We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice big old hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club

Save Saved
You added Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   179 Carter Notch Road, Jackson, NH 03846   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Jackson
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice big old hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the Eagle Mountain House with our 2 dogs for 2 nights over Memorial Day weekend. The hotel is a charming place to stay. The Staff is fabulous and try to meet your every need. We ate in the pub, and the food was good. We did not try the dining room. The grounds and golf course are well maintained. The hotel is older and could use paint-both inside and out. The rooms were very clean and the beds comfortable. Nice sheets!

Room Tip: We were on the ground level due to the dogs. Most rooms are in the main building on floors 1-3
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    105
    53
    17
    15
See reviews for
90
151
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Please don't go hear expecting a corporate type of hotel, this property is over 130 years old so is very quirky. The location can not be faulted with views into the mountains, very quiet and peaceful. I have stayed here on a number of occasions and never got two rooms the same but all were comfortable and quirky. Everything creaks but when I get to that age so will I.
Food is good and varied, we had a 2 for $25 menu that was very good.
The best asset that this hotel has is the staff who without exception made us welcome and went above and beyond to make the stay special. Thanks to Glen we experienced some great walks that were not to taxing.
Definitely return again.
Oh the lift is a work of art, I wish I could have videotaped it.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saco, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed one evening and was thrilled to be a part of such an architectural gem, the porch is just perfect, the room was clean, the bed comfortable. I tried the breakfast only, hoping since one of the latest offerings for dinner is wild blueberry chicken blah blah for dinner, I figured they had some on hand (early in the season) I didn't even think to ask if the blueberries were of the gruesome thick sauce variety; well, that was a mistake. The belgian waffle I was looking fwd to was served with that, no real maple syrup was offered. The cinnamon butter was very hard, but tasty, didn't really melt on the waffle- surprisingly small. The coffee was strong and adequate...
the variety store in Jackson has great brunch options, will stick to this next time (off season)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steenwijk, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

It is not often that you find a place where everything fits. The drive to the Eagle house is, crossing the covered bridge of Jackson, the Jackson waterfalls and the Mountain scenery pilles up to the Majestic first view of the grand Eagle mountain house. This and the ambiance, the service, the history and scenery, everything pilled up to be a one of a kind guest experience where you are not a room number, but a pesron, couple or family. Ofcourse there could be some improvement, the paint job might need a update here and there, and the restaurant sound system could be intergrated in the wall etc. I strongly recommend visiting the place, even if it is just for a cup of coffee.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This review is for dinner and not the whole property. We didn't stay here but the resort and old house is very quaint and beautiful. We went for dinner since my mother has always wanted to go, and they have a 2 for $25 special during the week. The view from the dining room and the decor are great, the food though was only average. I had the shrimp scampi which although flavorful was nothing outstanding. My mother had the stuffed chicken breast with mashed potatoes and vegetables. The portion was very large and she liked the vegetables but the chicken was lukewarm. We felt hurried since the entree was delivered by another server almost immediately after we got our salads which we had waited for. I appreciate prompt serve but our server seemed out of sync. Although our server was friendly she seemed hurried and had so much strong perfume on it was just overpowering. The maple crust apple pie for dessert was nothing special. Overall the meal was very average and thankfully I didn't have to pay the menu prices. Would come back he to stay but wouldn't be really interested in having dinner here. There are many oter options in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

No matter what time of year we stay here it is always a pleasure. The staff is always pleasant and accommodating. The rooms are clean
,bright and comfortable. You just feel so good staying there. We stay here a least a couple times a year. I hope they never change. A great old hotel resort!




  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The location cannot be beat. I have stayed and organized a wonderful Sept. waterfall tour (there are many!), surprised my sister for an October birthday weekend, had Thanksgiving dinner there--fabulous- snowshoing on property Jan, my husband golfed in spring and we are going next week end for our anniversary! Do I like it? YES!
We are avid hikers and there are so many opportunities in this area. Our rooms have always been really clean, yes, a little dated. However, the staff is friendly and helpful. I must admit I was a bit apprehensive about food and dining as we are very healthy eaters, however EMH has a lot of options and will also work with you around food choices. Recommend!

Room Tip: choose one that has a walk out to the porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club

Address: 179 Carter Notch Road, Jackson, NH 03846
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional New England lodging in the heart of the White Mountains since 1879. This Historic Hotel of America, listed on the National Trust for Historic Preservation, was restored as a historic country inn in 1986. Affordable, family friendly and uncrowded. An all-season destination surrounded by the nearly 800,000 acre White Mountain National Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Mountain House And Golf Club
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club Hotel Jackson
Eagle Mountain Hotel
Eagle Mountain Resort
Eagle Mountain Jackson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.