We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sandwiches in New Hampshire” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jon's Roast Beef & Deli

Jon's Roast Beef & Deli
1367 Union Ave, Laconia, NH 03246-2122
603-527-9111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 69 Restaurants in Laconia
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best sandwiches in New Hampshire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I absolutely love John's roast beef and deli... I am a local and eat lunch here multiple times a week. Awesome staff and freindly service with delicious homemade soups and sandwiches.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    3
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Some great Bar B Q, Lots of choices, friendly, All good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We found this little gem by accident a few years ago, and now it is a MUST do every year during our annual visit. The pulled pork sandwich (get the large) is as good as any Bar B Q, anywhere and our friends love both the roast beef and the pastrami or smoked meat sandwiches. You do have to eat early, as they are not open late, and one reviewer complained about the traffic getting in and out of the parking lot. We have happily adjusted to both those issues. Eat a little earlier, or come for lunch and in New Hampshire, there are more courteous drivers (and maybe a few self-entitled tourists) so you shouldn't have to wait too long before someone motions you out of the parking lot. Its June . . we're on the way back again, but the "when did you visit" question does not include the accurate time of our last visit. Always JUNE visits. And a lot of them. Our friends (Franklin NH) eat here regularly because its always good. Enough said.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“what a little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Stopped by here quite by chance. I was up for the day from MA making arrangements for a function at the Margate across the street. By late afternoon we still had not eaten, so this was just there. I dont usually bother to write reviews for a sub place, but this one deserves one. Its a lot more than some basic run of the mill sub shop. The BF and I split some great deviled eggs sprinkled with warm bacon and a very nice corned beef wrap on wheat. Wish i wasnt trying to cut back because they had a bakery case full of naughty homemade dessert delights. Was so impressed I picked up the catering menu and will be using them to cater late night for my party.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
center harbor
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We have passed this small quaint deli so many times and kept saying "we need to go there sometime" Well, today was our first experience and let me tell you we will make many more trips back. Obviously they are well known for the roast beef so we both ordered a roast beef, he had the bulkie and I had the wrap. We both had the homemade barbeque sauce and provolone cheese to top it off. Wow, so tender and yummy! I also tried the maccaroni salad and he had the homemade soup......chicken pot pie. Again all a winner. Not much on atmosphere, but it is not needed here, order in or take out. Very friendly service, Yes, this was great and will be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“YUM! Good stuff, great price, nice folks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Great sandwiches, cute place, good value, nice staff. Give it a shot if you're in the area. The roast beast sandwich my wife had was great and HUGE! The pulled pork was tasty. Very friendly staff...worth a visit!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jon's Roast Beef & Deli also viewed

 

Been to Jon's Roast Beef & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jon's Roast Beef & Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.