We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“White Mountains Serenity” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carter Notch Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jackson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carter Notch Inn
Save
You added Carter Notch Inn to your Saves list
163 Carter Notch Road, PO Box 810, Jackson, NH 03846   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Jackson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chappaqua, New York
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“White Mountains Serenity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is the best B&B in The White Mountains. I have stayed at The Carter Notch many times with family, friends and on my own, and each experience has been great. Dick and Sally are friendly, attentive and charming. They are very knowledgeable about what to do and where to eat in the area. The rooms are nicely decorated, very comfortable and very reasonably priced. The real fireplace is usually ablaze and the breakfasts will satisfy all discerning palates. The inn is situated just outside of the Jackson downtown area which is a plus, and offers excellent views from the porch and many of the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    8
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
27
273
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I was fortunate enough to be invited to stay at this incredible B&B in the White Mountains and it was an unforgettable experience from the moment I walked in the door. Dick and Sally go above and beyond making you feel immediately welcome and that your entire stay is enjoyable and relaxing. The rooms were comfortable and clean, the breakfast was incredible (and indulgent!), and the grounds well maintained. The views from the B&B are great and its close to hiking and nearby towns for an afternoon of exploring. There are several nearby restaurants with excellent dining options. Overall I couldn't have been happier with the weekend and hospitality. If you are deciding on a place to stay in the White Mountains, look no further!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bendigo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is a gorgeous bed and breakfast with a very welcoming feel. Sally and Dick are friendly and relaxed hosts and very keen to make sure you get the most out of your stay whatever your interests may be. We stayed in one of the top floor rooms which was small but very comfortable. The breakfasts are great - if not a bit indulgent! There are scrumptious afternoon snacks and the choice of an alcoholic beverage is a nice touch. The communal area is very inviting, with the roaring fire and comfy sofas - you could easily nod off there with a good book or while just hanging out with the Old English Dudley. A very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Sally and Dick welcomed us to this superbly appointed and managed inn. Together with Dudley (large loveable old english) and Lulu (a one eyed cat) we were given every attention we needed and provided with local knowledge to maximise the enjoyment of our all to brief 3 night stay in New Hampshire's white mountains. Though they are ex pats of 9 years they run the inn correctly in an american fashion, but do provide proper hot tea and HP sauce as a treat. We will return to New England but only if we can build our trip around a further stay at Carter Notch Inn.

Room Tip: Any room would be a joy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the moment we departed we were made extremely welcome. The location is stunning, the decor fantastic & the bed was extremely comfortable. Dick & Sally certainly goes beyond the call to make their guests stay as pleasurable, relaxing & comfortable as possible. Dudley the OES was adorable. The breakfasts were delicious & the constant supply of drinks, wine & nibbles appreciated. We are already talking about our next visit to New England & The Carter Notch will certainly be on our Itinerary. Thank you Dick & Sally for making our visit to Jackson, New Hampshire so memorable - your expert advice on places to visit & scenic drives was extremely helpful & the trip up Mount Washington by minibus was fantastic. We can't wait to return to your wonderful Inn.

Room Tip: Room 1 was very comfortable & had lovely views from the two windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent 2 glorious days at Carter Notch about a week ago. I won't go over the items on my checklist that are nonnegotiable, cleanliness, comfort, reasonably priced, fantastic breakfast, and so on..because on all of those they score an A+ easy. Where they shine, the owners, Dick and Sally, is in their ability to check you into their Inn as a stranger and check you out feeling like an old friend. You can't fake that, you are either born with that ability or not and those two were equally blessed. This place is a "not miss" in my opinion and Room 6 was by far the best room we encountered on our recent 10 day New England B and B tour. Book this place, you won't be disappointed! We'll be back for sure.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountainside, New Jersey, Usa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

fabulous inn and made great new friends. Dudley, the OES was so amazing we went and got our own. great choice of places to go, things to do and restaurants to try. The inn keepers make the stay a great one. The inn is immaculate and comfortable.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carter Notch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carter Notch Inn

Address: 163 Carter Notch Road, PO Box 810, Jackson, NH 03846
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Bed and Breakfast located in the quaint New England village of Jackson, New Hampshire, overlooking the Wildcat River & in the heart of the White Mountains. Year round outdoor hot tub, full country breakfasts & quiet location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carter Notch Hotel Jackson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carter Notch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.