We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carter Notch Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jackson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carter Notch Inn
Save
You added Carter Notch Inn to your Saves list
163 Carter Notch Road, PO Box 810, Jackson, NH 03846   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Jackson B&B and Inns
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife and I began our 10-day New England trip with 3 nights at the Carter Notch Inn, and it proved to be a perfect starting point. The B&B itself is lovely and set off the beaten path in the quaint village of Jackson. Sally and Dick are the perfect hosts for newbees to the area, and moreover, first timers to New England from the Midwest (St. Louis). They seem to geniunely love doing what they do. They are attentive without being at all overbearing. Dick had terrific suggestions for hikes and meal places, and he was a delightful sense of humor. Sheri and I are private introverts, but felt very comfortable. We took full advantage of the complementary wine and beer they keep always available in the guest fridge following our days of hiking. We are dog lovers and Dudley won us over. He's a big lovable lug. Sheri loves cats, and Lulu showed her a little attention, though in cat-like form, just a little. Loved sitting on the front porch in the morning after our tasty and filling breakfasts (but not too filling). One very minor suggestion. Sheri loves strong/dark coffee, where just a breakfast blend was offered. We were also blessed with perfect Fall weather. Thanks!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    8
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
27
261
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I rarely ever stay at the same B&B twice as we like to experience new places. However, in the case of Sally and Dick's Carter Notch Inn, we've made an exception. The B&B is an old house that dates back to the late 1800's and has been expanded into a palatial retreat with hot tub, jacuzzi tubs, decks and views as well as peace, quiet, wine and beer and wonderful company. The breakfasts are delicious and never the same twice (in two trips!) Sally and Dick are incredible in their hospitality and Sally is an expert hiker versed in the areas many trails (Dick chimes in, but he knows the pubs and dining fare as well). Dudley and Lulu are very entertaining. The inn is just a short hike from Jackson Falls and if you are early enough. If you are looking for a place to stay in the Great North Woods, the Carter Notch Inn should be first on your list.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi rooms are great. Try 6 or 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Carter Notch Inn has established itself as one of our favorites after only a one night stay. Dick and Sally are perfect hosts, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. Having wine, beer and soft drinks available in the guest fridge was a great treat and was greatly appreciated at the end of a long day of sightseeing. Of course I can't fail to mention that the four-legged hosts were just as delightful as the two-legged ones. Dudley and Lulu kept us entertained and Lulu even spent the night in our room. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Perfect location in a gorgeous little town with a covered bridge. This Band B is welcoming, clean and comfortable, we felt like we were visiting friends. Dick and Sally are kind and helpful and Dudley is charming.
The breakfast was first rate and kept us full till dinner!
A great place to stay and explore the area...lots of short scenic hikes, golf courses and of course a little outlet shopping.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

We were given a lovely welcome, chocs in the room, cookies every afternoon, the fridge was well stacked with soft drinks and wine to enjoy. The rooms were perfect and tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean every day.
Bug spray was provided at every exit which was greatly appreciated!
There was also a hot tub which was blissful after a day mountain biking!
Knowledge of the local area was second to none and if we could have taken our 'innkeepers'!with us for the rest of the trip to help plan, we certainly would have!!  We got a great local insight into places to visit as most of the possible activities they'd as a minimum met the owners, if not, they'd done it themselves. Breakfast was superb and there was an option to have it on the veranda if you fancied. The garden was lovely and really peaceful. DVD's were also available to watch which was great in the evening with cookies and tea! A side note to add, the powerful hairdryer was amazing and that means a lot when you're in a hurry to get out a do stuff!
The waterfalls and mountains near by are an absolute must see! Diana baths  waterfalls and Cathedral ledge had spectacular views. Take your mozzy spray if it's late afternoon though!!
We ate out at two lovely places, Thompsons house eatery which was fairly pricy $53 for 1 starter, 2 mains and couple of drinks and a  massive salad. 
Red fox was also near by and i had the mosy amazing steak!!! Creamed pots were fab, melt in your mouth and prob 1000 calories but who cares! There is also a small water hole down the road which we're told is lived in by some friendly beavers but they must have smelled my desperation and stayed well hidden!:-)
Overall we were sad to go but would definately recommend a visit!

 

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Warm, friendly and genuine. From the moment we had arrived we felt totally comfortable and that we were in very good hands. Sally & Dick have found their calling without question, they love what they do and it shows. Dudley and LuLu add another dimension that has to be experienced...
The accommodations were very clean and comfortable, the breakfast offerings were outstanding, presentation excellent and the morning humor, well second to none.

If you are even just thinking about traveling thru the area, you MUST plan to spend a night at the Carter Notch Inn, chances are, you'll want to spend several more....we will be back without question!

Rick & Ann

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This place was amazing - so relaxing, and in a nice, quiet location. The breakfast was wonderful (especially loved the blueberry coffee cake!) and the hot tub was so nice after a long day of hiking. The location was great - it was so quiet and peaceful at night. And the fact that it's a couple-oriented place added to the quietness as there were no families there. Oh, and complimentary beer and wine was a nice touch. Sally and Dick were really nice, and were very helpful with advice on where to hike as it was our first trip to the white mountains. We're already planning our next trip back for the fall to see the fall foliage, and we won't stay anywhere else but this place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carter Notch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carter Notch Inn

Address: 163 Carter Notch Road, PO Box 810, Jackson, NH 03846
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Bed and Breakfast located in the quaint New England village of Jackson, New Hampshire, overlooking the Wildcat River & in the heart of the White Mountains. Year round outdoor hot tub, full country breakfasts & quiet location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carter Notch Hotel Jackson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carter Notch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.