We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Nestlenook Estate & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Nestlenook Estate & Resort to your Saves list
Nestlenook Estate & Resort
Dinsmore Road, Jackson, NH 03846   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 17 Jackson B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

Totally overpriced. One of the worst things was the entire property smells of horse manure. I've spent time in agriturismos in Italy and grew up horseback riding, so I'm not intolerant...but this was the smell of sheer neglect. Even worse was the bad attitude of the night front desk clerk at the Nestlenook Inn.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    9
    7
    7
    9
See reviews for
20
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
boston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2009

I have traveled extensively throughout the New England area and this was BY FAR THE WORST TRAVEL EXPERIENCE OF MY ENTIRE LIFE! The story is too long to be detailed in this short space as it would take several pages to justify the horror of this inn and its ownership.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

We stayed in the Victorian Village and the rooms were incredible. The hot tub easliy fit two people and the view from the balcany was beautiful. The village itself was nothing short of a winter wonderland. Complete with sleigh rides, ice skating, and hot chocolate. At night the whole resort is light up and there is winter music playing which makes for a very romantic setting. I can't think of one reason i could give for not staying here!

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — lack of on site breadfast
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

I did a lot of research about Nestlenook before paying the 200+ a night rate. I found that the reviews were mostly positive and their web site was impressive. Maybe this inflated my expectation of the property. Bottom line was that I was rather disappointed. I stayed in the Victorian Village penthouse, a very large room with a nice fireplace and Jacuzzi. The room was not all that bad other than it was a bit dirty and it smelled like smoke. The towels had a very distinct smell of smoke, the surfaces were dusty, and the door to the deck was broken and did not close properly. We had to shovel the snow off the sidewalks and deck ourselves. (They give you a shovel in your room, I was expecting to rest on my vacation, not shovel snow for the property). If you want maid service, it’s an additional 20 dollars a day. The website advertises "no children"; however there were many children staying in the room below us and they were very loud. The hotel did nothing to correct this when we told them. The property grounds are very nice. They have horses, deer and an ice skating rank. The rank was closed because it was covered with snow, they told us it would be a week before the ice skating rank would be cleared to use. I understand that snow is uncontrollable, but I paid to use their attractions and a week is unacceptable to plow an ice skating rank. It looked really nice, but we were not able to use it, so it did not do us any good. In conclusion, the inn had some great features but was poorly managed and expensive for what you get. I would not stay here again nor recommend this property to anyone.

  • Liked — The scenery
  • Disliked — Management
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston area
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

We went to the Inn and had a wonderful time. The clerk who checked us in was wonderful. (He was the same one who gave me a great tour when I did a day trip there last winter--after seeing it, I had to stay there.) He provides a ver nice evening "wine and cheese" spread as he calls it ... it included so much more -- fruit, egg rollss -- all yummy. As we met other staff members we learned the entire team is warm friendly and so willing to help you have a great time. There's a lovely husband and wife team that work during the day and Jenna, who did our horse ride, was awesome too. The grounds were so much fun -- so peaceful and so much to do -- we really did not have to leave. They give you full run of the inn and you cannot help but feel right at home. We even brought subs home one night and just ate in the kitchen there -- it's stocked with planty of drinks and snacks (home made cookies, muffins etc) Breakfast has more home made goodies -- cereal and oatmeal, yogurt, granola, fruit -- all tasty and definiatly filling. They know and love the area. Big help with suggestions -- they sent us to the perfect picnic location. We are going back for sure even though we have access to a condo in the area at no charge -- it's that much more of a "vacation."

  • Liked — Warm and friendly guest-oriented atmosphere
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockton, massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

Wife and I recently stayed here just after the columbus day holiday weekend. The room we selected "Penthouse" was very beautiful, very clean, great jacuzzi tub, great fireplace, the gentleman who signed us in was very cordial, but we felt since we were not staying in the main Inn that we were not supposed to look around the day rooms in the inn. Overall the place was clean, the outside could have been a little cleaner, lots of cobwebs, paint peeling, the railing on the main strairwell of the Inn has needed to be replaced for a long time or so it looks. No complaints about the room, very beautiful, very clean, comfortable beds, all the amenties listed were truly there. Would return to this resort, but maybe not in the fall, maybe summer or spring when there has been a bit more done to clean up the place outside!

  • Liked — cleanliness of the room
  • Disliked — the need for repairs outside
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSable
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

This place is absolutely stunning. We booked a 2 night stay in the end of September, just hoping for a quiet getaway. We had originally planned on camping, but decided it was too much work for 2 days. We found the Nestlenook Inn/Victorian Village online, and chose it for its 65 acres, hiking, biking, boats, etc. Oh, and how can I forget, the 2 person jacuzzi tub and gas fireplace in the room. That's what caught my eye.
It was a long drive, and we thought we were lost.. but just in the nick of time the WONDERFUL man at the desk called to check on us! We arrived to find fantastic service, and a room that far surpassed our expectations. Our room in the Victorian Village was a first floor King suite, with a king size 4 poster bed, nicely decorated room, etc.. we walked around to discover one surprise after another. A kitchenette, a large living room with pull out sofa and fireplace, a washer and dryer?!? Then, a back patio with gorgeous view of the changing foliage, 2 lounge chairs, a table and 4 wicker chairs, and a gas grill. A REALLY NICE gas grill, where we cooked our own dinner one night.
Outside the room, we found beautiful trails to walk, we rowed a boat together on the pond, we were offered bikes to ride, 2 heated pools, hammocks, and a jacuzzi. Down the street, we checked out the mountains, did a zipline over the foliage, found the awesome Moat Mountain Smokehouse and Brewery, and had an all around great time. We can't wait to come back, both for our own romantic getaways, and for vacations with the kids.

Thanks again to the wonderful staff at the Nestlenook Inn. We had such a great time.

  • Liked — EVERYTHING!
  • Disliked — The bed was uncomfortable, but everything else made up for it!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nestlenook Estate & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nestlenook Estate & Resort

Address: Dinsmore Road, Jackson, NH 03846
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the New Hampshire White Mountains, near historic Jackson Covered Bridge and along a tree-lined country road, you'll find a place you have searched for all your life, Nestlenook Estate and Resort. The Resort consists of 65 acres of groomed and natural beauty, presided over by a 200 year old Victorian Gingerbread Inn and set atop a knoll, luxurious Victorian Village and Grand Victorian overlook the estate. At its center, Nestlenook Estate and Resort features Emerald Lake, which is stocked with trout for fly fishing and the idea spot to enjoy the swan boats, row boats and gondola. In the winter, the frozen Emerald Lake is zamboni groomed and turned into the best outdoor skate park in the state. On an island in the lake is the fully enclosed warming center for guests to warm themselves by the fire with a nice cup of hot chocolate. Nestlenook Estate and Resorts is located adjacent to the Ellis River and features beautiful gardens, peaceful gazebos and majestic mountain views. No matter what the season, Nestlenook Estate and Resort is fun for the entire family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your Nestlenook Estate & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nestlenook Estate Hotel Jackson
Nestlenook Estate And Resort
Nestlenook Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nestlenook Estate & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.