We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Keene

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Keene to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Keene
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   175 Key Rd, Keene, NH 03431   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Keene
owego, new york
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2008

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Keene, NH on our
way to Maine. We didn't have a reservation and were checking in after 10:00 p.m. The front desk staff couldn't have been nicer.
Very professional and very accommodating. The beds were very comfortable, the bathrooms were updated and spotless. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — The bedding was comfortable
  • Disliked — A little bit difficult to find from the highway.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    58
    27
    5
    4
See reviews for
41
45
17
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gorham, Maine
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2007

I had to be in Keene for a couple of days for business and stayed here just one night. Can't complain about anything, everything was as expected, from the friendly people at the counter during check-in to the nice morning breakfast. The internet access was reliable, which is important to me. Will stay here again on future business trips.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

Had a wonderful experience staying at the Holiday Inn Express in Keene, NH! The room was clean, the beds and pillows were super comfortable, and it just suited wonderfully. I would definitely stay there again. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Liked — The beds and pillows!
  • Disliked — Finding it...
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, BC
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2006

For an area replete with quainter places, I was at first disappointed that I had to stay at a Holiday Inn - but the foliage was in full color and nothing else was available. HOWEVER, these folks are extremely helpful and hospitable. The free breakfast of biscuits and gravy with sausage patty, egg, fresh fruit and a whole lot else is served well and early (6 a.m. start even on Sunday). The location is blah but that ends up not mattering unless you seek a romantic getaway in which case, you wouldn't be thinking Holiday Inn, eh? Oh yes, there's free high speed internet and local calls. All in all much better than I'd anticipated.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Location down a dreary shopping center row.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ipswich, New Hampshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2006

My husband and I stayed June 9 & 10th on visit to family...Let me preface this by saving we got a good deal, $99 a night (managers special advertised only on the hotels website -- ) I would not have paid the ridiculous regular rate of $169 to stay here. The hotel was clean, seemed well organized, check in was efficient and friendly. The free breakfast was adequate and constantly being replenished and checked on by a very attentive staff member. The rooms have either one queen or two doubles, a bit odd in this day and age, since most places have the option of two queens or one king. I suggest they get some king beds. We stayed in a double room on the second floor, #242. The room was thoroughly cleaned and fresh, housekeeper is definitely up to speed here. I really appreciated the free wireless internet access, but if you don't bring your laptop, the lobby has a nice and easily accessible computer to use. The room have recently been updated to the standard hotel-like decor. The bathroom is small, the toilet and tub/shower in one room, the granite counter top sink near the exit door. The indoor pool was nice and warm, and the spa was a nice relaxer at the end of the day...it just so happens that later at night, there were no towels left. I also suggest that the pool be open later as the booklet in the room states 11pm, but the pool closed down each night at 10pm. All in all, good place to stay if you have other activities planned for the area, as with this type of hotel, its not there is entertain you, its there to provide a good place to lay your head.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2006

This hotel is, at best, adequate. There is nothing fancy about it, and it is probably a bit overpriced, although, other hotels in Keene are priced about the same. The lobby and hallways are nice and clean, and my room was pretty clean as well. However, the coffee pot was far from clean, and there was quite a bit of trash behind the dresser—which was visible from the doorway—to me this shows that the cleaning staff has a rather perfunctory attitude and a lack of attention to detail. The bedding, carpet, bathroom, et cetera, were very clean though.

The staff was friendly, especially at check-in—the receptionist had just gotten engaged earlier that day, so she was quite happy. The location is very convenient, if you have a car, there is really not much to walk to around the hotel. However, it is a very short drive to shopping and restaurants. The Colony Mill Marketplace is very easy to get to from the hotel, as is Central Square.

The downside: noise and temperature! The walls are very thin so plan on hearing every word your neighbors speak, and assume that someone is listing to everything you say too. Secondly, the thermostat was very difficult to get set. It was snowing quite a bit the two nights I stayed here, thus it was very cold. I had to constantly adjust the thermostat to keep comfortable, and it was usually too hot, or too cold, rarely just right. But none of these downsides are reason enough to keep me from staying here in the future.

On the upside, my room was very adequate for my needs, and served me well. And when it snows 18 inches and you’re stuck in your room for several hours, the free WIFI Internet and ample cable TV lineup help to pass the time.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2005

I stayed here on business. The front desk staff that was professional and courteous. I had only three problems while I was here my electronic key kept failing and the hotel is over priced. I paid 119.00 with AAA discount but I kept hearing the clerk quote 164 on the phone to others that is ridicules. I was in a room one the first floor 103 and it was right next to the stairwell and side entrance. Very noisy. I did enjoy the hot breakfast it was nice. The front desk clerk recommended that the best western was better.

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Keene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Keene

Address: 175 Key Rd, Keene, NH 03431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Keene
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Keene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Keene 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new guest rooms in 2011! There are many reasons why the Holiday Inn Express Keene, NH is the favorite place for business travelers and vacationers in Keene, NH. Area businesses include National Grange Mutual, C&S Wholesale Grocers, Smith Medical, Markem, Timken, Corning Net Optix, Liberty Mutual, and Dartmouth-Hitchcock Clinic. We are located close to Keene State College, Antioch New England Graduate School, and Franklin Pierce College.Area attractions include the annual Pumpkin Festival, Mt. Monadnock, covered bridges, Colonial Theatre, Colony Mill Marketplace, and many award-winning local restaurants. Activities include skiing and tubing at Granite Gorge, hiking, biking, golfing and shopping. The Holiday Inn Express Keene, NH features 80 spacious guest rooms with everything you desire in your travel accommodations, from pet-friendly rooms to free WIFI. From the moment you enter, friendly and knowledgeable staff will remind you why you chose to Stay Smart. So whether you are in town for business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express Keene, NH is the place to be. We are Keene's finest hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Keene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Keene Hotel Keene
Holiday Inn Keene
Keene Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Keene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;