We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, old fashioned mountain hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club to your Saves list
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   179 Carter Notch Road, Jackson, NH 03846   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jackson
Summit, NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable, old fashioned mountain hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

Nice hotel. Looks like a park lodge, nice view. Very nice accomodations, stuff for children to do. Food at the hotel was pretty good, breakfast not included and not cheapp. Folksy atmosphere, nice for hikers and bird watchers etc.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    109
    59
    23
    18
See reviews for
96
160
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

We chose this hotel because of it's proximity to StoryLand, it's heated outdoor pool, the playground for kids and the gym for us. I made the reservation over the telephone - got a better rate than the rate quoted on the web ($99 per night for a room with two double beds). To be honest, I was nervous about what to expect - this is an historic hotel (which could imply 'rustic'), and the rate was so much cheaper than anything else we saw elsewhere. I checked the reviews on TripAdvisor and took the plunge. We were very pleased with our choice.
The hotel is in a super setting , and has a very relaxed, comfortable vibe. The lobby is very welcoming and the staff are wonderful. There is a lovely wrap around porch where people without kids in tow were able to enjoy some pre dinner cocktails, and each evening, a bonfire was lit where kids could go and make smores. I thought it was a lovely detail.
We had reservations for two nights, and upgraded to a suite for the second night . The rooms are very nice for a country inn, with great beds and linens. We have a 3 year old and a 1 year old and our original room was too cramped.
We had breakfast and dinner at the restaurant. There was a very wide variety of fare offered at breakfast time. Dinner was good (at least my meal and the kids' meals were. My husband did not enjoy his prime rib). I thought the bill was rather high for what we got, but the convenience factor was great.
The threadmill in the gym was broken, so we ran outside. The hills were a challenge, but the scenery was a nice distraction.
We'll definitely return - I'm looking forward to it already.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

We found this hotel through Historic Hotels of America but I found it to be old more than really historic (built 1917 and 1929). Very simple decor and rooms that reminded me a bit of the TV show "Petticoat Junction." Charming if you like that look. Stunning location, can't fault that. My only real complaint was that the restaurant seemed to be run more for the convenience of locals than guests, a real caste system of who gets put in the white table cloth dining room versus the casual coffee shop versus told to sit in the bar. Maybe that is what it takes to survive in such a remote location, in all fairness. Wonderful walking access to the Jackson Falls. All told, I probably would not return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Ma.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

My wife and I travel to the White Mountains whenever we can get away. When choosing accomodations it has always been a no brainer for us. We love this hotel and have stayed dozens of times. I am now hearing that our favorite place has become pet friendly. I understand that this might attract additional business but for us who either have a pet allergy or who's partner/wife does, this hotel might not be an option. I'm a little surprised that the association accepted this, but if you have a pet that meets the requirements or you do not object to pets on the premises then you will not be disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, MA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

We had a reservation at Eagle Mountain House for a long weekend (Friday to Monday). When we arrived on Friday it was raining, so we opted for drinks in the lounge & dinner in the restaurant. The Cyrus's steak wrap was great! Once it stopped raining after dinner, we drove down to North Conway to look around.

The rooms are comfortable and clean. The rugs are somewhat worn but it is an old Inn and part of the charm. The only thing we could have used in the room was a small desk or lap desk for our laptop. We liked the free Wi-Fi, but found it difficult to use our laptop with no desk type surface.

Saturday was sunny, so we hung out down by the pool, not crowded at all and only a few kids…after they left, we had the place to ourselves.

Sunday was cloudy. We had brunch reservations at 10:30am. The brunch was wonderful and not to be missed. The food was great and desserts were the best. That day we hung out down by the river which is a short walk down the hill (remember you have to walk back UP!). I found out after this river with waterfalls is called Jackson Falls. It is a great place to hang out and swim in a cold river. Saturday night we had dinner at the Red Fox Bar & Grille up the street. Great food and atmosphere in the lounge.

Monday was check-out day. It was sunny so we drove 30 minutes south on Route 16 to White Lake State Park. A $4 entrance per person for a great day at a CRYSTAL CLEAR lake. This park has picnic tables and a beach store for snacks. The water was clean, calm and warm... did I mention crystal clear!

Mid-afternoon we headed home but look forward to our next trip to Jackson, NH and the Eagle Mountain House.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for my brothers wedding. In turn we had many rooms around the hotel and I saw many of them. The rooms are a good size with a nostalgic feel. A through back to a simpler time. While there were exposed pips from required updates form this century old Hotel.

The hotel still holds many classic charms. the large wood lobby welcomes you as a fire burns in the corner. A old fashioned metal elevator is available to get you to your room.
A perfect place to go an relax. There is an amazing view of the mountains form the front porch which can be taken in from one of many rocking chairs set up along the deck which spend the length of the building.

The staff is attentive and hard working. from teh desk clerk to the wait staff in the restaurant. they did a fantastic job on both the execution and support of my brothers wedding reception.

I would recommend this Hotel to anyone trying to get away and relax. There is a golf course across the street. it is also Close to local attractions with easy access to Glen, Conway, North Conway, and Glen.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

We stayed at Eagle Mountain House for a few days between Christmas and New Years. Hotel staff was very nice, and the lodge had a lively feel with many families staying there. It was our first stay at the property, and we had a one-room suite: queen bed and pullout sofa. Unfortunately, our particular room (302) , had a problem with flies getting into the room (at first we thought nothing of it, just one or two flies, but the last night had 5 or 6 flies). Also, sofa bed was uncomfortable; I would recommend getting a room with 2 double or queen beds if more than two people where sharing the room. As mentioned in a previous post, the jacuzzi was not working. There was a sauna but plan an extra 15 or 20 minutes to let it heat up once you turn it on before you use it. Would not choose this lodge for comfort or amenities, but for kids there was a game room, sledding, etc.

  • Liked — vintage feel, great location
  • Disliked — uncomfortable sleep sofa, fly problem with our room (housekeeping was aware of it!)
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club

Address: 179 Carter Notch Road, Jackson, NH 03846
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional New England lodging in the heart of the White Mountains since 1879. This Historic Hotel of America, listed on the National Trust for Historic Preservation, was restored as a historic country inn in 1986. Affordable, family friendly and uncrowded. An all-season destination surrounded by the nearly 800,000 acre White Mountain National Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Mountain House And Golf Club
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club Hotel Jackson
Eagle Mountain Hotel
Eagle Mountain Resort
Eagle Mountain Jackson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.