We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reliable place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Winchester St, Keene, NH 03431   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A reliable place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Clean, safe, good hospitality. This is a convenient and predictable place to stay in Keene, NH. Distance to food is reasonable. Service was friendly. Rooms were clean. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if I were in Keene.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your past stay. We pride ourselves on being reliably consistent so every stay meets the needs of our guests. We appreciate your bussiness and look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    80
    42
    26
    17
See reviews for
82
74
16
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New London, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

A friend and I recently spent four nights at this establishment. Although we had previously stayed at the Keene Marriott Courtyard, we had a somewhat less than satisfactory experience there. The combination of price, facilities and the fact that this is a pet friendly hotel prompted us to try this hotel, and we were very pleasantly surprised. The experience started when I was having some difficulty booking online as this hotel has special "pet designated" rooms and I couldn't locate a spot on the online booking form to indicate we would be bringing a pet. So I e called the hotel directly, and the very polite gentleman who answered the phone was more than happy to handle the booking details as well as give me the best "internet rate." Upon arrival we were greeted warmly by the front desk clerk, and given a very convenient room close to a rear exit door (Important for those late evening dog walks..)
The room itself was clean and very comfortable, especially the beds and bedding and the extra deep bathtub. Beyond that, the hotel has a decent fitness center and an excellent pool suitable for lap swimming (as opposed to the "splash pools" one finds in most hotels at this price point. Throughout our stay all employees were uniformly polite and helpful, from the housekeeping staff who accommodated a mid afternoon room cleaning request to the front desk person (Barbara...?) who went out of her way to find us extra bottles of water and packets of tea. All in all an excellent experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review. The staff always loves to hear when a guests appreeciates all thier hard work. As you mentioned we are the best value in town, and can accomadate all family members, even the furry ones. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed one night there, and were very satisfied. Easy check-in and great service. It was during the Fall, and they totally decorated the lobby with Halloween decorations, which we loved! The breakfast was good, as always. The location was great, since I had various things to do around the area. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for the terrific review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your past stay at our hotel. Our team of staff goes above and beyond to meet each of guests individual needs. We also provide an extensive complimentary Full Hot Breakfast each morning. We are looking forward to your next stay. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dracut, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here one night to attend an event at the college.
Check-In:
Easy and quick. Seemed much faster than other hotels, only signed one paper and wre handed room keys.
Room:
Just OK. Bath seemed pretty worn but was functional. Couch was old and a little uncomfortable.
Bed was comfortable (we had a king). TV was a flat screen (had to mention this as the website shows the old tube TVs). One funny thing-the TV could only go to 50% volume, even when turning it up using the TV buttons. Some surfaces were dusty.
We did not go to Waxy's, but it seems prety popular. We asked for a room far from the bar and found we heard nothing from the bar.
Breakfast:
Pretty good. We had scrambled eggs, sausage, hash browns, and french toast. Bread, muffins, cereals, fruits and bagels avalable, and a pancake maker. A few juices and coffee. For the price (free) it is a good breakfast. And a microwave is available if you need to warm up something'
Gym:
We didnt use this bit did check it out. Pretty basic, and only OK if you are alone. One of each-(bike, treadmill, elliptical) and a universal station.
Location:
Close to the college, only a few minute drive. But even in good weather I wouldn't walk, you need to cross a major road at a rotary. Not safe.

Overall I was very satisfied with the hotel due to the price (<$90 per night). Four stars for a great value. Taking price out of the discussion this is a 2.5 star property.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bar. It is at one end of the hotel too much of a burden for them to acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such an honest review. As you mentioned we offer the best value in town. All of our guest rooms have LCD TV's and a Full Hot Breakfast Buffet included every morning. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Keene.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed here on my way from an event in Peterborough to relatives in Vermont. I found the room comfortable and quiet. There was a mini fridge, microwave, and coffeemaker in addition to the complimentary breakfast which I didn't take advantage of. The staff was friendly and helpful upon my late arrival. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write on TripAdvisor, we appreciate your wonderful review. All the rooms include a refrigerator and microwave to make it a little easier to be away from home.A Full Hot Breakfast Buffet is also provided each morning to start the day off right. Thanks again , see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

A friendly welcome after a long drive, made us feel special. We got a room on the ground floor, which was nice. Had a nice view on the patio. The Irish pub is the best!! Very nice food and also very convenient that you can have a few beers and walk back to your room. Staff was very helpful and advised me to walk around in the towncenter of Keene, a nice small town and nice shops.
We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for choosing Best Western Plus on your recent visit to Keene. We are delighted you took full advantage of our on-site restaurant and lounge Waxy O' Connors. Our convenient location is located right off the highway, and less than a mile to downtown, and Keene State College. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel

Address: 401 Winchester St, Keene, NH 03431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Keene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currantly under renovation for lobby and breakfast area..Till april 30.2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Keene
Keene Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.