We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and Memorable Meals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wentworth

Wentworth
1 Carter Notch Road, Jackson, NH 03846
603-383-9700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Wentworth is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 15 Restaurants in Jackson
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 16A & 16B
Description: The Wentworth Dining Room prides itself on using only the freshest seasonal ingredients provided by local and regional farms. We work closely with the New Hampshire Institute of Agriculture and Forestry. We also use many vegetables from organic New Hampshire farms. Our meat, poultry and seafood is sourced regionally and delivered regularly to guarantee freshness.
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful and Memorable Meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at The Wentworth Hotel (review to be posted shortly). We bought a package deal - two breakfasts and two dinners, plus a room. I didn't hold out much hope that the meals would be really good. Well, it was all delicious!! Had the tenderloin the first night and scallops the second night. With the package you get a four course meal. It was all just really excellent. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at Wentworth, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you so much for posting such a nice review and for travelling from so far to visit us. We truly appreciate your kind words and your recommendation of our hotel and restaurant to others. Your review will be shared with my staff so that they may be recognized for their efforts. Thank you again and hope you made it back home safely.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    30
    11
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Not the amazing food that is was, but still very, very good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

As the title says, it just isn't what it was for dinner, but we would definitely go again. I just won't be expecting the culinary delight as I did. Breakfast is still great.

Staff are wonderful, the manager Joshua is charming. We didn't see Fritz this trip which was too bad because a conversation with him is always a treat!

As with any good restaurant the menu is acceptably small (and the cool techno menu). Check ahead to see if you like the food vibe.

Wine list is overpriced for "regular" wines, but offers some very good prices for the high-end wines.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at Wentworth, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice review and for recognizing Josh our Dining Room Manager. I am sorry to read that you felt your dinner was not as good as in the past and I hope that we will correct that impression next time.
Fritz says hello and is sorry to have missed you this trip.
Best wishes
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner and breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and breakfast at the Wentworth restaurant, which was part of our accomodation package. Indeed, the food rivalled the White Barn Inn, where we had dined a few nights earlier. It was also nice to have a dining option at the hotel, as night time driving in the mountains was not something we wanted to try out! Breakfast was generous, and very nice indeed.


I did a separate review of the hotel (8 October), and mentioned a very minor incident at the time we were seated for dinner. Ellie Koeppel, the Hotel Manager, responded, and mentioned Josh Belangor, the restaurant manager. I would like to clarify that it was definitely not Josh who seated us. We met Josh later - he was simply delightful, and we couldn't speak more highly of his professionalism.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at Wentworth, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice review and I am very pleased that you enjoyed both your dinner and your breakfast with us. Your kind words will be shared with Neal Myers our Chef and with Josh Belanger our Dining Room Manager so that they may be recognized for their efforts. Thank you also for correcting me on Josh, I appreciate that.
We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Food quite Nice but attention to detail lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The food is quite nice but not perfect, simple errors with every meal, such as lumpy whipped potato, undercooked regular potato, wine choice not available etc.
Biggest shocker, was after finishing appetiser, server removed dirty knife off the plate and put it back on the table for us to re-use. He did this to both of us. My knife was covered in pureed parsnip from my appetiser as well, so it was most unpleasant! Is there a knife shortage here? We were both speechless!!!!!
Decent quality food but attention to detail needs looking at.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at Wentworth, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing us for dinner and for taking the time to write this review. After your similar review on our hotel site we did look up your dinner tickets as the knife situation you experienced was unacceptable. We think it is a new bus person that we have not fully trained yet but this detail will be addressed immediately and your review will also be shared with all of our restaurant staff and kitchen so that we may improve upon and learn from your experience.
Again, thank you for joining us, I am very sorry that you were not completely satisfied as that is our goal and I hope you are enjoying the remainder of your New England trip.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome menu better Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Most go to N Conway but don't miss the place @ 3 miles north. This us the real deal. Great staff from front desk to restaurant. Foodies will really love the restaurant not the places in N Conway that really push u through. Great service and they know food & wine

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at Wentworth, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for writing such a nice review and we too are pleased that you drove the few extra miles north to beautiful Jackson Village. We feel so lucky to live and work here away from the hustle and bustle of North Conway. Your nice review will be shared with all of our staff so that they may be recognized for their efforts.
Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wentworth also viewed

Jackson, White Mountains
Jackson, White Mountains
 

Been to Wentworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wentworth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.