We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophistication with Some Smudges” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lane Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Lane Hotel to your Saves list
The Lane Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Main Street, Keene, NH 03431   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Mohawk Valley
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Sophistication with Some Smudges”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Lane is a boutique hotel that we found to be immaculate with a clean, sophisticated ambiance. Staff very polished, helpful, and professional. So, why not excellent? Well, a few things.
(1) Wife thought that a shower cap for the ladies should be an automatic part of bath items not a matter of calling down to the desk on a Sunday evening.
(2) Combination heater/air conditioner simply did not work Chilly all night. No instructions on the unit and settings of 73+ simply did nothing. Management says repair man working on the units.
(3) One lamp wouldn't light. Thought bulb was out. No, replacement didn't help. Maybe switch with another lamp that did work. No, that wasn't it. Finally traced problem to a defective lower outlet of a duplex. Unusual occurence. Why didn't anyone else ever mention this? Management says they will make note of the problem.
(4) Finally, the Lane does mention that parking is in a garage behind the hotel. What is not said is that the garage is a block behind the hotel with a flight of concrete steps (no elevator) that must be managed. This is not a hotel for the disabled since hallways are narrow and there are occasional interior steps.
If you are agile, on a honeymoon or special trip then the Lane is a wonderful place considering its charming location. But, be careful if you are elderly or otherwise physically challenged.

Room Tip: Pack lightly. Rooms are a distance from your vehicle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAB, General Manager at The Lane Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Old_Tyme_Farmer,

Thank you for your review, first I am very happy to hear that you found the hotel to be immaculate, clean, with a sophisticated ambiance….. just what we love to hear. I am sorry you could not give us an ‘excellent rating’ and I appreciate your feedback in regards to areas that we could improve. Ultimately our goal is to continue improving and valuable feedback such as yours is always welcome. As far as our parking is concerned, I do understand that this is a short walk from the back of the property and that access to the upper deck is not the most convenient. At the same time I feel we are lucky to have our own dedicated parking while being located in the heart of downtown and we are always more than happy to offer assistance to anyone who may need some extra help. Again thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely

Alex Bates
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    50
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
37
62
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hadley, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Can't say enough about this hotel. Immaculate rooms, great location for walking through the village and to restaurants, shops. Rooms have been recently renovated and are roomy and comfortable, beds and pillow great! We were in a corner room on the 3rd floor and it was roomy and bright. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you don't want street noise, ask for a room off the main street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAB, General Manager at The Lane Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Srobins12

Thank you so much for the rave review! We very much look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely

Alex Bates
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just stayed the weekend and loved the hotel. Was in Keene for the C Demar Marathon (which I also loved). Wife and I were in an upstairs king, interior view (requested a quiet room, which it was - hotel faces the main street in town, which is very cute, but might have been noisy on a Sat. night before the race, and I had to wake up at 5 a.m.). Standard size. Comfortable bed. AC not amazing but functional. Good bath. Staff was excellent - Tucker even called his sister hotel and brought me a driving map of the area when I asked for directions. Other ?s quickly answered. Nice continental breakfast. Great location. Eat at Luccas - 1 block away.

Room Tip: Wife saw the brick walled high ceilinged rooms downstairs - would have been nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAB, General Manager at The Lane Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Bill Berenson,

Thank you so much for the fantastic review and announcing us as "THE place to stay". I am very glad to hear you enjoyed your weekend stay with us and the C Demar Marathon. I am also delighted to hear that you found the staff to be excellent, I believe we have assembled a great team here! I do hope that if you are ever in the area again you will choose to stay with us and I will make sure we get you a room with the redbrick!

Sincerely

Alex Bates
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Wonderful, modern hotel alternative to the box hotels near the highway. I loved the location, step right down the sunny stairs and you are in center of the lovely town of Keene. Rooms were all recently renovated. Staff was helpful and friendly. Gave my stay a local at home feel but with privacy and convenience of hotel ammenities. I stayed in a basement suite, very spacious and not a lot of hotel noise; however, it is in center of town, so the lower level does get some street noise, but that is expected. I'd try an upstairs room as well. Complimentary drinks in the nice lobby starting at 6pm.

Room Tip: Corner basement suite roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We took a spur-of-the-moment trip to Keene from the Boston area over the weekend. My husband found this hotel online and I give him and the hotel a thumbs up! Our room was huge, clean, and comfortable. On the plus side we had no neighbors--on the minus side, we were next to the ice machine. Fortunately all the other guests on our floor went to bed early! The location can't be beat, right in the heart of downtown Keene. We're already planning to go there again for my birthday weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verbank, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 22nd aniversary in Keene. We don't recommend the basement rooms. We used points and were upgraded to the two story King room. Nice in that we could walk everywhere. We had dinner across the street and enjoyed a drink and dessert at the Firework's restaurant and even got a coupon from the hotel. In the afternoon you can get drinks at the hotel's bar. Nice New England town and enjoyed the history of the hotel.

We didn't have any street noise either. Bed was comfortable. Two TV's one upstairs and one downstairs.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed overnight in this hotel, and while the room was comfortable, there were several issues:
- street noise was very high on that Friday night, and resumed at 5 am the next day. There is no soundproofing and you hear conversations of people in the street as if you were next to them;
- very little water in the bathroom, the hot water came after a few minutes of standing in the shower and the pressure was ridiculously low on the 3rd floor;
- as reported by another reviewer, the bathroom had not been properly cleaned and there was leftover soap in the shower.

I will not return to this hotel which is too expensive for the quality of services.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lane Hotel

Address: 30 Main Street, Keene, NH 03431
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Keene
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lane Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and under new management, this boutique hotel in beautiful Downtown Keene, New Hampshire offers forty well-appointed rooms housed in Main Street's E. F. Lane Block. The building's long standing traditions are passed on to its uniquely styled accommodations to create an unparalleled experience.Within walking distance to over 30 locally-owned restaurants and shops, The Colonial Theatre & Keene State College,The Lane Hotel, An Ascend Collection hotel, is your perfect choice for accommodations in beautiful Downtown Keene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
e f Lane Hotel
e f Lane Keene

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lane Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.