We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful kitty with a personality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wildcat Mountain

Wildcat Mountain
Route 16, Pinkham Notch, Jackson, NH 03486
603-466-3326
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 14 Attractions in Jackson
Type: Mountains, Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Viewing foliage, Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Popular ski area in the northernmost reaches of New Hampshire.
Fresh Meadows, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful kitty with a personality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This mountain is not for first-time skiers. But, those who can brave it will surely enjoy the views and the long trails (by East Coast standard). We were there in late March and the skiing was still terrific. The summit views are breathtaking and there is even a raised viewing platform that you can climb up to. The winds are pretty strong, so don't forget to bundle up.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    29
    10
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“We will come back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I took my two sons to Wildcat on a sunny March weekend. In what has been a terrific year, we came up the weekend after a rainy spell and cold snap. All things considered, Wildcat recovered well. There were plenty of icy spots on the mountain, but the groomers were in good shape. Due to a lack of open terrain, some spots did get skied off and the impact was felt on the non-groomed terrain, especially the places that had a lot of skier traffic. Visibility wasn't so good on the next day and being St. Patricks Day, the crowds started to pack in so we headed off. All staff from the first employee we met through every lift attendant and the cafeteria workers were terrific. There is a very nice vibe in the base area and the lodge is a good one with plenty of windows facing the mountain. We will definitely be back.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good challenge! Not for a beginner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Fabulous spring skiing! Highly recommend it! Friendly personnel, good grooming, expert slopes and advanced intermediate.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, New Brunswick
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Wildcat ... purrrrrfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our 2nd time to Wildcat proved to be as awesome as our 1st time. We recently skied 2 days there (we were staying at the Attitash Grand Summit and our lift tickets were good for both Attitash/Bear Peak & Wildcat). Because of the elevation, the snow at Wildcat is better (IMHO). Luv luv luv the highspeed quad to the summit. Our 1st day was cloudy so getting down the top 1/4 of the hill was a challenge, visibility was much better the 2nd day, but you can't fault the hill or Management for clouds.

We brought our own lunch, and was very thankful. I thought the cafeteria prices were way over-priced ... I did try a bowl of soup (to accompany the sammie I brought w/me) ... it was $6.95 for a very small portion; it was grossly salty so I actually took it back. None of the food looked worthy of the prices they were charging. I don't know why attractions feel compelled to serve up mediocre food for quality prices!

Food aside, we absolutely loved Wildcat and look forward to our next time.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deep River, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Still the same, a good thing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hardy souls know Wildcat for a cold windy summit. But on nice days it is the most beautiful place in the East.I even like it on the cold cloudy, snowy windy days. Out of the way, and that is a good thing! I love this place.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wildcat Mountain also viewed

Jackson, White Mountains
Jackson, White Mountains
 

Been to Wildcat Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildcat Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.