We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but not spectacular at all.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nordic Village Resort

Save Saved
You added Nordic Village Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Nordic Village Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rte. 16, Jackson, NH 03846   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Jackson
Deep River, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“OK, but not spectacular at all.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The condos are OK looking. The resort is full of amenities, indoor/ outdoor pool and hot tib, rec room, ice skating rink.
1st rooms are 1980s-90s in look and feel. Room is big...but dated and could have been cleaner. Of course you look out the window and it makes it better with the beautiful scenery, and location to skiing and away from Conway.
2nd The amenities are so crowded. the pools and hot tubs were usually filled...AND I MEAN FILLED...YUCK... PEOPLE SOUP.
3rd. The check in time is 3:30PM...NO ROOM FOR MOVEMENT. I do not get it. ALL rooms suddenly become available magically at 3:30...of course they say you can use the pool. (who isn't...see above)
lastly. watch out for the price. Additional 8% then 12% are added in..bargain quickly goes away.

If you are a family that can afford a few more dollars a night, get a private rental. If it is purely budget and you can live with the abovge. Then buyer beware.

.....watch out for the promotoinal price

Room Tip: We had a downstairs room...although smoking is not permited, upstairs people smoked and dropped ashe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManageratNordic, Manager at Nordic Village Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. I do apologize that your stay was just ok. We do have a lot of families visiting us during February vacation week and our pools are quite popular after a day of skiing. With so many visitors, the pool building does tend to a get a little crowded. Some of the units are not completely updated and it is an ongoing project. Many have been updated and just recently purchased new linen, comforters and pillows. We also winterized our game room so that families have another amenity to enjoy all year long. We do allow for early check ins when we are not sold out. Our check out time is 11 a.m. and check in is at 3:30 p.m. This does provide a lot of time for houskeeping to turn our rooms around. Many units have full kitchens, living room two or three bedrooms, two bathrooms, so it does take time to throughly clean the unit prior to check in and inspect. It is a process, but one we adhere to for our guests comfort. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    83
    44
    29
    8
See reviews for
143
87
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We went up north for a 3 night Get-a-way with a couple of days of skiing. Very happy when we walked in the door, good size room with full kitchen, queen bed and queen pull out. Loved the jacuzzi tub and gas fireplace. Good views and stuff to do at the clubhouse. Will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The check in process was the best, great service. It went down hill from there.

- Stayed in a 1BR with King Bed and Jacuzzi, This is a simple 1 room Condo with a king size bed, nothing spectacular about it. There was a Jacuzzi Tub in the bathroom however it never was used because there was NO HOT WATER. I can not believe that they have a community Hot water Heater to service anywhere between 3 to 9 rooms.

- The fireplace worked off of a thermostat, as you turned the heat up, the flames would rise in the fireplace, nice. But oh boy, if you left the fireplace on for 10-15 minutes you were sweating and it took hours for the room to cool down even with an overhead fan.

- King size bed was nice, but the pillows seemed like they had the mumps.

- No housekeeping or maid service even in 4 days, You have go to be kidding me

Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel or if you wnat to do not opt for anything more than a small room, no Jacuzz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManageratNordic, Manager at Nordic Village Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Your review is very much appreciated. I do apologize that your most recent stay at Nordic Village did not meet your expectations. By the room description it sounds as if you stayed in a penthouse. The rooms in these buildings can be rented out as three different room types or all together as a 3 bedroom. Each stack does share one hot water heater. We actually replaced the hot water heaters a couple of years ago to a more efficient, on demand type. Also, all of our linens and pillows have been replaced and are very high quality. I am sorry that you were disappointed about no housekeeping service during your stay. Since we are condominium resort, we do not have a daily maid service and our front desk associates are diligent about letting our guests know. I am sorry that was not communicated to you. We do change towels out after two nights for anyone staying three nights. We also do a linen change on the 4th day if a guest is staying 5 - 7. Thank you again for feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We recently stayed for 2 nights at nordic village but will never stay there again. We bought a promotion from EverSave that was supposed to be half off but found out quickly that wasn't true. The units they use for these sort of deals are horrendous. They are dirty, not safe and totally outdated including their very uncomfortable furniture. Just a couple of examples; an outlet was pulled out of the wall that is obviously not safe if you are traveling with children; a hole in the wall with tissue stuffed in it and the furniture especially the couch & bed is so uncomfortable. I can't believe they would not only let people stay there but actually falsely advertise how much these suites are worth so they could promote them. Besides the great location they have nothing else to offer.

Room Tip: Stay away from the units that are owned by nordic village and the cheaper rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfred, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My wife and I spent a couple of days there this week. The rooms are spacious, well appointed and clean. The gas fireplace adds to the winter charm of this loaction with great views of the monutains and country side. The best testomonial I can give Nordic is my wife loves to shop but she enjoyed this resort so much we never went into North Conway to shop during our stay. Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Harbor, Maine
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

From the moment we walked into our spaciously lavish room we were impressed and continued to be even more-so as we explored it further; raised 4 post king size bed (with step stool), kitchenette, gas fireplace, large walk in closet, 2 person garden tub, separate toilet and shower area and a balcony with an amazing mountain view. Despite the room's attributes and charm.....the outdoor heated pool called to us. Great fun swimming with snow all around you. We didn't take a dip in either of their 2 outdoor hot tubs. Because Nordic Village is so close to everything; taking short jaunts to North Conway and Mount Washington were incredibly easy. Although the intent of our getaway was a quiet romantic one there is also LOTS to do for those seeking skiing, snow shoeing, or snowmobiling adventures. So it seems to me that whether you are looking to relax or explore the area Nordic Village should be your home away from home.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of The Chateau rooms at the top of the property. Well worth the treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The Nordic Highlands Penthouse was lovely - it was our 3rd stay and we are always pleased. Helpful and friendly staff - quick response to all of our requests (for example: we asked for a toaster and someone arrived within 5 minutes with a shiny new one!) The penthouse rooms are extremely tidy and clean and the bathroom is immaculate. We never had a visit from housekeeping during our 4 day stay in November, but it did not matter, as you can visit the desk building for towels and coffee replenishment. The Mountaintop Fitness Center is great - lots of equipment and the outside hot tub is fun in the snow - great view as well...we also discovered the dry sauna downstairs - especially nice, as there are few other people there in the early Winter. We did encounter @20 wild turkeys several times each day near our unit - they were not interested in moving along immediately - it was fun to see them!

Room Tip: Penthouse suites are quiet and have panoramic views - no elevators, so you must climb several flight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nordic Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordic Village Resort

Also Known As:
Nordic Village Hotel Jackson
Nordic Village Hotel
Nordic Village Jackson
Address: Rte. 16, Jackson, NH 03846
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nordic Village Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy indoor and outdoor heated pools, outdoor hot tubs, nightly bonfires, game room. We have a variety of lodging choices to accommodate your family's budget and have designed and oriented each of our units to provide you with maximum privacy and some of the finest views of the Mount Washington Valley. Choose from townhouses, suites, one and two-bedroom units, penthouses, to the elegance of our Chateau units at Highland Ridge. We also have pet-friendly units. We are the closest property to Story Land and just minutes away from tax-free outlet shopping, Mount Washington, and all White Mountain Attractions. Give us a call this Spring, we are offering some wonderful packages at great rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Nordic Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nordic Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.