We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lindy's Diner

Lindy's Diner
19 Gilbo Ave, Keene, NH 03431-3636
603-352-4273
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 85 Restaurants in Keene
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Long Island
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stopped here as my husband's family used to have a house in the area. Food was just ok. I had texas french toast that looked like it was taken out of a box and put on the grill. My husband had the sausage biscuit and gravy. It was cold when they served us. The coffee could have been better. It was not very good. I did not use the restroom but my husband did. Apparently someone had stolen the faucet handles and there were nails or screws that you had to use to turn on the water. He told me not to even go in there. Overall, I had expected a better experience as diners in NY are awesome. This one was not.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    18
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keene, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Old Time Diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I have lived in Keene (or the immediate area) all of my life. Lindy's has always been right there, the same place, the same food AND the same nice people. If you have never experience a diner from years ago, you need to try this one. These folks are great! While ownership may change, the place stays the same... This is a good thing!

While the train and bus stations have closed, which used to be across the street, the downtown Keene community continues to support them. If you go there for breakfast, lunch or dinner, there is always a crowd, but they move them through quickly. From the jukebox in the booths to the spinning stools at the counter, right down to the waitresses buzzing around quickly, Lindy's will take you back to a slower time where you look out the window expecting to see Andy and Barney standing on the corner talking to Aunt Bee...

Good Place! Great value... Give it a try...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, NH
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cold and just plain bad.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We went in the winter (November), we thought it was cold because the door opens right into the dining room. I kept my coat on for the whole meal. The service was reluctant at best and the food was cold and tasteless. We usually give a place 2-3 tries before we give up on it but this is a one and no return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“best pancakes I ever ate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

quirky fun, old school diner. get there early it was packed at 10 am on a sunday. sticky bun not great, pancakes INCREDIBLE, and mac and cheese was incredible too! (yes, i ordered everything on the menu)

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“The real deal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Really good comfort food, friendly and efficient staff, great value.
But what makes this place so cool is the authentic diner surroundings- and each booth has its own jukebox.
Just off main street down Gilbo. You must go; one taste of the country gravy or blueberry pancakes and all your cares will melt away!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lindy's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Lindy's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lindy's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.