We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Jackson

Save Saved
You added Inn at Jackson to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Jackson
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   corner of Main Street and Thorn Hill Road, PO Box 822, Jackson, NH 03846   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Jackson B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Inn at Jackson was recommended to myself and my girlfriend by a mutual friend. We went there expecting to stay for a night, but it was so beautiful, and the proprietress was so nice, that we stayed for an extra night. Many other reviews rightly highlight the idyllic setting and best-bar-none accommodations. Even more important, I think, was the innkeeper's drive to ensure all her guests were enjoying their trip – including their experiences outside of the inn. On one occasion, a migraine interrupted my and my girlfriend's dinner (at the Thompson House), before our food arrived. Rather than allow it to ruin the evening, the innkeeper, upon hearing this, lit a a fire in the dining room (which is typically used for breakfast only) so we could dine after the headache passed. This kind of service is incredibly rare, and speaks not only to the professionalism of the inn's staff, but also their deep commitment to their patrons.

The food merits mention as well: the eggs benedict I had on the second morning was the best I've ever had. Get it if it's on the menu.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    21
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
131
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I took my wife to the Inn this past weekend for her birthday and had my best stay to date in the White Mountain region. The location is perfect, a stone's throw from Thomson Eatery in the flat of the Valley. A very nice place to run and walk over the covered bridge near route 16. The room and the overall inn was immaculate. The amenities were lavish with a continental breakfast each morning; plenty of breakfast items to choose from including healthy items such as stonyfield yogurt and granola. The inn keepers were very informative and met our every request. Would recommend the inn to anyone looking for a quiet escape from the rigors of city living!

Room Tip: Go for the king bed. Very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

From the moment we arrived ( early that is) we felt welcomed by Chris the Innkeeper
She was friendly ,warm ,accomadating ,very helpful and very funny.She was very knowledgable about the surrounding area and made several calls about activities ( fees availability etc without us haveing to ask her) She seemed to anticipate our needs . The rooms were clean and beautiful. There was a claw foot tub in the room which was great for sore musclesThere was a gas fireplace and a big comfortable bed.There was a view of the town that was lovely. There was an arrival tray of handy snacks which was perfect for pre dinner .
Before dinner we sat at the lounge area and had wine and light refreshments. There was jolly conversation so much so that we hated to go to dinner. We had a package which included dinner and massage welcoming wine and flowers also . Flowers were beautiful the wine enjoyed The massage at Moondance great. Housekeeping was fabulous Nancy is quite helpful
and a character.
One less spectecular thing was the dinner at the Shovel Handle While the atmosphere was ok the dinner ok it was just that OK That is the only thing that wasn't Great We will be back to this Gem of a place ASAP Thanks Chris and staff for all
PS good coffe and breakfast each am was enjoyed

Room Tip: They are all good Depends on what you want for a bed or tub or view Gas Fireplace vs wood burning T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopedale, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

this was our 2nd time staying there and we love everything about it. from the unbelievable staff to the comfortable bed. chris the inn keeper is so accommodating with a great personality.my husband starts asking whats for breakfast the next day right after we get done with breakfast. we went with friends this time instead of kids and had such a great time. i love that you can go down at night in your pajamas and hang out and have a drink or cup of tea.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

I can not wait to go back to this inn! Everything about it made this place an A+. Bed was extremely comfortable, staff was friendly, easy to arrange an early check in, great breakfast and size of rooms were large! We wish we could have stayed longer, I would recommend this to anyone that is going to be in the general direction. Great value!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Jackson Inn is old and needs a little TLC, i.e. peeling paint and scuffed walls and floors. Our room was very cold without a fire in the fireplace at night. The innkeeper was most accommodating. They had a lovely gathering room to hang out in but no place for a game or cards at a table. They had four selections for breakfast and it was good, the scones were excellent. The location is walking distance to many restaurants. We would consider staying there again but would first look at other options.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

I can see no way anyone could give this Inn less than 5 out of 5!
Our only negative was that we had only booked one night. Chris welcomed us to the inn and showed us to the Robert Frost room - absolutely beautiful olde world charm, massive bed, perfect decor! We explored the house - which from the history was described by the original owners as a summer cottage! We found the hot apple cider and cookies, didn't make use of the hot tub
The house was lovely and quiet over night and we slept brilliantly - no need to light the fire as it was very warm. Breakfast was also very good with an interesting choice, plenty of coffee and juice.
Would not hesitate in recommending to anyone who wants peaceful rest and perhaps not a vanilla corporate template hotel -was fantastic.
PS don't miss walking around Jackson the falls are very pretty, Flossie's has interesting stuff and it was the return of the pumpkin people! So lots of scarecrow's and displays outside houses

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Jackson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Jackson

Address: corner of Main Street and Thorn Hill Road, PO Box 822, Jackson, NH 03846
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Jackson 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Inn at Jackson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Jackson Hotel Jackson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Jackson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.