We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room, good breakfast, accepts dogs!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Keene

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Keene to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Keene
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   175 Key Rd, Keene, NH 03431   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Morristown, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Clean room, good breakfast, accepts dogs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We needed a place in NH that would let us bring our German Shepherd Dog. Holiday Inn Express totally fit the bill. The room was clean, the sheets soft, the breakfast hot and tasty and the staff very pleasant. Behind the hotel is a large field which was great for walking the dog.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    60
    28
    6
    6
See reviews for
43
50
17
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. Everything was very clean and room was large. Very quiet. Wi-fi worked well. A/C in our room was great, kept the room very cool. Our bathroom floor had a small flood twice after showers. Other than that, no major complaints.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hi Erin,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for offering valuable feedback. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our clean and spacious accommodations and quiet location; however, we sincerely apologize for the maintenance issue you experienced with your shower and the subsequent inconvenience it may have caused. We hope you'll visit us again and give us another opportunity to provide you with a 5-star stay.

Sincerely,
Meghan Morey, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanzey, NH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I'm a Holiday Inn Rewards member, so when I booked two nights at this local hotel for my son, wife, and child from Canada, I was expecting no problems. I visited the hotel personally and arranged for a room just right for them weeks in advance. Yet when they arrived, they were given a small room with nothing for the child (I'd been promised a sleep sofa). They were told there had been a technical snafu some time earlier so all info had been lost or mixed up. Yet no one gave me a call, even though I live nearby. They had a loud and uncomfortable night and left the next day for another local hotel (which was excellent). Being a Rewards member means next to nothing, I guess, and I am very disappointed in managements performance at this hotel.

Room Tip: Call a few days before you arrive to confirm with them. Otherwise, you may be treated as my family m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for your feedback; we apologize for your disappointing experience with us. We thank you for your IHG Rewards Club loyalty and I encourage you to reach out to me directly so that we may further discuss the situation.

Sincerely,
Meghan Morey, GM
mmorey@colwenhotels. com
603.352.7616
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

You can stay here as many do because it out-prices in-town competition at $30 and $50 higher. It is nothing particularly special. Our very nice host/check-in gave us the wrong room at first, then an upgrade (late night). Like many hotels, the mattress was concave (worn in the middle) and we could hear the shower above us, but we slept fine and the big shower head was a plus. The sink counter is small for two, the location quiet and yes, hard to find--though you'll get there. There are pleasant wall photos, cookies at the desk, and the breakfast is classic H.Inn. So: acceptable. Thanks for noting if this was helpful--I hope so.

Room Tip: Hallways are a little long; ask for one closer to stairs or the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear HepAdvisor,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. It is always our goal to provide convenient and world class service to our guests. We apologize we were not able to exceed your expectations during your stay. Please be assured that these will be looked into and that your comments will be used to monitor future improvements needed.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again very soon..

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Very nice hotel-inside more appealing than out. Stayed before and it was o,k,-We listened to washer and dryers late at night and we had no hot water in the a.m.-we told the front desk and they explained they had a baseball team staying and they used all the hot water. What does this have to do with a.m. shower. Our room was $150 for the night and we were offered no discount. I would hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Stay away from washers and dryers
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear tarquinbb,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. I would also like to apologize for any inconvenience the bathroom conditions may have caused you.

Thank you again for your comments as this is very helpful to us to ensure we are able to meet our guests expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My partner & I enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Keene-a great price for a clean, friendly, and quiet hotel. Just one quibble-it was hard to find with no directions from the main road. We arrived in a rainstorm and made a few wrong turns before we found it. But other than that we enjoyed our stay. Really nice hot breakfast too with excellent coffee. We'd go back again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Tom,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for the 5-star review on TripAdvisor. We're pleased to hear that you and your partner consider our hotel to be a hidden gem in Keene and that we've earned your return patronage in the future. We value your business and look forward to hosting your next visit.

Best,
Meghan Morey, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This place looks like a cheap motel from the outside but actually is very nice inside. The rooms are modern, comfortable and clean. Our bedding was comfortable and the pullout couch was a plus. The room had a microwave and small refrigerator. Room was very quiet. Breakfast spread was nice and well stocked. The perfect overnight stop on a trip to Vermont.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to review your experience for TripAdvisor. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our modern accommodations, comfortable beds, and extensive breakfast spread. We value your business and look forward to hosting your next visit to Keene.

Best,
Meghan Morey, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Keene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Keene

Address: 175 Key Rd, Keene, NH 03431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Keene
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Keene 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new guest rooms in 2011! There are many reasons why the Holiday Inn Express Keene, NH is the favorite place for business travelers and vacationers in Keene, NH. Area businesses include National Grange Mutual, C&S Wholesale Grocers, Smith Medical, Markem, Timken, Corning Net Optix, Liberty Mutual, and Dartmouth-Hitchcock Clinic. We are located close to Keene State College, Antioch New England Graduate School, and Franklin Pierce College.Area attractions include the annual Pumpkin Festival, Mt. Monadnock, covered bridges, Colonial Theatre, Colony Mill Marketplace, and many award-winning local restaurants. Activities include skiing and tubing at Granite Gorge, hiking, biking, golfing and shopping. The Holiday Inn Express Keene, NH features 80 spacious guest rooms with everything you desire in your travel accommodations, from pet-friendly rooms to free WIFI. From the moment you enter, friendly and knowledgeable staff will remind you why you chose to Stay Smart. So whether you are in town for business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express Keene, NH is the place to be. We are Keene's finest hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Keene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Keene Hotel Keene
Holiday Inn Keene
Keene Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Keene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.