We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“romantic and beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand View Estate

The Grand View Estate
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jaffrey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grand View Estate
Save
You added The Grand View Estate to your Saves list
580 Mountain Road, Jaffrey, NH 03452   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Jaffrey B&B and Inns
CONNECTICUT
1 review
“romantic and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

My husband took me here for my 40th birthday. It was a wonderful weekend...the view was stunning and the room was lovely. The food was plentiful and delicious. We plan a return visit...when we can get away without children, as this is a romantic place.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    0
    4
    4
See reviews for
1
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

For Valentine's Day this year, I wanted to do something very special, so I looked at the Grand View Inn. I have been here several times in the past and have always had a great experience. This special weekend topped them all.

Grand View ran a special Valentine's Day weekend package. $300 got us the room, continental breakfast, dinner at their on-site restaurant Churchills, champagne in our room, a silver necklace and a 30 minute massage for two. This also included tax and gratuity.

We were greeted very warmly and shown to our room. The rooms are located in an old country mansion that feels like home, especially since we have been here so often. We were in room 6, the Wheeler Room, which is my favorite. It is isolated, on the third floor. The decorations remind me of a beach cottage on the Cape.

Dinner was beyond fantastic. I had risotto, a strawberry and field greens salad, filet mignon and creme brulee. I loved every aspect of dinner.

Back at the house, there was plenty to do in the evening. We played pool and board games and then retired to bed. During the evening, the owners even stopped by to make sure everything was okay.

The breakfast was somewhat disappointing in the morning. We got down to the kitchen with an hour to go until the end of breakfast and there was hardly anything left for us to eat. Breakfast was typical continental with cereal, pastry, oatmeal and toast. Some bagels and croissants would have been a nice addition.

Then we headed to the spa for our massages. I was able to steam and sauna while I waited my turn and had another nice chat with the owner.

All in all, this is always a great place to stay and I will always recommend it to friends and family. Scott and Kelly are invested in their inn and it shows. I have always found them to be pleasant and eager to please. I can't wait to plan my next trip!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

For a unique experience in fine dining you should take the time to visit Churchill's at The Grand View Inn & Resort. The cuisine is excellent! The waitstaff is friendly, upbeat, and extremely courteous and Chef always comes out for a meet and greet with the guests. The restaurant with it's rustic appearance, go hand in hand with the New England Vibe and the place settings are elegant with a romantic glow. This is a great place to start or rekindle a romance.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mass
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

the room was great, the service and food was amazing. but i come back from a day trip to find a man rushing out of my room, and my computer gone threw with pictures of me in my bathing suit open on the screen! if it wasn't for that total violation, then it would have been a perfect trip!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottmitchell, Owner at The Grand View Estate, responded to this review, February 9, 2010
My concern with your accusations are that if you found your computer tampered with directly after you saw the gentleman leave the room, why did you not bring it to his or someone’s attention during your dinner service seeing as he was your server? If you were so violated I would think you wouldn’t have had an appetite. If you found that your computer was tampered with after dinner, why did you not bring it to anyone’s attention then? I would think if you felt violated you would not be comfortable enough to spend the night at the Inn. If you found your computer to be tampered with the next morning, this leaves a window of opportunity for anyone to have tampered with it. I find it convenient that your feelings of violation came upon check out time.
Our intentions are to provide a comfortable atmosphere with the highest quality products and services. The fact that you enjoyed your dinner and stayed until the maximum check out time, reveals that your feelings of violation only came upon payment. The compensation of money off your room would only admit to guilt for something we can prove we did not do. We take pride in our business and we hold our guests’ privacy in the highest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

We stayed here with family and loved it. The staff was attentive and nice, the food at Churchhill's was great.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

stayed here over the weekend. Beautiful old building with plenty of common spaces on first floor. The main inn is 100x nicer than the small side cottage which has zero of the inns charm. If you stay here I recommend staying in one of the rooms in the main building. Views of the property are all nice, breakfast was just so so (coffee, tea, toast, boxed cereals). Pool table and projection tv in basement was fun. No TVs in the room but we didnt mind...nice area for those who enjoy the outdoors hiking around , not much in Jaffrey but nearby peterboro has more ...

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

I was heading to New Hampshire the weekend following Thanksgiving, to get some custom hockey equipment fitted and to enjoy the great State of New Hampshire. I had called many places, and they were all booked. I finally came upon The Grand View Inn, and after talking with the staff on the phone, made the reservation. The Inn is located at the base of Mount Monadnock, on beautiful, sprawling property. For those looking for a 5 star accommodation at the base of a mountain in the New Hampshire bush... I am sorry to say, if you find one, look to pay more than the paltry $175 a night.

The buildings that compose the Inn, are all lovely, inside and out. The room we stayed in, the Shearer (#9), was very nice for the price. Fireplace, jacuzzi, wonderful king sized bed, a couch, and some antique furniture made up the room. There was no TV in the room itself, but that turned out to be no problem. The water does smell of sulphur (at first), but I recognize the logistics of running water when you are in an area as sparsely populated as where The Grand View Inn is located.

While I was out shopping for hockey gear, my girlfriend had an herbal oil massage and treatment at the on-site spa, which she completely loved. She was in a very good mood for the entire trip, and I have little doubt the massage set her up nicely!

Breakfast is continental, with an assortment of cereals, breads, bagels, muffins, homemade butter, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, fresh melon, and juices. Not the best I have ever had, but it was sufficient. The dinner, however, was the highlight of the weekend. The menu is exquisite and ambitious, I almost laughed to myself when I first read it when they were kind enough to include a copy in my confirmation letter. The building that houses the party hall and dining room, is quite extravagant, and it caught me off guard. You could easily hold a wedding in that building, and have a lovely one at that. The meal was wonderful, from the appetizer to the dessert. A 3 course meal that we totally enjoyed, ran us less than half of what I would expect to pay in my native New York City. And to tell the truth, if Scott were to take his dining operation to NYC... he could charge a fortune and have a line around the block full of people waiting to eat. Eating at Churchill's was truly a culinary experience!

To address what other reviewers have stated about the service, and particularly the owner and the staff... I can honestly say I don't have a bad thing to say about Scott, the service, or any other staff. We spoke with Scott a number of times, from when we first arrived, til when we drove off the property on our way home. He was polite, courteous, and very personable. He is obviously trained in the food service industry, and it shows. Every accommodation was made for us, and every question answered. We needed firewood, and help starting the fire... he came within minutes of being called, and started the fire right up for us. The remainder of the staff was equally as nice, and we did not have any problems that needed to be addressed.

I would return to The Grand View Inn, in any season, and expect the same lovely experience. I highly recommend the Inn!

  • Liked — Dinner, Jacuzzi, comfy bed
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand View Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand View Estate

Address: 580 Mountain Road, Jaffrey, NH 03452
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Jaffrey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Jaffrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful historic property, originally an early 1800's tavern with a rich history as a working farm, seasonal vacation home, inn and year round residence. Property sits at the base of Mt. Monadnock with beautiful mountain and pastoral views. Our street address is 580 Mountain Rd., Jaffrey, NH 03452. One of several buildings on the estate, the huge 6 bedroom, 8 bath brick mansion was built with talent and craftsmanship from a bygone era. Tastefully furnished, this impressive home features elegant period details and country charm. In addition to 5 second floor bedroom suites and one third floor bedroom suite, the home has a large, lovely eat-in country kitchen, formal dining room with chandelier, cozy den, peaceful library and huge formal living room on main floor. A large furnished screened porch sits off living room. Basement has an additional bathroom and game room with fireplace, pool and foosball tables. Beautiful outdoor space includes a stone terrace off kitchen. The brick house stays comfortably cool through the summer months. This gem is a true vacation retreat. Internet WiFi access included; no telephone or TV. Cell coverage is good. Step back and enjoy a relaxing stay at this one-in-a-million country home. Offered as a private, fully functional home; flexibility in level of services available to meet your needs. Your party will be the only guests in residence during your stay. The caretaker lives next door to the estate and I live just down the road. Each of the spacious six bedroom suites has a king size bed and its own private bathroom. Activities on the property include: hiking the 333 estate acres, walking or biking the estate's internal road network, birdwatching / observing extensive wildlife, climbing Mt. Monadnock or just relaxing and enjoying the breeze and gazing at the mountain in your own expansive backyard. Monadnock is the most climbed mountain in the western hemisphere, extolled in the literature of Thoueau and Emerson. See Wikipedia for more about this fabled landmark. Unlimited scenic opportunities for artists and photographers. Patriot Farm at the Grand View Stables (look up online) is located across the street at 557 Mountain Rd., Jaffrey, NH. Horseback riding lessons and trail riding on Mt. Monadnock are available. For individuals interested in trailering in their own horses, boarding is available at nearby Mead Brook Equestrian Center. The estate is an outstanding venue for your wedding or other social event. Our vaulted-ceiling banquet hall comfortably seats 165 diners and more can be accommodated under tenting. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand View Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.