We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thompson House Eatery - CLOSED

Thompson House Eatery
193 Main St, Jackson, NH 03846
603 383 9341
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Reservations
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We understand they are closing, but they have set a standard for the whole area. They will be missed

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    48
    18
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands, UK
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A sad day for the locals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

It will be a sad day for the locals if the owners/chef retires shortly as is rumoured. In a two week holiday in New England, the Thompson House stands out as by far the best place we ate in. A very vibrant and warm atmosphere pervades the restaurant. The menu is interesting and inventive. Every angle is covered with a deft touch. The service is friendly. The staff are welcoming and helpful. If I lived in Jackson, I would be in every week. I hope that someone can persuade them to keep on doing what they obviously do so very well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Valley, Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Creative menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We spent 10 days in New England and Canada this October and our meal at Thompson House Eatery was the best. Very interesting combinations of ingredients and flavors plus everything was quite fresh. We were there on a Friday night during leaf season and fortunately had reservations. The restaurant was completely booked. We were impressed as we witnessed the hostess call and make reservations in other area restaurants for couples who could not get into Thompson House. The service was prompt and professional. The dining room was cozy and attractively decorated. I wish this restaurant was in my home town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Harbor, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“One of our favorites in the area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We always enjoy the dining at T.H.E.
Whatever the season, whatever the occassion... we make sure to reserve at T.H.E. each time we visit Jackson.
The specials are always a good choice, and dessert is a must.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

What a place to eat!!!
Some people go to Jackson to be in the area, I go to Jackso so I can eat at the Thompson House. The Pork is the best!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thompson House Eatery also viewed

 
Jackson, White Mountains
Jackson, White Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thompson House Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.