We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, large portions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wildcat Inn and Tavern

Wildcat Inn and Tavern
94 Main St, Jackson, NH 03846
603-383-6502
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 15 Restaurants in Jackson
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
East Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food, large portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stopped here for dinner one night. Food was good and portions were large. It was very crowded on the evening we dined here, so service was a bit slow in bringing meals out. Waiter was very apologetic.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    85
    24
    30
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Meh!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I've been here a few times over the years. The good: The food is excellent. The bad: service is painfully slow. 30+ plus minute wait times for a meal is unacceptable. And ordering a beer and waiting for it took forever too. By the time the waitress brought it over it was warm. Strange place. It's always crowded for some reason. I'm not sure if it's the kitchen or not enough staff but I think i'm done going there for now.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Tuesday night surprise....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

While staying in North Conway we found this place for drinks at the bar and had dinner here also. There are not many places with entertainment on Tuesday but this lounge has a "Hoot" night where locals come in and play together guitar, drums and vocals---wow! What a find! Twin lobsters and fries were $16.99 and a soup sampler was just enough. A TV for a little baseball and our night was complete!! Would definitely return.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Refreshing and friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My husband and I have been here twice, first time we sat inside at the bar and enjoyed cold drafts and appetizers after a long hike. The next time, we sat outside with a group of friends and our dogs, both times we received excellent, friendly service- which to me is just as important as the food! Over the top service, good food and cold brews. This will become one of our regular stops.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lobster prepared poorly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

How can you go wrong with a 2 lobsters for $16.99. Well you can at Wildcat. My friend and I have shared many, many lobsters over the years. Wildcat managed to undercook them significantly. When it was served with black gook coming out, we were told it was tomalley by the manager-not so, it wasn't tomalley which is green or roe which is red when properly cooked. Wildcat has managed to mess up lobster, one of the easiest food to prepare.

On the other hand the waitress tried very hard to make it right and was very pleasant.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wildcat Inn and Tavern also viewed

Jackson, White Mountains
Jackson, White Mountains
 
Jackson, White Mountains
Jackson, White Mountains
 

Been to Wildcat Inn and Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildcat Inn and Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.