We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Winchester St, Keene, NH 03431   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Keene
South Bend, Indiana
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

The Best Western Sovereign Inn in Keene, NH is a great place to stay. The room was large, clean and comfortable with a refrigerator and microwave. The rate was reasonable for the area, especially for such a lovely place. The helpful staff was very apologetic when we checked in, as the restaurant had just closed for renovation this fall (2010). This will be an inconvenience, but when the remodeling is complete it will make the hotel even better!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    80
    42
    26
    17
See reviews for
82
74
16
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
germany
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

i have been in the bw keene for one night on the way from boston to green mountains. we arrived late and we are tired. independend from the point that i was clearly identified as a bw diamond member we got a room with a 20/25 years old ac, loud, mouldy. additionally the cobwebbed edges ... sorry but this was not what we expect paying close to 100$.

the person at the front desk told us, that nobody was claiming about the loud ac etc., but gave us immediately a new room, with new ac.

the breakfast in the morning was ok, but nothing more.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

Stayed one night enroute to Maine. The room was extremely clean, the bed very comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful. Hotel was decorated very nicely. You did not get that "yuck" feeling like in some places. The ONLY two things I could say negatively was that they needed to clean some of the big atria type windows up high in the lobby - they looked in need of some Windex, AND the signs marking the way in to the hotel were not so clear - you have to kind of wind through other businesses parking lots to get to the hotel. But neither of those things had any direct impact on our stay, and I would DEFINITELY stay here again and would DEFINITELY recommend this place to others. Another plus, is that they had some EXTREMELY good looking young men at the front desk that day <3 ha ha. But seriously, stay here with no worries!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

I went with this hotel because the hotel we used in the past would not give us the rate we had two years ago. Our first impression was not good because the outside looked old with hints of ongoing improvements, but given that the BW came up as the number one hotel I thought it was a safe choice. The first thing we noticed was extremely dirty windows on the doors and the smell of tobacco and carpet fresh. The lobby area was nice but the entire front glass was (again) filthy. There are new carpets and furniture so my impression is that they are trying. We got our keys and headed to the 2nd floor which was un-air conditioned and stagnant with again a heavy cigarette and yes, carpet fresh smell. Our room was nice but much of the same. The beds are extremely comfortable, bathrooms were very small but updated. . Day2: noticed the smell improving, it helped to keep the sliding glass door to the outside deck open all night. Breakfast bar was very good, but the staff appeared to be on edge the entire week. They serve coffee and juice and clear the tables. Day3: pool filter broken, coffee not out until 6:30 or so. In closing for our $$$ we will look elsewhere or spend the extra money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

Spent a few days in Keene on business. Best Western was in a great location with easy access to restaurants, movie theater etc. Clean rooms and very friendly staff

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

I have to make a caveat in that I did not book nor research this hotel before going there.

This hotel was more than I expected. The room was very clean and well made. We had a few ants in the bathroom, but it is to be expected since we had a patio door on the first floor. The fitness center was a little to be desired, but the pool seemed nice (even though I didn't swim in it. It has a good business center with free printing. The breakfast was decent and included eggs, sausage, cereal, french toast, potatoes, and other goodies. The beds were comfy but the comforters were very noisy.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enfield, ct.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

spent 3 nights here with a friend and the only negative thing i can say is i was disappointed that the restraunt was not a real restraunt....the food was great though...the room was everything you could ask for...the breakfasts were great....the bar was small but nice....i would definitely stay here again if given the chance....

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel

Address: 401 Winchester St, Keene, NH 03431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Keene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currantly under renovation for lobby and breakfast area..Till april 30.2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Keene
Keene Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.