We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Winchester St, Keene, NH 03431   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Charlestownm Nh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thank you”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay. First time we've ever been charged for "incidentals" though. We did not have any room service, only there overnight. Loved "Waxy's". Room was very nice, shower Sparkled! The location is perfect for our weekend get-aways.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review. We are excited to hear you enjoyed your past stay. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    80
    42
    26
    17
See reviews for
82
74
16
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Keene, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I have stayed twice at the Best Western Plus in Keene NH in the last three months. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was clean and the breakfast was hot with many choices. I will return to this hotel the next time I am in Keene.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. We always love to read our about guests past stays. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

In October 2013 my wife and stayed in room number 140, a disabled accessible room on the ground floor. We paid £53 / $87.

The receptionist was welcoming and recommended a local restaurant that we later had a good meal at. We were advised to park further up the car park where there was an entrance closer to our room. However, there was only disabled parking bay at this location and that was taken upon our return later on.

The room was of average size but did appear cluttered with furniture, making it difficult for my wife to manoeuvre her wheelchair. Perhaps if it had a queen bed instead of a king there would have been a bit more room. The room was clean and bright though and had the amenities you would expect in a Best Western hotel; fridge, microwave, coffee maker, HD TV and decent WiFi. The bed was very comfortable and was the correct height for my wife. The A/C unit was very efficient.

The bathroom was a very good size and the roll-in shower had a large and sturdy pull down seat. There were plenty of towels. The toilet had a really strong flush too - very handy after a large meal!

Unfortunately, a big negative point for this room was that the hotel laundry was next door and the tumble dryers were running all night long. They weren't excessively noisy but the hum was loud enough to prevent me from getting a good night's sleep.

The breakfast room was busy and would have been difficult for a wheelchair to get around; luckily there were tables outside that were more accessible. The food was decent enough but not fantastic; there was plenty of choice. The coffee wasn't up to much though.

If we were in the area again we would likely stay at this hotel again but I would request that we were not placed next to the laundry.

Room Tip: If you need a disabled accessible room refuse number 140 unless you are a heavy sleeper; it's ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are extremely disappointed that you were not 100% satisfied with your past stay and hope you give us another chance in the future. We hope to see you soon thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

2 Lamps in room and clock radio did not work probably due to not being plugged in, but outlets were behind bed or unknown. Hole in top sheet and queen bed appeared to be a California queen (i.e. not as wide as regular queen). Tip jars and envelopes on 12" stands stating "thank you for your appreciation" on every table in the breakfast room. Never seen that in any other free, self serve breakfast. Quality of food not that great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion on TripAdvisor. We are very sorry you were not 100% satisfied with your previous visit. We hope on your next visit to Keene you give us another chance, so we can give you an excellent hotel experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VERMONT
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Extremely clean, roomy and pleasant. I was at hotel for a conference and found it very accommodating for lodging as well as conference purposes. Would recommend for comfort and convenience. Seems to be new or newly renovated?

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Than you for the fantastic review. We have all the amenities to accommodate family's or business travelers. As you mentioned we can also accommodate business meetings and large gatherings for any occasion. We hope to see you soon, thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Perfect place to stay for shopping, dining or relaxing. The warm swimming pool is really apreciate. All staff very helpfull. No problem to park the car and live entertainment at the Pub beside. Not far from Massachussett or Vemont. Breakfast is amazing with lots of choices Internet is fast and easy to connect, 24/24 coffee at the reception

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thanks for the great review. We are excited to hear you took advantage of our convenient location. As you mentioned we are just a short drive to all the area attractions. We hope you come again soon. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Our check in was great. At about 7:00 PM we noticed that the heat was not working. We called the front desk and someone was at the room within 5 minutes. They had no success in getting the heat fixed. They left saying that we would get a call in a few minutes. In about 5 minutes they called and said they would change our room to one down the hall. They sent someone to with the keys and to help us move. He apologized for the inconvenience and.we were moved to a room where everything worked. When we checked out, the staff again apologized for the problem and they took 10% off of the bill. Great service all around.

We also noted that the breakfast was better than you get at other places we stayed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for the great review. As you mentioned our staff takes pride in doing their best for every guest to ensure a great stay. We hope to see you again soon, thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel

Address: 401 Winchester St, Keene, NH 03431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Keene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currantly under renovation for lobby and breakfast area..Till april 30.2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Keene
Keene Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.