We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great! ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Winchester St, Keene, NH 03431   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Biloxi, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Just great! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Stayed here while passing through. Called ahead and reserved a room. Checking in was quick and painless. The front desk guy was really nice. This hotel is huge! Our room was huge! The price was incredible! A great value.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    80
    42
    26
    17
See reviews for
82
74
16
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We came back to the Best Western Keene this year when visiting friends because of the great service we had last year. This would have been a five star review but I felt I had to deduct a star for two reasons.

One was the construction in the lobby area which greeted us on check in Friday afternoon. We were not told about it when we made the reservations and it did not make a good first impression. However that being said, we were told at check in that we were placed at the part of the hotel furthest from it. It also had a separate entrance which meant we didn't have to go through the lobby to get to our room. They also didn't do any renovation work during the weekend. All of which helped immensely, so we barely noticed it. For what it is worth, we were told it should be done by next month.

Other issue was internet access. We had problems getting on the free wi-fi on three different devices the first night we were there. Front desk gave us a free 1-800 number to call, tech tried for half hour and was baffled. Then suddenly, devices had internet access even though we did nothing diifferently to access it. We had issues briefly once or twice more during our stay but they resolved quickly on their own. No clue what the issue could have been, too many devices trying to access and too much traffic on the server maybe.

Those were the only minor downsides of our stay, which the staff made every effort to resolve. The positives definitely outweighed those minor issues. Staff was super friendly. Room was clean and neat, we loved the fact there was both a fridge and microwave in the room. Slept soundly both nights we were there. Free breakfast was included and more than adequate- scrambled eggs, sausage, home fries, cereal, coffee, juices, toast, danish, muffins. We checked out the pub late one night when, we got in, great live music, good drink prices, and best of all, they still serve food (snacks menu) after 10pm! Definitely try the margherita pizza, kobe sliders and Philly cheese steak egg rolls!

Location is a short drive from several restaurants (definitely recommend JimEddie's nearby!), supermarket, Walmart, major stores, etc. If you find you need something you will probably find it within a 5 minute drive, Main Street is about 10 minutes away. Centrally located to everything you might need or want. We'll definitely stay here again on our next visit!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for the terrific review. As you mentioned our location is extremely convenient to many area attractions. We are looking forward to your return visit, see you then !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our way back to Boston and, after staying in a different budget chain elsewhere, were relieved to return to BW. As usual the room are clean and a good size, the beds comfy and the staff welcoming. They were having some building work down at the front of the hotel so the office had already moved our room to one further away so we wouldn't be bothered with the noise. Very pleased.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BROWNFIELD, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

the location was under construction. one of our rooms smelled horrible. The price was ridiculous due to it be graduation. But i would think it a hotel was under this much construction they would take that into consideration before charging such an over priced amount for what they were offering. I was truly disappointed in Best Western this time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. At Best Western we strive every day to provide a superior customer experience. I am sorry we weren't able to do that for you. We will use the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we provide a better experience in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Last weekend we spent a night at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel in Keene, NH because of a basketball tournament that our son participated in. For us it was a rare occasion to travel all together so we approached this as our mini vacation. We booked this hotel expecting to experience a nice little brake away from home.

To our surprise, on arrival we found out that the hotel was a construction site. A lot of noise at the entrance, unfinished dry walls all over the lobby. Not a pleasant feeling. The corridors to the room were in a remodeling state. "At least our room will be a paradise" I wished. Our room was next to several very noisy venting machines and next to the hotel laundry rooms. Outside our room the construction noises were so loud that we had to leave after a few minutes. At least we had to catch the game. During the night a number of loud noises woke me up. I thought that there was a fight going on in the corridor. In the morning I realized it was the washing machines.

The room was clean and spacious. However, there was this "wall click" tic-toc sound coming from one of the walls that you could hear it through the night. In the morning I woke up early was always. I took my book and headed towards some sitting are at the lobby. What was I thinking? Nowhere to sit at the lobby. Back to the room. Reading in the dark not to wake up the others. And talking about dark, I also had to be in the dark at the bathroom because the exhaust was so loud that would wake everybody up.

The breakfast was ok. I did not particularly like the plastic cutlery and paper plates but my wife said that I was whining too much. By the way, the advertised on-site gym was closed because of the construction.

So there you have it. A $60 offering that costed us $200. And at checkout I was not even asked if "everything was ok". I guess they knew the answer already.

Room Tip: Stay away from Room 129
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We apologize for any inconvenience our renovations may have caused you. We are currently updating our lobby, and breakfast area. We are extremely disappointed that you were not 100% satisfied with your past stay and hope you give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The deluxe queen hotel room was clean and roomy. The furniture in the sitting area was uncomfortable. The breakfast did not provide many options and was of poor quality. Best Western had a promotion (book 2 separate stays and get $50 off next stay) and when I asked the checkout person to register me for the promotion, she asked if I planned to book a room by a certain date. I expect an employee to just register me as I asked.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We thank you for choosing our hotel on your last visit. We apologize for not exceeding your expectations with our Full Hot Breakfast, which includes not only a continental breakfast, but scrambled eggs, pancakes, breakfast meats and a variety of other options. We hope to see you again soon so we can exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed here on our way to Maine with our dog. The hotel is older but nice. Beds are comfortable and lots of pillows. You get a microwave and fridge in the room. There are lots of restaurants in Keene to choose from.

Room Tip: We usually stay in a first floor room around the back which has a sliding glass door, which makes ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review. We are glad we could accommodate you and your dog. We welcome guests with pets because we understand how hard it can be to leave members of your family behind for any occasion. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel

Address: 401 Winchester St, Keene, NH 03431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Keene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currantly under renovation for lobby and breakfast area..Till april 30.2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Keene
Keene Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.