We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop @ the gate resort!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Margate Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Margate Resort to your Saves list
The Margate Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   76 Lake Street, Lake Winnipesaukee, Laconia, NH   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK HERE FOR BEST RATES
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Laconia
Concord, New Hampshire, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Stop @ the gate resort!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

My friend and I stayed here and the place was a dump! The top blanket to both of our beds had stains on them (which looked like blood) and the sheets were filthy, disgusting!!! The bathroom tiles and ceiling were falling apart. The tub was filthy, and the room wreaked of I don't know what!! The common areas were not clean, and the swimming pool had a dirt film around it (I refused to swim with my friend)! P.S. I had stayed here several years prior, and would never had thought that it would have changed for the worse! I/we will not be back!

Room Tip: Just don't stay here (unless you can see what you are getting into)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for posting a review. With so many other people writing positive reviews regarding the cleanliness of our rooms, we were a little shocked at this. We are mostly frustrated that the guest didn’t give us an opportunity to show them another room that would have been more acceptable to them. Unfortunately, we cannot accommodate our guests if they don’t let us try. The Margate staff takes pride in our facility so not being given the chance to accommodate someone makes it difficult for us. The fact that almost every area of the hotel was unacceptable to this guest also raises a red flag for us. Nevertheless, as with every other review, this review has been shared with the management team to identify any possible area of improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    147
    59
    33
    48
See reviews for
160
129
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Very quite room, excellant staff, Pool, HotTube and pool were A+. Breakfast could have been better for the price. Internet was not avaiable in the lodge across from the main building. The big plus was I left the charger to my tablet in the room and they shipped it to me within 4 days!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Thank you for posting an honest review of The Margate. We are glad you that you enjoyed the pool and Jacuzzi. Our continental breakfast has been available free of charge throughout the entire year, and the hot breakfast buffet is available all summer (and during some busy periods in the off-season) for a cost of $6.95 per person. We feel the breakfasts have always provided a great value, however we are making a few positive changes for the 2012 season. We will be adding some additional healthy options, replacing most of the prepared baked goods with items baked in-house, and possibly adding a waffle station this summer. We do have WiFi available in all areas on the lake side of the property, and this winter we are working toward installing WiFi into the Inn building. This will provide 100% WiFi access to every corner of the property. We are glad we found your charger and were able to get it back to you quickly. We hope you will stay with us again in the future. Thank you again for the post!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Easton, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We spent 2 nights over New Year's weekend and had a great time! Our room was clean, but in need of updating, however, our room had a great view of the lake; the staff was extremely efficient, and helpful (they even moved us to a quieter area of the dining room due to a large, loud party). Our meal was excellent, and we had a great time dancing to the band (which was very good), and everyone seemed to enjoy themselves. We will definitely be back in the spring/summer! The New Year's Eve package was well worth the money!

Room Tip: Definitely get a lakeview room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of The Margate. I am glad our staff was accommodating to you during your stay with us. The "Undercover Operatives" have been our New Years Eve band for the last few years, and they never disappoint! That dance floor is always full all night long! We hope you will come visit us again in the summer and enjoy all of the lakeside activities we have to offer. Thank you again for your post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Connecticut, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

My husband and I traveled to The Margate from Ct for our 5th wedding anniversary (Dec. 31st). The room was a little tired , in need of an update, but very clean. Over priced for off-season. The New Years party was fun but not very well thought out, guests finishing dinner were unsure where to go. Back to the room or into the bar for the party, an itinerary of the weekends events and times would have been useful.
On the upside the staff was extremely polite,friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you for posting an honest review. We are sorry that you felt our New Years Eve packages were overpriced. We felt as though our packages, which range from $239 to $279 depending on the room type, were a great value. For those unfamiliar with what we offer for New Years Eve, our packages included an overnight room, a five course dinner for two, entertainment and dancing with a champagne toast at midnight, and a full scale hot breakfast buffet the next morning, with a late checkout at 1:00pm. We are constantly updating areas of the hotel such as replacing all the mattresses in April of 2012 and will continue to do so as our budget allows. We are glad that our staff was helpful and accommodating to you, we will certainly pass that compliment on to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

My girlfriend and i arrived at the margate for the first time to celebrate New Years. We took part in the New year's eve special. After reading some of the negative reviews we really did't know what to expect. The whole night was fantastic from the dinner to the entertainment the room and a special thank you to the staff. We really enjoyed the stay and would recommend this to everyone.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a king size bed with a water view. We had two doubles because a king size was not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad that you had a great evening. Thank you for choosing us even after reading the negative reviews. We feel as though the negative reviews are very exaggerated and not a true and accurate representation of our hotel. We certainly appreciate you giving us the opportunity to prove that we are a great property and certainly go out of our way to ensure that our guests are happy and satisfied. We hope that you will join us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

The Margate had a new years eve package that included dinner, a band and overnight accommodations at very reasonable price. We decided to try it this year. I have to say we had a great time. The food was good and the band was terrific. Everybody seemed to have a good time. The staff was extremely pleasant and we will probably go back next year. I would recommend this to all my friends.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad that you had a great evening. We will certainly let our staff know how much you appreciated them. They strive to make the property the best it can be. We noticed you also stayed with us this past summer and had some trouble with some other loud guests on the beach, and we are happy that you gave us another try. We look forward to seeing you and your family and friends in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We traveled to Margate in November for a wedding. The wedding itself was wonderful and the caterer was just perfect. However, the staff at Margate were rude and unfriendly. The hotel is showing signs of much needed upkeep with outdated rooms, phones, tv's and even mold in the bathroom shower. The wedding coordinator was nice but not overly available to the bride. The table linens were terribly wrinkled and I had wanted them pressed before the reception but there was just no time. Very disappointing.
Also, the bride and groom were not given the largest room available, as promised. I guess there are no bridal suites but they were told they would get the largest corner room to make their evening special. That did not happen and they were in a room, sandwiched between other guests, no larger than the others. We also tried to get them early check in as a the reception began at 5pm but they would no guarantee that for anyone without a $50 fee. We tried to get that waived for the Bride and Groom but the did not budget.

This resort is a place many of us have gone to since we were little children and continued over the years. What a disappointment after that stay. I don't believe many of us will ever return, which is very sad. I hope the reviews that are sent will force the management to make some very big needed changes.

Room Tip: if you do go, choose the lake front rooms. The view is just spectacular at any time of year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review! We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay while you were here. While our property will be sixty years old next year, we strive to maintain a clean and inviting property. Most of our guests spend their stays with us enjoying the amenities such as the indoor and outdoor pools, sauna, spa, and beach areas. While we have not yet upgraded to flat screen TVs, we spend hundreds of thousands of dollars each year to keep our rooms updated. This past year we purchased brand new Sealy Posturepedic mattresses, Keurig K-Cup coffee makers with Green Mountain K-Cups, and deluxe stainless steel refrigerators for all of our rooms.
We are also disappointed that none of the issues listed were brought to our attention before the wedding. Our wedding coordinator was available all day, most of the time in the reception hall helping to set up the favors and place cards. She was never informed that there was an issue with the tablecloths or any other issues whatsoever. Had she been notified that the tablecloths were not acceptable she would have immediately remedied the situation. We are also sorry that the bride and groom did not get the largest room available. While I am not sure what they were promised, I do know that they were given the room that they personally reserved for their stay. Again, it saddens me that we were not informed when they got to their room that it was not as they expected because we certainly could have given them the option of staying in a different room.
Our GUARANTEED check-in time is 4pm. We routinely allow guests to check in early when rooms are ready early. As a matter of fact, on the day of this wedding, 95% of our check ins ranged from 2:55pm to 3:57pm, all earlier than our guaranteed check in time. All rooms were ready by 4pm, and anyone who arrived after 4pm was checked in immediately. On busy weekends when hundreds of guests are arriving for weddings, almost everyone requests to check-in early. With a check out time of 11am, it is simply impossible to accommodate everyone who requests an early check in. Therefore we have instituted the VIP check-in option that you mentioned. This option guarantees your room would be ready no later than 1pm, 2pm, or 3pm depending on the option chosen, and also guarantees you a free night stay if we missed the chosen deadline. For this early check in service, extra time in the room, and to place you at the front of the line ahead of everyone else, we charge a fee. The program has worked out well, and those that absolutely require an early check-in are able to get it. The other option is to reserve your room the night before the wedding to guarantee that you will not have any wait on the day of your special event.
Again, we are sorry that you were so disappointed with your stay with us. We are also disappointed that these concerns were not brought to our attention while you were here as we certainly would have gone out of our way to make sure your stay was as good as or better than you expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Margate Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Margate Resort

Address: 76 Lake Street, Lake Winnipesaukee, Laconia, NH
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Laconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Margate Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to The Margate and enjoy all the amenities expected of a first class lakefront resort and conference facility less than two hours north of Boston. Whether taking a dip in our indoor and outdoor pools, sunning on our 400 foot private sandy beach, relaxing in our whirlpool-sauna, or dining at our Gazebo Beach Bar for lunch or dinner, you are sure to find all the comforts of home.Beautifully decorated and maintained guest rooms, onsite event and dining facilities, and a skilled staff dedicated to making your stay a wonderful experience make The Margate on Lake Winnipesaukee the place to vacation in the Lakes Region.At The Margate Resort, we've gotcha covered. With 15 different room types from which to select you are sure to find accommodations that best suit your needs. All guest rooms are fully equipped with Keurig® K-Cup Coffee Makers, Green Mountain® coffee, free wireless internet, irons & ironing boards, and hairdryers. Lake and West rooms also include double-sized stainless steel mini-fridges!Choose a room in our Lake building for spectacular views of the lake and unparalleled sunsets. For convenience during inclement weather, the Lake building is connected to the amenities building by underground tunnel!For a motel style experience, choose our West building. West Beach guests enjoy quick access to our sandy beach, just steps away from your door. Many West Inland rooms have backdoors leading to our West Lawn area!Our Inn building units are generally larger than the other buildings, offer the lowest rates, and being located right next to our outdoor pool makes the Inn a great choice by most families during the summer season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Margate Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Margate Hotel Laconia
Margate Hotel Laconia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Margate Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.