We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Artichoke Dip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thompson House Eatery - CLOSED

Thompson House Eatery
193 Main St, Jackson, NH 03846
603 383 9341
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Boston
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing Artichoke Dip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Great place for a family lunch. The waitress was very clear about how long it would take for us to get our entrees because a lot of people happened to come into the restaurant at once. She suggested us get appetizers to carry us over. The artichoke dip was extremely good. You taste chunks of flavorful artichoke. The portions in general are large. Seafood cakes were delicious, and the side salads are practically full portions. They give you a tray of unique high-quality condiments for the salad, making it a fun and customizable experience. The chili was very, very good. We didn't care for their meatloaf, however, as it was too bland and soggy for our taste. Spiced apple cider was good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    48
    18
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
durham nc
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Before arriving in Jackson on a much anticipated vacation I read reviews and decided that this would be our special night out.
Now I wonder about the people who raved about this establishment. Where else do they eat? Apparently not anywhere fabulous, Mediocre is kind! Cold and bland food. So disappointing. Decent wine by the glass and some ok cocktails. Pleasant staff, poor things spend a lot of time appogizing for the exhaustive wait. We were there for over 3 hours.
Don't go if excellence is your expectation.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The food here is amazing! Fresh and interesting choices. It is like being in someone's home. The French onion soup is scrumptious. I also had the chicken and avocado sandwich which was also tasty.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
osterville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“thompson house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The food is excellent,restaurant is comfortable and cozy. People keep coming back, my server at the bar (Scamp) made me feel like a regular &her service was great!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooksett NH
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“One of the very best restaurants in the Mt. Washington Valley!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had dinner here with another couple on Valentine's Day evening with a reservation. It was very busy,as expected. We hadn't been there for about 4 months, but it is still outstanding. The atmosphere is charming with a fireplace and comfortable seating. The service was excellent, considering how busy they were. A lot of locals dine here. It's certainly not cheap, but it is worth the price in terms of the food. Everything is presented very nicely and flavorful. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thompson House Eatery also viewed

Jackson, White Mountains
Jackson, White Mountains
 
Jackson, White Mountains
Jackson, White Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thompson House Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.