We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, mediocre hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Keene

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Keene to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Keene
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   175 Key Rd, Keene, NH 03431   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice staff, mediocre hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

The HI Express is located in a run down industrial side street a few minutes from charming foentown Keene. The hotel is being renovated, and that means some things just look awful, but will eventually be nice. For example, the old carpeting, the pulled up tiles in front of the elevator. The room had a funny odor, the safety lock had been broken off, ac was loud, beds are soft and lumpy as are the pillows. Staff is kind and pleasant and free wifi is nice. Worst night's sleep I have ever had at a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Rundeep,

I am disappointed to hear about your stay with us and the challanges that you faced. Our renovations have since been completed and we are pleased that our guests are enjoying all the amenities of the hotel. I know that we are much better than how your review sounds. Please feel free to reach out to my personally at jprentiss@colwenhotels.com or at 603-352-7616. Looking forward to speaking with you.

Yours in Hospitality,

James Prentiss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    60
    28
    6
    6
See reviews for
43
50
17
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kentfield, CA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed for two nights, two rooms: king and double-double, connecting, Friendly and helpful staff – they seemed to suffer from the construction that was going on to upgrade the public areas.

Once finished the place will look nice and will be good value if prices do not creep up - but will have major drawbacks from the basic poor quality of the bulding and resulting noise from neighboring rooms

The rooms were comfortable. Fridge was too loud.
Wifi was free, reliable and fast – rare in any grade of hotel these days.

We moved rooms after the first night – from ground floor to second floor – as the noise from guests walking above us was unbearable and made for a very short night.
The second floor was better – but there was still noise from the neighboring rooms – creaking floors and bathroom/water noise.

Room Tip: stay only in top floor and ask for end of hall (as long as it is not by ice machine!) to minimize no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear newbay415,

Thank you for your comments. I am glad that you found our staff helpfull and accomodating. With our renovations set to be completed by the end of this week, we are pleased that our guests can experience brand new amenities while on property. I hope to see you again next time you visit the Keene NH area, and if you have any further questions or comments please do not hesitate to call me at 603-352-7616 or email at jprentiss@colwenhotels.com.

Yours in Hospitality,

James Prentiss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The rooms are nice and cosy, the place is quite and relaxing. And you get the standard package that you would expect. No complaints about the stay here. The breakfast is all right. They had some minor renovation work going on but that did not really affect the stay there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Jacob J,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your stay with us on TripAdvisor. I am glad to hear that your accomodation was so pleasant, even in the middle of some renovation work. Our staff will be delighted to hear about your experience. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Yours in Hospitality,

James Prentiss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Arrived at the hotel well before check in however they accommodated an early check in which is always appreciated. Very friendly front desk associate who was there when I checked in and when I checked out! She informed me of some renovations they were undergoing in the lobby area and by the pool. Pool was closed during this time, but I didn't plan on swimming anyways. She placed me away from the construction and slept great. Nice rooms and very clean. Our room had a mini fridge which we used and the AC unit worked great. I felt very safe here, enjoyed the rooms and the service I received and will stay here again if I return to Keene!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Micka7,

We thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us! I am encouraged to hear how wonderful your stay was. I will be passing along your kinds words with all of our staff on property. We can't wait for you to come and stay with us again next time you visit the Keene area.

Yours in Hospitality,

James Prentiss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. lauderdale
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The location is a bit hard to find but the hotel is near the intersection of major roads. Staff is very helpful and we found the facility clean and in very good condition. There is some construction in progress (June 2013) but that activity does not interefe with guests needs. The breakfast buffet is very good; better than expected.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear paul t,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you had an enjoyable time while staying with us while our renovations are being finished. Our staff works very hard and it is nice when they are complimented! I will be sure to share your kind words with everyone on property. We hope to see you again soon.

Yours in Hospitality,

James Prentiss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

The pool was closed I found out after I arrived. No hot tub no pool no fotness center and i couldnt find s buisness center either.The hallways looked dumpy. There is plywood attached to walls. The outside looked sketchy. The room looked good period. I was very unhappy upon arrival!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear cadger68,

Thank you for your comments. As stated in your review we are in the stages of some major renovation to our property. As part of our renovation, the hotel pool had to be closed for construction to the pool deck. The fitness room is also currently closed for updates and improvements. Our business center and breakfast area are being worked on, but are still available for use. We pride ourselves at the Holiday Inn Express Keene on excellent service, and do apologize about this challange that you experienced during your stay. I hope that once these renovations are completed you will come back and stay with us again when visting the Keene, NH area. If you have any further questions or comments please do not hesitate to email me at jprentiss@colwenhotels.com or call me at 603-352-7616.

Yours in Hospitality,

James Prentiss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Amy was so helpful.! I had chosen Luca's as a restaurant to go to for the night. She confirmed. Luca's was a fabulous restaurant. Unfortunately, I lost a hearing aid, I think at Luca's. Luca's is closed on the day I was heading back home. Amy had called and left a message for Lucas, promised she'd follow up the next day to see if someone had found the hearing aid, and said, if they had found it, she would make sure it got back to me... That's over and above! Thank you Amy. You do a great job at a very nice Holiday Inn express!

Room Tip: Tell Amy what you're looking for in a room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Keene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Keene

Address: 175 Key Rd, Keene, NH 03431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Keene
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Keene 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new guest rooms in 2011! There are many reasons why the Holiday Inn Express Keene, NH is the favorite place for business travelers and vacationers in Keene, NH. Area businesses include National Grange Mutual, C&S Wholesale Grocers, Smith Medical, Markem, Timken, Corning Net Optix, Liberty Mutual, and Dartmouth-Hitchcock Clinic. We are located close to Keene State College, Antioch New England Graduate School, and Franklin Pierce College.Area attractions include the annual Pumpkin Festival, Mt. Monadnock, covered bridges, Colonial Theatre, Colony Mill Marketplace, and many award-winning local restaurants. Activities include skiing and tubing at Granite Gorge, hiking, biking, golfing and shopping. The Holiday Inn Express Keene, NH features 80 spacious guest rooms with everything you desire in your travel accommodations, from pet-friendly rooms to free WIFI. From the moment you enter, friendly and knowledgeable staff will remind you why you chose to Stay Smart. So whether you are in town for business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express Keene, NH is the place to be. We are Keene's finest hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Keene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Keene Hotel Keene
Holiday Inn Keene
Keene Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Keene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.