We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun weekend with friends and family!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Margate Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Margate Resort to your Saves list
The Margate Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   76 Lake Street, Lake Winnipesaukee, Laconia, NH   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK HERE FOR BEST RATES
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Laconia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Concord, New Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fun weekend with friends and family!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The help at the Margate are exceptional. We had Jamie and she was genuinely pleasant, fun and efficient. So nice to be pampered and have the staff wait on you when you're lounging on the beach! Met some wonderful people. The cost of the drinks was reasonable and the food was yummy. Location of the bar and the tables are perfect! Rooms are not luxurious, but very clean and with that kind of beach, who wants to be indoors! Very nice to not have to drive home after the Zach Brown concert!
My one discontent was the area lost power for about 5 hours and the hotel had NO backup generator!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for the great review. It is always pleasing to hear that the staff helped to make your stay wonderful. I’m very happy that you enjoyed everything about the beach from the location and wait-staff to the food and drinks. I also hope you enjoyed the concert while in town. The power outage you mentioned actually affected half of the city of Laconia, and half of the town of Gilford, and was very unfortunate. Due to the size and layout of the resort, backup generators for each building is not feasible. However we have learned that our older style emergency lights can be replaced with newer LED style packs. Although our current emergency lights lasted the required couple of hours, we wished they had lasted longer. The LED packs will greatly extend the life of our emergency lighting during a power outage, and we have started the process of replacing all of the emergency lighting throughout the hotel. Thanks again for posting and we hope to have you back soon!

Kyle Parisi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    149
    59
    35
    48
See reviews for
163
129
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rutland, Vermont
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This place used to be somewhat charming, but during a recent visit (in the height of summer, albeit admittedly on a weekday,) the dining room wasn't open and the only place to get a drink was at the outside bar, which is nicely located right on the water. The problem was this: it was pouring out there. We had intended to get massages in the spa, but the spa was locked up tight when we arrived at 3:00 p.m. and still not open the next morning at 9:00. no one at the front desk seemed to know what the spa hours were. So let's review: we were not able to enjoy the spa or the dining room. We were left with a decent lakeside room but had to go off resort to eat a nice dinner. This defeated the purpose of the trip. Also, the property overall needs an update. Long narrow corridors, old carpeting. Overall, a disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. Our dining room is actually only used for breakfast and private functions. You may be recalling the Blackstones Restaurant which operated in the past in our dining room, but it has been closed since 2004. Our beach bar and grill does operate and serve lunch and dinner daily in the summer, and there is covered seating, but I apologize that you did not feel that was adequate. For this reason we have partnered with numerous local restaurants and eateries in the area to provide discounts for our guests to their establishments. Our spa facility, operated by The Bodywork Cafe, is a relatively new addition to our resort, and we are still working out some of the kinks. I will be sure to talk with the manager of the spa to find a spot to post their hours or operation. We appreciate the feedback, and any opportunity we have to improve ourselves.

Kyle Parisi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Was pleased with our room and the resort, in general. Our room was small, but adequate and looked out onto the lake. The room was clean and we slept well in the bed.

I took advantage of the continental breakfast which was fine for me...not enough for hubby, who opted for the upgrade breakfast which was extra.

The resort was very nice, had fireworks at night, bonfire on the beach and a nice bar right on the beach area.

For $149 plus tax, I thought it was a good deal.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lake building, room 515, which overlooked the lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for not only visiting our resort, but also for taking the time to write us a review. I am happy to hear that you were able to sleep well in your room and noticed the spectacular views. It is also good to see you that you were able to enjoy the options of a complimentary continental breakfast or a hot breakfast buffet for $6.95 with your husband. You also certainly picked a great night to stay with us and take advantage of the firework show as well as the bonfire on the beach. Thanks again for posting, and we hope to have you back!

Kyle Parisi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danvers
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed in a lovely suite with 2 double beds and a single bath in large bedroom and a double bed in the other bedroom. The beds were very comfortable. The room was neat and well cared for. Service was very attentive. The hotel has a small sandy beach and a tiki bar that serves a nice lunch and cold beverages. There is a fridge in the room. TV's are not flatscreen but that's the only didsappointment! Overall The Margate is among the best values in the Laconia area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for posting a great review with us. I’m glad you chose one of our suites, and found the room to be exceptional. I’m also happy that you noticed the attentiveness of the service we provide, and that you were able to take advantage of the meals being served down at the beach. The beach bar and grill actually serves dinner as well. I would also like to note that we are in the process of replacing all of our older TVs with flat screens, and I apologize that the room you were in did not have one yet. At the time of your review, we only have those Inn Family Suites left to install, just because we cannot decide the best spot on the wall to mount them! Thanks again for reviewing us and it’s really great to hear that you found your stay with us to be well worth the value!

Kyle Parisi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Reading
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have been going to the Margate for many years. We've stayed at other resorts in the area, but the Margate suits our needs the best. We have family members who summer in Laconia, so when we stay at the Margate, they are able to boat over to see us. They can dock there, and we all use the beach restaurant for lunch and swim at the beach or in one of the pools. Everyone, child or adult, can enjoy the amenities. Also, there are many activities in the area, a terrific outlet for shopping, and lots of good restaurants which are reasonably priced.

Room Tip: We have stayed at the Margate many times, in every location. We stay in the motel building for conv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
It is always great to hear from guests that have been with us for multiple years! I am very pleased to hear that you have frequented other resorts in the area and feel ours to suit your needs the best. I’m glad that you are able to enjoy time with your family in the area, and are utilizing our docks to frequent the beach bar and grill. I am happy to hear that you are enjoying not only our amenities but all the great things the local area has to offer. We can’t wait to have you back!

Kyle Parisi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very standard motel room. Disappointed that there was no microwave in the room. Beautiful property on the lake. You can't bring any of your own food or beverage to the lakefront. There's a restaurant there and all food and drink have to be purchased from the resort. Bartenders were great. Waitstaff was young girls nice but very slow and unattentive. There are also indoor and outdoor pools. Great options if it's rainy especially if you're bringing kids.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for posting a review with us. It is always disappointing to hear that a guest was not satisfied with their room. I wish you had elaborated more on what you felt was standard other than the lack of a microwave. With our recent additions of flat screen TV's, Keurig K-Cup coffee makers, and beautiful stainless steel fridges, we thought we had upgraded quite a bit. I’m glad you enjoyed the property, but it is also troubling to hear how you felt about our servers. We take great pride and focus in providing excellent customer service for our guests. I hope that the speed of the service was mostly attributed to the vastly increased business of the restaurant. But I will say that our beach bar staff is made up of seasoned servers and bartenders that have been with us for multiple years. This is something that we will continue to monitor closely however. I’m happy you enjoyed the usage of both of our pools, and enjoyed the wide array of options available at the resort. We hope to have you back again.

Kyle Parisi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed this past sun til thurs To start off our reservations we had some issues with room change not being updated and us losing the lake family suite.we were very disappointed. But in the end we ended with double bds courtyard lake bldg. rooms were very clean, updated beds comfy. Relatives stayed in west bldg which has chairs out the door motel style,great for smokers or parents wanting to step out after kids sleeping but beds were nt comfy. Indoor pool area was great especially because it was raining but we did notice they let public swim for a fee, and there seemed to be a women giving swim lessons randomly in the pool for a few hours which we thought quite strange especially during a busy week. But not a huge problem. Kuerigbin rooms were nice bonus. The beach is good size just beware other patrons like to throw their towels down early or night before to hold spots which really isn't too nice,we just moved them! Beach bar was fun, food was very good but not huge choice. Staff were all very kind and helpful especially from desk mgr and full time breakfast girl. Continental breakfast was Great,best I've had.hot buffet decent. Outdoor pool was okay we used it once. Overall great for the family we will return. Kids also loved game room. Definitely would recommend west bldg closest to beach.

Room Tip: West bldg.fyi 1.5 hrs from storyland
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hello and thank you for posting a review with us. I looked into your situation and discovered what I believe to have been the confusion. Your booking was for two adjoining rooms, which is similar to a family suite, but has a different set-up. I am glad that you found the rooms to be comfortable. As you mentioned, the West Building does have a motel style set-up, which many of our guests prefer, I do apologize about the beds however. We recently updated the entire property with brand new bedding all at once, so perhaps there was an issue with just your particular room. We will look into it. As you noticed we do have local guests that use our pool/workout/spa facilities. We have a rather large customer base in the local area that uses the facilities frequently in the off-season. We do limit the external usage by a great deal during our summer season, but there are still some exceptions, I hope they were not an inconvenience. I’m happy you enjoyed the beach, unfortunately at our busier times some guests can forget their towels on the sand and in the chairs, but we do continually sweep for towels that have been left. It is also very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed the hospitality that our staff we provided as we take great pride in this. Happy to hear you will be back, and our game room might just have some new games when you return as well!

Kyle Parisi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Margate Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Margate Resort

Address: 76 Lake Street, Lake Winnipesaukee, Laconia, NH
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Laconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Margate Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to The Margate and enjoy all the amenities expected of a first class lakefront resort and conference facility less than two hours north of Boston. Whether taking a dip in our indoor and outdoor pools, sunning on our 400 foot private sandy beach, relaxing in our whirlpool-sauna, or dining at our Gazebo Beach Bar for lunch or dinner, you are sure to find all the comforts of home.Beautifully decorated and maintained guest rooms, onsite event and dining facilities, and a skilled staff dedicated to making your stay a wonderful experience make The Margate on Lake Winnipesaukee the place to vacation in the Lakes Region.At The Margate Resort, we've gotcha covered. With 15 different room types from which to select you are sure to find accommodations that best suit your needs. All guest rooms are fully equipped with Keurig® K-Cup Coffee Makers, Green Mountain® coffee, free wireless internet, irons & ironing boards, and hairdryers. Lake and West rooms also include double-sized stainless steel mini-fridges!Choose a room in our Lake building for spectacular views of the lake and unparalleled sunsets. For convenience during inclement weather, the Lake building is connected to the amenities building by underground tunnel!For a motel style experience, choose our West building. West Beach guests enjoy quick access to our sandy beach, just steps away from your door. Many West Inland rooms have backdoors leading to our West Lawn area!Our Inn building units are generally larger than the other buildings, offer the lowest rates, and being located right next to our outdoor pool makes the Inn a great choice by most families during the summer season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Margate Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Margate Hotel Laconia
Margate Hotel Laconia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Margate Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.