We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food. lousy service and atmosphere” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Fox Bar & Grille

Red Fox Bar & Grille
49 US Rte 16, Jackson, NH 03846
603-383-4949
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 15 Restaurants in Jackson
Price range: $12 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food. lousy service and atmosphere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Herd it was great for kids, not. Food was good. Serving size was great. And that was it. I felt like the waiter was in a rush, it's was a dark
and cold atmosphere. Like driving down a long dark road at three in the am. I was very disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    205
    51
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Holliston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

You may have to wait but it's worth it. The food was very good and our server was very attentive. The food came out quickly. It's a fun, upbeat, lively atmosphere. Glad I went.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presque Isle, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Good Food, but service could have been better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

My family of four went with another couple through the week. We were seated right next to the fireplace with other families that had kids. Lovely atmosphere and good food. We had the muscles for our appetizer and I had the steak tips for dinner. Everyone in our party enjoyed their food and no one left unsatisfied.
Only problem was the drinks, neither of our friends got what they ordered, and even though they told the waitress she was not willing to return them or get them something else. I was quite surprised.
After that, the waitress avoided our table except to ask about dessert and give us the check. I would probably return here for a meal if I was staying close to Jackson. If not, I would probably pick somewhere else, as there are so many good restaurants to choose from in the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chincoteague Island, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

My friend and I are in the Jackson, NH area for a week to ski, and went to the Red Fox the first night we were here. Loved the food, and a very pleasant atmosphere for a lively sports bar. The wood grilled meats are wonderful, and they have some of the best vegetable side dishes. Loved the Brussels sprouts with bacon, the roasted beets, the spinach....all of them.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Crazy, Rowdy, Fun with Fab Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Ok, it is popular, crowded and busy. Call it lively, hopping and thriving! What a fun place to stop apres ski or even later for dinner. I think it is busy at all times! We went there expecting to wait for a table; the little buzzers they give you ensure that you know when your table is available. I ordered grilled salmon, a favorite, and this was among the best salmon I have ever enjoyed. Lots of choices, something for everyone, including kids, great atmosphere, a sports bar with taste. Good selections of beers. We left way too full but smiling.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Fox Bar & Grille also viewed

Jackson, White Mountains
Jackson, White Mountains
 

Been to Red Fox Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Fox Bar & Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.