We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Featest Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Keene

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Keene to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Keene
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   175 Key Rd, Keene, NH 03431   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Bangor, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Featest Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

While taking a trip to Syracuse New York my family and I Stayed here. The rooms were very clean and spacious and the hotel was in excellent condition. I attend college in Durham and accidenteft my ID at the hotel. The manager was so kind to contact the school and inform them that I had lost my ID and sent it in the mail to them. I didn't just get my ID in the envelope but it was wrapped in a kind letter from Amy the Office Manager. This hotel is absolutely one I would stay at again because they know how to treat their guests well.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for the 5-star review on TripAdvisor. I'm happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your visit and that we were able to recover your ID for you. We're happy to help! Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hosting your next visit to Keene.

Yours in hospitality,
James Prentiss, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    60
    28
    6
    6
See reviews for
43
50
17
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saranac Lake, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

My family and I stay here a few times a year. (our eldest daughter attends school nearby)

While all of our visits have been pleasant - clean room, nice pool, great breakfast - our visit this past weekend was an example of exemplary customer service.

Our youngest daughter became ill during the night. The staff let us stay in our room until late afternoon, giving our daughter time to rest and recover before beginning a 4.5 hour car ride back home.

No additional fees, no hassle, just "how can we help."

What an example of compassion, empathy and kindness.


Kudos!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for your repeat patronage of our hotel and for the 5-star review of your most recent visit. I'm happy to hear that our staff helped to make a difficult situation a little easier for you and your family. Our number one priority is to make you feel at home when you stay with us and to make sure your needs are met. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to hosting your next visit to Keene.

Sincerely,
James Prentiss, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rville
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This hotel was not only very clean and comfortable but the entire staff at the location was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast provided at this location by Judy was FABULOUS.... good fresh hot food, great selection and a very clean seating area despite it being so busy. She is one fantastic lady to keep the breakfast cooked, filled and the area cleaned! I would definitely use this hotel again and would recommend it to others. The location is on a dead-end road, thus there really is little to no traffic or noise. Rooms were clean and comfortable. WIFI worked fantastic.

Room Tip: Hotel is two floors. We were on 2nd floor and had no noise issues or elevator waiting time issues a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Connie,

Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review your experience. I'm happy to hear that you found our hotel to be clean and comfortable and our staff to be friendly and helpful. I will pass your compliments along to the staff (especially Judy) and we look forward to hosting your next visit to Keene.

Best,
James Prentiss, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed here with my 16 year old daughter on from Feb. 27 to Feb 28. We came from out of state for my daughter to interview at a nearby boarding high school. In the morning, my daughter was getting ready to for us to leave for her interview and trying to make herself look her best. She has very long hair and was blow drying it with a too-thin round brush and "emergency" ensued when her hair became hopelessly tangled in knots around the brush. It seemed hopeless and I was going to have to cut her hair short to remove the brush and it would be a disaster, right before her interview. I went to the front desk and explained the situation and asked if I could borrow a scissor. The AMAZING woman working at the desk offered to help untangle the brush from my daughter's hair before having me resort to cutting the brush out and chopping off my daughter's hair, and she then came back to the room with me and spent a LONG time very carefully doing the tedious job of separating each hair from the brush and carefully snipping off parts of the brush. Eventually the problem was solved as the brush was removed and my daughter's long hair spared. This SAVED THE DAY and perhaps saved my daughter's future by allowing her to attend the interview on time and composed. Likewise all other staff we ran into in this hotel were incredibly nice and looking to do whatever they could to make the stay enjoyable. The room was clean and the value good in general, but totally INVALUABLE for the help we received in our situation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear 978LisaC,

Thank you for sharing about your stay with us. I am very happy to hear how well the staff treated you during your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Keene. I did hear about the situation that Amy, from our front desk, was able to assist you with. I'm glad that everything worked out well and the interview went smooth! I will be sharing your review with all of our staff on property. Amy wanted me to share with you that, "she was glad she was able to help and save the day"! Hope to see you again the next time you visit the area.

Yours in Hospitality,

James Prentiss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed here for one night this past weekend. What a pleasant surprise! The staff was super friendly/helpful, the rooms were clean and roomy enough for 4 of us (2 adults/2 children), and despite the hotel being pretty full, the room was quiet . The pool, while small, was big enough to be fun for the kids. Breakfast in the morning was the biggest surprise - the food was hot, tasty and there was a wide variety. The desk clerk even offered to get food direct from packages for one of my children, who has food allergies, since the food is served buffet style. We would definitely stay here again. Great value for the price.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. I'm happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your first stay at our hotel and that we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to hosting your next visit.

Yours in hospitality,
James Prentiss, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
167 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This hotel has been renovated since my last stay. -- It was clean and pleasant.
I have attached a photo of the rug in a corner of my room. As you can see, it is vacuumed and clean. I stay in so many hotel rooms where there is grime in the room corners or in the hallways where the rug meets the wall. This hotel was well maintained.
There were a few "cons:"
I unfortunately had a faulty heating system in my room. I could not read the screen on the wall monitor and the heat clanked. This was a big bummer.
Also, the internet was running slowly during my stay.
The exercise machines were old - one was rickety ... maybe those will be next in the round of renovations.
There were plenty of "pros" though and it was evident that the staff in this hotel are conscientious and working hard to run a good business.
The cleanliness alone showed great attention to detail.
There was plenty of towels and wash cloths.
The bed was relatively comfortable.
Also, good water pressure and hot water.
The parking lot was well lit and felt safe.
The location was good.
The front desk staff were pleasant.
There was an employee named Chyna who was busy, busy, busy taking care of everyone's needs. She should be commended. She was pleasant and professional and was running her butt off all night.
The hotel decor was nice ... I would stay here again.
: -)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Eulalia_3,

Thank you for you review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that you stay was a positive one and take all feedback very seriously. I will be sure to share your comments with our entire staff on property. I will also review with our maintenance team the short falls that you experienced with us in regards to the in-room heating and internet speed. We hope to see you again at the Holiday Inn Express Keene the next time you visit the area!

Yours in Hospitality,

James Prentiss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candiac, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This hotel was outstanding. Really nice greetings by the front desk employee with a great smile. The room was very clean the bed comfortable and our stay in the room was really nice. Easy to get to the hotel from the highway, lots of stores near by and Dicks Sporting goods not far away with some great restaurants. We were traveling to Franklin Pierce U and it was about 25minutes away. A nice drive with a few antiques shops along the way. And in the moring they had a really nice breakfast with I believe Judy taking care of everyone, a faboulas person to speak to in the morning with a friendly smile to boot!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear NewMountainBike,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with on TripAdvisor. I am glad you had a great stay and were able to enjoy the Keene area while traveling to Franklin Pierce University. I will be sure to share your comments with all of our staff on property. Judy especially will be glad to receive your feedback! Hope to see you again soon when the season is in full swing.

Yours in Hospitality,

James Prentiss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Keene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Keene

Address: 175 Key Rd, Keene, NH 03431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Keene
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Keene 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new guest rooms in 2011! There are many reasons why the Holiday Inn Express Keene, NH is the favorite place for business travelers and vacationers in Keene, NH. Area businesses include National Grange Mutual, C&S Wholesale Grocers, Smith Medical, Markem, Timken, Corning Net Optix, Liberty Mutual, and Dartmouth-Hitchcock Clinic. We are located close to Keene State College, Antioch New England Graduate School, and Franklin Pierce College.Area attractions include the annual Pumpkin Festival, Mt. Monadnock, covered bridges, Colonial Theatre, Colony Mill Marketplace, and many award-winning local restaurants. Activities include skiing and tubing at Granite Gorge, hiking, biking, golfing and shopping. The Holiday Inn Express Keene, NH features 80 spacious guest rooms with everything you desire in your travel accommodations, from pet-friendly rooms to free WIFI. From the moment you enter, friendly and knowledgeable staff will remind you why you chose to Stay Smart. So whether you are in town for business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express Keene, NH is the place to be. We are Keene's finest hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Keene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Keene Hotel Keene
Holiday Inn Keene
Keene Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Keene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.