We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wentworth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Wentworth to your Saves list
The Wentworth
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   1 Carter Notch Road, Route 16-A, PO Box M, Jackson, NH 03846   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Jackson B&B and Inns
Ashford, CT
1 review
“Absolutely Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I am sorry I did not write this sooner. We stayed at the Wentworth in December. We were celebrating my birthday with a weekend away and the Jingle Bell Chocolate Tour. There were 4 of us adults, my 16year old niece and 17 mos old daughter. We stayed in one of their 3 BR condos. From the time we made our reservations back in October to our arrival, the staff was nothing short of amazing, especially Charlie, who made us feel like family. The Inn itself is gorgeous. They are in the process of adding 12 new suites and I will be in line to book one!

The condo we stayed in is just across the street. Tastefully furnished yet extremely comfortable and cozy at the same time. If I had any comments at all, it would be that the housekeepers need to vacuum a little better and more pillows for the beds (personal preference) but those are so minor they are really more suggestions than complaints. Relaxing in front of the gorgeous fireplace, drink in hand, watching the snow fall- honestly I cold have skipped doing anything else all weekend! However, even in 8 degree weather the sleigh ride is a lot of fun and you should do it if you can! A snow storm moved in Saturday night into Sunday morning, we were told to take our time checking out, come have our breakfast and let the storm pass through before trying to head out. We did exactly that. When we awoke Sunday morning, the crews were already out in the snow storm clearing paths and driveways. We were "late eaters" and the staff welcomed us warmly into the dining room where we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast (I highly recommend the creme brulee french toast!) and then went back to pack up wishing we had just one more day to spend there.

I'm already looking forward to our next trip back. We have decided at a minimum to make it our yearly tradition and I cannot think of a better way to spend my birthday each year!

Room Tip: We didn't stay in the Inn itself but our condo was perfect- and when sharing with another couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice and comprehensive review of The Wentworth. It sounded like you had a great birthday and it is so nice to have your friends and family celebrate with you. The Jingle Bell Chocolate Tour is one of our most popular packages and I am glad you were able to experience it.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    107
    31
    25
    15
See reviews for
76
364
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Keene, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We had never been to Jackson and decided to get away for a long weekend to rest, relax and snowshoe. The Wentworth is the perfect place to do just that. Rooms have every amenity and are immaculate. I would recommend that if one stays in the adjacent buildings, ask for a room upstairs as there would be less overhead noise. Our meals were delicious, the breakfast in particular was as good as we have had anywhere. The breakfast hostess is delightful and an amazing source for where in Jackson to cross-country ski or snowshoe. We also appreciated our dinner server, JoJo who excels at her work.

Room Tip: Would have given sleep quality a 5 except for some heavy footed hotel guests above us. We were in r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review and for your first vist to both Jackson Village and The Wentworth. We hope that it becomes a tradition for you. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your kind words will be shared with both Jo Jo in the dining room and with Tam our breakfast hostess so that they may be recognized for their efforts.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

just returned from another great stay at The Wentworth. Awesome room 704.. clean comfortable :) Food is fantastic !!!
... Dining room servers Leon and Jojo were perfect as always.. new breakfast hostess Pam... not so much :( loud and annoying. Been coming here every Jan for the past 9 years.. always enjoyable..

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank yo so much for your nice review and for such loyalty to our hotel. I will be sure to pass along your recognition of Jo Jo and Leon so that they may be recognized for their efforts. Jo Jo has been with us for 10 years and Leon since 1993 and we are so lucky to have them. It is actually Tam, not Pam - she is a temporary breakfast hostess for us just for a few weeks until our permanent Dining Room Manager starts but I certainly appreciate this feedback.
Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you very soon.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The South
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Yet anther New Year stay at the Wentworth and as always a great time was had by all. Our small group from the UK was this year missing our Canadian friends, and whilst a little quieter, we still had an amazing time which I know will be repeated for many years.
As normal we were made to feel very welcome and even though it's a long way for us to come and join the celebrations, it feels just like home the moment we arrive.
We wish Pat a happy retirement and look forward to seeing the hotel renovations on our next visit.
Happy New Year to all at the Wentworth.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your continued loyalty to our hotel and for coming from so far every year to celebrate ringing in the New Year with us. It is so rewarding for us to see your familiar faces year after year. Thank you also for your kind mention of Pat, she will be missed but she is very deserving of her retirement after over 28 years at the Front Desk of The Wentworth.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Here is the proof that you get what you pay for. It is not the least expensive place to stay in the valley, but it is totally worth it.

Rooms are really nice...food is amazing...everything was perfect as always.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your recent visit and your review on Trip Advisor. Rating us with five stars is quite a compliment and one we truly appreciate.
Thank you again and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, New Hampshire, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Lovely Inn, friendly service, dinning room perfect, the food fantastic.
New Year's Eve dinner dance. Very special. Wonderful time. Weather
Was very cold. Lots of spaces to sit, relax read or chat with guests when
Too cold to go out.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are clean neat but small. Great TV in room which is a plus for NH Inns. I would rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for such a nice review and for celebtating the New Year with us this year. We hope that it will become an annual tradition for you. It was nice that you took this time to share your experience with the readers of Trip Advisor.
I hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynn
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My family went to the Wentworth the weekend before Christmas and rented the 4 unit Amster. Each room had its own sitting area w/ gas fireplace and lg bedroom w/ lg dressing area and bath. There is also a charming wood fireplaced shared living room where we gathered and played games. We had breakfast and dinner inc in our pkg. Dining room is several rooms in the main inn. Food was very good; service was excellent. All staff at Inn was friendly and helpful. Every room was beautifully decorated for Christmas adding to the charm of the inn. Unfortunately, it rained all weekend so we didn't participate in any cross country skiing or ice skating. (In the summer, there is a golf course on property.) Would highly recommend the Wentworth!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your recent visit to The Wentworth and for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. The Amster Cottage is a great location for a family such as yours taking over all four rooms and enjoying the hot tub and sauna and I am so pleased that you enjoyed it despite the weather.
Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Wentworth in the very near future.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wentworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wentworth

Address: 1 Carter Notch Road, Route 16-A, PO Box M, Jackson, NH 03846
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wentworth 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the majestic White Mountains of Jackson, New Hampshire, The Wentworth is a charming, 50-room inn within close proximity to cross country skiing, a stunning golf course and an abundance of year-round, outdoor activities. Surrounded by the beauty of nature, this picturesque inn in Jackson, NH, enjoys a unique position among New Hampshire hotels. Our idyllic setting provides a temporary escape from life’s everyday stresses and allows guests the freedom to reconnect, rediscover, and recharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Wentworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wentworth Hotel Jackson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wentworth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.