeing neighboring towns for possible lodging near Lake Winnipesaukee I am so glad I chose to stay here! The spa services were amazing my massage therapist "Meagan" had hands of gold! She worked her magic to relieve and renew my tired old back with a deep tissue massage. Their restaurant "O's" accommadated my needs as a vegetarian the food was tastefully delicious a little pricey if your on a budget however a must for at least once while your there! Cannot say enough! THE STAFF WAS SO FRIENDLY AND ACCOMMODATING you felt as if you were coming home. It is the best hidden secret in New Hampshire. You will not be dissappointed!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Opechee Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Opechee Inn and Spa

Address: 62 Doris Ray Court, Laconia, NH 03246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Laconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovated historic mill building is home to an Inn, Spa, Conference Center and Restaurant, all resting on the peaceful shores of Lake Opechee; a sister lake to Lake Winnipesaukee. The Inn has thirty-four individually decorated guest rooms with fireplaces, private baths and many offer balconies with lake views and two-person whirlpool baths. We are a dog friendly Inn, offering two exclusive guest rooms for you and your friendly pups. Our Spa is Tranquility Springs Wellness Spa and in house restaurant is O Steak & Seafood. Here at Lake Opechee Inn and Spa, guests will find the perfect retreat for rest and relaxation. Often referred to as a "home away from home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lake Opechee Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Opechee Hotel Laconia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Opechee Inn and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.