We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Winchester St, Keene, NH 03431   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Big Bear Lake, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Value, Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I had an appointment in Hancock, NH the evening after arriving into Manchester on a red-eye flight from CA. I stopped by the hotel early and told the front desk that I just arrived. They went out of their way to get our room ready so that we could check in early (even though check-in isn't until 3pm). Now that's customer service! We had a great night's sleep, like before. I also used the fitness center the next morning, before breakfast, and felt great! The breakfast was excellent, so if you went away hungry, it's your fault! This hotel is definitely my go-to place when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Great review thanks! We are glad you chose us on your cross country visit. As you mentioned the customer service we offer is second to none. We hope you had a good trip to New England. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    80
    42
    26
    17
See reviews for
82
74
16
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Heredia, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Actually, my mother and sister stayed there recently for two nights. I joined them for breakfast and dinner there and spent time in their rooms.

This is a very large place - it's been added on to several times over the years that I have known it. Still, it is clean and efficiently run. Everybody is very friendly and helpful. I did not get in the pool, but it looks lovely. Parking is ample and the location is easy to find and convenient from any direction.

Breakfast is included with the room and was surprisingly good. OK, it wasn't cooked to order, but was an entirely acceptable buffet to start the day. There was plenty of coffee, scrambled eggs, sausage patties, french toast, cereal. toast, etc.

The rooms were very clean and well appointed and had a small frig, microwave and coffee maker.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for the review. As you mentioned we are constantly updating our property. We recently just finished a full renovation of our indoor heated pool. We love to hear from families that enjoyed their stay with us. Hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

-and every time I stop in here I am treated like I am at home. Excellent breakfast, helpful staff. Just really nice accommodations. Pool and health room, this place has it all and Waxy's the on premise restaurant is a little piece of heaven. Great food and drink. I can't wait to go back. Thank you Best Western to make living on the road a bit easier to take.

Room Tip: I love the rooms overlooking the quad- quiet and pleasant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTBESTWESTERN, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you, we always love to hear the voice of our loyal customers. With all the amenities we offer we can accommodate guests for whatever reason of travel. From family vacations to business travelers like yourself we go above and beyond to accommodate every guest. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip, thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Although off the beaten track this hotel offers quite the "bang for the buck" with spacious rooms, very comfy beds, clean quality linens (towels were thin) and an excellent hot breakfast. Great value!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thanks for the fantastic review. As you mentioned we are the best value in town. Each morning we offer a complimentary full hot breakfast buffet. We are looking forward to your return, see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Girardeau
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Clean, bed good but our room had other problems. Short shower curtain, bathroom door would not close tightly and be ready to wait, wait and wait some more for hot water. The internet service was very slow.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAMLESH P, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We apologize for not meeting your expectations, we settle for nothing less than 100% satisfaction at the Best Western Plus of Keene. We hope you try us again so we can prove to you we are the premier hotel in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a great hotel! Relaxed atmosphere, yet very well presented. The pool is great with lots of seating and open until 10 pm and opens at 6 am. The Irish pub/restaurant has excellent food and entertainment on Friday and Saturday nights. Great fun! It is close to all the shopping in Keene also. The hot breakfast varies each morning also,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAMLESH P, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review. We are glad you enjoyed our newly renovated, indoor, heated pool. We look forward to seeing your whole family again soon. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a clean, pleasant hotel that I definitely would stay at again. The staff is very friendly, the hotel is quiet and very close to central Keene and the major highways. The breakfast is a standard Best Western breakfast, plenty of choices including hot food. The room was immaculate. I really had no problems with this place but it could use a revamp. It appears to be very popular and very busy and I think that leads to the minor issues I will list. One, the carpet at the entrance to our room was a bit frayed. Two, there were several areas of the wallpaper in the bathroom where it was peeling. Three, there was some discoloration, really minor but it was there, on the tub. Note well that none of these would prevent me from staying there again but I mention them for the sake of completeness.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KAMLESH P, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. Our staff always loves to hear when their hard work and dedication is appreciated. Our housekeeping staffs training exceeds industry standards, and their hard work and knowledge shows when you enter the immaculate hotel. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel

Address: 401 Winchester St, Keene, NH 03431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Keene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currantly under renovation for lobby and breakfast area..Till april 30.2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Keene
Keene Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.