We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a welcoming spot in the White Mountains” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wildcat Inn & Tavern

Wildcat Inn & Tavern
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Wildcat Inn & Tavern to your Saves list
Wildcat Inn & Tavern
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   Rte 16A, Jackson, NH 03846   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 17 Jackson B&B and Inns
Lee, New Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a welcoming spot in the White Mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I had a wonderful overnight stay here at the Wildcat. I arrived as a walk-in and was so relieved to find a place that allowed my dog to stay as well. There is a lovely garden area in back where I enjoyed a delicious dinner. There is live music many nights. Everyone from the restaurant staff to the inn staff was friendly, helpful, and welcoming. They made me feel like a regular. The room was quiet and the bed comfortable. I am looking forward to my next stay at the Wildcat to be sure! Thank you everybody for making my stay so pleasant!

Room Tip: My room was on the 3rd floor of the inn and it was quiet and peaceful. There was a gas stove in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    45
    12
    9
    9
See reviews for
14
75
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

What my girlfriend and I look for when we are traveling is to meet smart, funny, competent, enthusiastic people that remind us of our friends. The first night we strolled into the Wildcat Inn & Tavern's bar we met James who fits all of those criteria. James is the bartender there and he made us feel right at home, in fact he made us feel as though we had known him for years. It was such a great experience we've told all of our friends about it since we've been home. I have a feeling if I were to email James tomorrow he would respond as if we have been friends for years. We spent the next couple of nights bellied up to his bar having a great time laughing, telling stories and just being ourselves. I wish more people in the Washington DC area were like James. The Wildcats Inn & Tavern in Jackson has remained true to its roots and been a fantastic place for travelers ever since I was a kid. If you'd like to visit a place that really does it right please check them out.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed this past weekend on a special offer. I have stayed in the past and always have had a great experience with the room, staff, and the food. The inn is located in a classic building, with all the historic charm. They have done a fine job in preserving the classic charm and feel of the inn and the rooms are nicely appointed. The tavern is a great place to relax and talk over the days adventures. The full menu is avaliable in the tavern with a relaxed atmosphere. Food is excellent, some nights they have live music too. Overall I give the inn a thumbs up, and can't wait to return..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells,ME
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed this past weekend on a facebook deal staff was very friendly and helpful when making reservation this was for a offer of spend $75.00 on food and drink in the dinning room or tavern and your room is free. What a deal!!! Placed us in a very nice room had a wonderful prime rib dinner then went to the tavern for some drinks and entertainment. Staff was extremely helpfull and even pointed out some nice places to check out in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I had dinner here last week and must say that the service was amazingly slow despite the restaurant being almost empty. While the waitress was polite, it took a good 15 minutes to be greeted, over 30 for our appetizer to arrive, and another 15 for our main course. Unfortunately, the main courses were nothing out of the ordinary and overpriced. SO disappointed in the Wildcat! The bar area is fine for beer and pub grub (had a hamburger there once...) and the entertainment was good. But definitely not the place for a good meal :-(

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the igloo this week.
PROS:
It was in an adorable town and within the very pretty gardens of the inn. Having a two bedroom place was ideal for us and we enjoyed the character of the old ice house. There was plenty of space and it was well equipped for the most part. I also appreciated that it had air conditioners to get it a bit cooler after a hot day and then we could open the windows. It was a quiet spot despite some concerns we had about being next to the tavern.

CONS:
Well, it was basically the service and the sleeping sofa. My mother was on the sleeper sofa and it was just absurd, it in horrible shape, springs everywhere, and she just sunk into a little pit in the center when she was in it. The other problem was there were no pillows and blankets for her but we couldn't get one of the closets open no matter what. When we went to find out if there was a blanket she could use the service we received was humorously bad. I had to go back and ask several times and they couldn't come up with a single blanket. Finally, another guest offered up their blanket. Although it was fifty degrees that night we were told it w warm and she wouldn't need one. They almost couldn't have been less helpful.

This mimicked our service at the restaurant, which was something we will laugh about for a while. But sitting in the garden was lovely, too bad the food and service was so very bad.

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I just got back from my weekend stay at The Wildcat Inn and to say I was impressed would be an understatement. The hotel is located right on Main Street in Jackson New Hampshire. To get to the hotel you go under an amazing covered bridge, and the quaint town of Jackson and The Wildcat Inn pops right out at you. The property is absolutely stunning, from the mountain backdrop to the beautiful garden in back of the property. However what stands out more than anything is the service off the staff. Amber at the front desk was amazing. My first morning at the hotel she pointed me to the free coffee and fresh orange juice. She also pointed me next door to yesterdays for a great breakfast. I came back later on after exploring the beautiful town of Jackson and was amazed to see the Bar/Tavern area very lively. It seemed odd to me that the Tavern would be busy on a beautiful day, however when I met the staff it did not suprise me one bit. The bartender (who's name is escaping me at the moment) was very informative on the great selection of beer the tavern had. Jordan, the hostess was very friendly and is a true credit to this establishment. She informed me on where to go and what to do. However after having so much fun that afternoon, I knew the tavern would be my one and only stop later on. My room was room number 12 and it was awesome. I highly reccomend this room due to its beautiful views of the garden. The bed was super comfy and the room as a whole was very well appointed. The halls of the hotel are filled with amazing paintings and pictures, giving a very real feel to the property's history. Later that night I headed back to the downstairs for dinner. I was going to eat in the dining room, however due to my earlier experience at the tavern I chose to eat there instead. The dining room has a very old New England feel to it and is beyond beautiful. The Tavern was awesome and the food was great. Sandra the bartender was on point all night. The band was also very good playing mostly blues and classic rock. The Tavern got real lively and was alot of fun with a great mix of people. My favorite part of the tavern is they have an old ski chair as a seat for the table. The tavern decor was exposed wood, old pictures and plenty of seating. All and all a perfect stay I will be returning!!!

Room Tip: Room 12 is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wildcat Inn & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildcat Inn & Tavern

Address: Rte 16A, Jackson, NH 03846
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wildcat Inn & Tavern 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Wildcat Inn & Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildcat Inn And Tavern
Wildcat Inn & Tavern Hotel Jackson
Wildcat Hotel Jackson
Wildcat Hotel Tavern

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildcat Inn & Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.