We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club to your Saves list
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   179 Carter Notch Road, Jackson, NH 03846   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Jackson
Natick, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Grand Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have twice enjoyed our stay at this historic hotel. There is so much to do in the area - it would bei,possible to get bored! The pool is small, but it we usually had it to ourselves. We really liked the falls. The are a great place for lounging and splashing. The golf pro was accommodating, letting us go out before they officially opened. Rooms are old fashioned, and they ran out of fans while we were there. There are some excellent restaurants in town. We brought a cooler and would stop in Jackson for Sandwiches before heading out for the day. The staff was pleasant and helpful. Keep an eye out for special pricing. We have found deals on their site an in The Boston Glove.

Room Tip: The first time we chose a double w 2 double beds. It was a nice room, but small for us and our 2 te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    108
    57
    22
    16
See reviews for
93
158
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The hotel looks impressive as it comes into view when you're driving up from Jackson. The view from the long hotel porch over the golf course and valley is breathtaking.
Our welcome in the quaint reception are was efficient and friendly. The personnel proved to be very helpful with information on activities in the area.
The hotel room itself was less impressive: rather cramped with old-fashioned and uncomfortable furniture and a small window overlooking the carpark bank. Breakfast was OK and dinner unadventurous.
The walk down into Jackson itself was enjoyable (the walk back up was more strenuous but manageable). We enjoyed our meals and drinks at the Wildcat Inn and Tavern there. Friendlier and more animated than the bar at the hotel.

Room Tip: Views from rooms at the front of the hotel are clearly more spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boxborough, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Eagle Mountain but had a few dislikes. Our room was among a large group's block of rooms. They were very loud and their children were constantly running and yelling up and down the halls. Because the hotel is historical the walls, doors and floors were paper thin. This made relaxing difficult. The hotel also had an event (wedding maybe) and there was no parking left. We had to park in some tall grass. The hotel could use some updating but otherwise we enjoyed our stay. There is plenty to do and its just so peaceful and pretty.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland,
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Eagle Mountain House on the last night of a trip through Vermont and New Hampshire. We loved it! It was a warm welcoming place with such obvious rich history. The old switchboard remains on the wall behind the desk and the entire lobby is filled with beautiful period woodwork. We especially loved the old elevator complete with the interior cage door and exterior wood and glass door! It was awesome! We found the place to be in remarkable repair, especially so given its age. Any upgrades/updates have been done with obvious efforts to remain true to the building's original era. Now if you are into modern architecture, fixtures and finishes just don't stay at this place. But, if you love historic buildings that have been beautifully maintained in their original character and grandeur, or if you think you would enjoy rocking in one of the nearly 40 rocking chairs on the 280 foot long front porch (spectacular!), then you must stay here! The entire place was super clean and the beds were oh so comfy! We already have plans to go back and stay a little longer!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the Eagle Mountain House with our 2 dogs for 2 nights over Memorial Day weekend. The hotel is a charming place to stay. The Staff is fabulous and try to meet your every need. We ate in the pub, and the food was good. We did not try the dining room. The grounds and golf course are well maintained. The hotel is older and could use paint-both inside and out. The rooms were very clean and the beds comfortable. Nice sheets!

Room Tip: We were on the ground level due to the dogs. Most rooms are in the main building on floors 1-3
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Please don't go hear expecting a corporate type of hotel, this property is over 130 years old so is very quirky. The location can not be faulted with views into the mountains, very quiet and peaceful. I have stayed here on a number of occasions and never got two rooms the same but all were comfortable and quirky. Everything creaks but when I get to that age so will I.
Food is good and varied, we had a 2 for $25 menu that was very good.
The best asset that this hotel has is the staff who without exception made us welcome and went above and beyond to make the stay special. Thanks to Glen we experienced some great walks that were not to taxing.
Definitely return again.
Oh the lift is a work of art, I wish I could have videotaped it.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saco, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed one evening and was thrilled to be a part of such an architectural gem, the porch is just perfect, the room was clean, the bed comfortable. I tried the breakfast only, hoping since one of the latest offerings for dinner is wild blueberry chicken blah blah for dinner, I figured they had some on hand (early in the season) I didn't even think to ask if the blueberries were of the gruesome thick sauce variety; well, that was a mistake. The belgian waffle I was looking fwd to was served with that, no real maple syrup was offered. The cinnamon butter was very hard, but tasty, didn't really melt on the waffle- surprisingly small. The coffee was strong and adequate...
the variety store in Jackson has great brunch options, will stick to this next time (off season)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club

Address: 179 Carter Notch Road, Jackson, NH 03846
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional New England lodging in the heart of the White Mountains since 1879. This Historic Hotel of America, listed on the National Trust for Historic Preservation, was restored as a historic country inn in 1986. Affordable, family friendly and uncrowded. An all-season destination surrounded by the nearly 800,000 acre White Mountain National Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club Hotel Jackson
Eagle Mountain House And Golf Club
Eagle Mountain Hotel
Eagle Mountain Resort
Eagle Mountain Jackson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.