We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food in the Woods” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thompson House Eatery - CLOSED

Thompson House Eatery
193 Main St, Jackson, NH 03846
603 383 9341
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Reservations
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Amazing Food in the Woods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We are a family of 4 (2 kids 11+7) from NYC, spent a day at the StoryLand. After a long day decided to eat locally. TripAdvisor showed Thomson Еatery as #2. We always enjoy local small places. When we arrived we were informed that everything was reserved for insight but we were offered a table back at the patio. We were really happy that we agreed! The food was absolutely amazing.. We had 2 seafood dishes and two items from children's menu which were also cooked from scratch.. Everyone enjoyed great dinner in the woods especially coming from the biggest City:)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    48
    18
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Extremely Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We, my two grandchildren and my husband, decided to go here after hotel staff recommended it as 'a family style dinner place'. As we found out, this was far from the truth. The staff was helpful, but the menu left more to desire. All the items were ment for a 'sophisticated pallet', not for people just looking for a good family meal. Now on to the food. I got at quesadilla that had a spicy salsa on it that practically burned my mouth. The reason I got it was because the wait staff said it was 'plain'. Humph. My granddaughter got pork tips that were so hard, you could barely cut them with a steak knife. And my grandson's and husbands zitti was literally burnt on the top. This may be a good place for couples, but not for a family.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Nice setting, food is good, service is just OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is a Jackson NH restaurant the locals seem to like...with good reason. The bar is intimate, outdoor seating is very pleasant (not in the winter obviously) the food is good and competitively priced and the staff is friendly.

You'll need to be patient with the service. Our server was responsive when she was around but unfortunately she wasn't around with a high degree of frequency.

Try The Thompson House Eatery (T.H.E.), more than likely you'll have a positive experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“"As constant as the seasons"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

30 years of amazing family dinners here, every one more special than the next.
Never a miss!
Creative, healthy meals prepared using local ingredients, great staff!
Don't pass on an opportunity to experience this gem for yourself, winter, spring, summer or fall.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Fabulous event!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We have eaten at T.H.E. many times since we live nearby and the food and service is always fabulous!

I recently held a 25th wedding anniversary party and having about 40 out of town guests. Everything was perfect from start to finish. The owners were very easy to work with and accommodated all our requests at a very reasonable price! We had the dining room all to ourselves, the waitstaff was terrific and the food (we went with a buffet) incredible! First class party! My guests all enjoyed the evening and four months later are still raving about the venue and food!

One of the few places in the Valley where you can get a really great meal - fresh locally grown food (they even have their own garden out back), creative dishes and always good service. We usually sit at the bar - cozy and only about 10 seats - we always meet new friends - great place to come if you are dining solo too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thompson House Eatery also viewed

Jackson, White Mountains
Jackson, White Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thompson House Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.